Map Tiles failing to load?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby floppyrod84 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 7:46 pm

And cache everything else too including reports, traffic etc to be sent when there IS signal but we've asked for hat numerous times.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby floppyrod84 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:27 pm

I get that sometimes too. Without a reliable 3G HSDPA connection Waze will just sit there with 'no data connection'. It's definitely too sensitive to slow data speeds and this may be the issue here.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby floppyrod84 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 7:40 am

It is a data issue. If you have a route set, Waze should download some of those tiles, but without a net connection it cannot download them.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby CrackedLCD » Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:43 am

I've driven areas with no map tiles before, when cellular data was both strong and weak so it could be either weak connectivity or a problem on Waze's end. The biggest missing chunk of data I had was about 40 miles long on a road trip. I checked my signal and even pulled up data from other apps no problem, but Waze was dead. In that case, I did a support ticket and they said there was a server problem that day. But in other instances I think it's due to having poor signal / no signal or being on GPRS/EDGE or 1x/RTT low speed data access. Waze is incredibly intolerant of slow data speeds, to the point that sometimes it says I have no connection even in 3G areas and while other background apps work fine.

The two areas where "missing road" URs are filed the most are two different stretches of interstate where only Verizon and AT&T have 3G service… everyone else is GPRS or 1x and I suspect Waze is just being a baby and timing out on those slow connections.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby CBenson » Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:28 pm

jhfrontz wrote:they've got to be in a desperate race to . . . remain viable in the eyes of their VC

+1
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Previous

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PatrickDaly00