Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

Postby CrackedLCD » Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:13 pm

luisvale wrote:Hi

I'm trying to use Waze 3.5.1.4 on a Samsung Galaxy s3 4g (LTE) model GT-i9305 running Android 4.1.1 but Waze keeps crashing whatever I try to do. I've been submiting the crash reports but do we have a reasonable expectation to have Waze working on this phone ?

best regards

luis


I don't have an S3 but I do run 4.1.1 stock on my new HTC Droid DNA and Waze crashes for me a lot. After sending in a bunch of logs and talking to someone directly, they determined that the crashes were OS-related and there's no fix in sight. In my case, clicking ads or ad popups cause Waze to crash. I've found that if I'm sitting still and anywhere near an ad that could cause a pop-up to appear, Waze will stop.

Is yours crashing immediately on start up, or only at random?
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

Postby CrackedLCD » Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:04 am

An update on my crashing issue at intersections — it won't do it if the screen is off or Waze is operating in the background. I did ~100 miles today both using nav and just keeping Waze active and it did not crash at any intersections until one point when I turned the screen on to report a gas price. (Gas prices were not working at that time anyway, so it was all for nothing.)

I can't figure out how this could be an issue with the OS, since my friend has Waze on a different model phone but same 4.1.1 OS as his works fine. Popups, ads all work, no crashes at intersections.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

Postby CrackedLCD » Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:20 am

perlin wrote:Which intersections?


McKenzie @ Laurel: https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-87.68 ... des=512616

McKenzie @ Azalea: https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-87.68 ... des=498167

McKenzie @ Michigan: https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-87.68 ... des=507044

McKenzie @ Tanger Outlets: https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-87.68 ... s=53232270

McKenzie @ Miflin: https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-87.68 ... des=499829

These are the ones where Waze is most likely to crash. It's not a 100% guarantee it will but at some of these if I come to a stop it's about a 75% chance the app will crash. Since I travel this stretch of road extensively it's pretty much a given that Waze will stop 3-6 times a day on me going down McKenzie St.

This is going to sound really "out there" but the only thing that seems to be a constant with these "crash when stopped at an intersection" problems is the proximity to advertising pins on the screen. As I've mentioned before, I can't tap ad pins without Waze crashing so I'm wondering if it's related? Is Waze now forcing ad popups to display when we're stationary? Taco Bell is the only local business with ads always on screen, but I've seen pins at or near Walmarts lately, but they come and go at random and it seems (with no evidence to back this up) that Waze crashes more when those Walmart pins are visible.

It's a real head-scratcher!
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

Postby CrackedLCD » Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:26 pm

Update on the issue of ads crashing the phone — after diagnosing another problem using debug mode, Waze began crashing not just on ads but at certain major intersections as well. As part of trying to figure out *that* problem, I broke down and completely uninstalled Waze, deleted the data directory and everything. After re-installing, I got one crash trying access the scoreboard and since then, it has been completely stable and everything works: scoreboard, ads, driving. We'll see how long it lasts, but at least so far, a complete reinstall fixed my issues. Just a heads up.

EDIT: Ah, crap. It's crashing again. Guess it was too good to be true. It keep crashing at the same intersections, almost like clockwork.
Last edited by CrackedLCD on Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

Postby CrackedLCD » Mon Dec 24, 2012 5:59 am

perlin wrote:
CrackedLCD wrote:
stuffhappens wrote:I started Waze while my phone had its rotation lock enabled. I then turned off the lock and Waze turned to landscape mode as expected, but the menu sliders wouldn't work. I had to exit and re-start to fix this.

Also, see screencap - Wazer info is below the navigation bar and not readable.


This happens to me, too.

I failed to reproduce (tried with different devices and OS).
Can you provide steps to reproduce this? Do you know of cases in which it doesn't happen?


I've tried and tried to reproduce this error, but I can't seem to make it happen any more. I'll write this one off as a momentary glitch on my part.

Since a user brought up the advertisements, I need to note that tapping on those ad bubbles crashes Waze for me. It did it on my old Samsung Galaxy S Show (running Gingerbread) and it does it on my new HTC Droid DNA (running Jelly Bean). The pop-up window appears and the loading animation shows, then Waze stops. I've sent logs every time it happens. The ads work fine on the Motorola Razr HD I checked so it appears to only be affecting my two models of phone.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

Postby CrackedLCD » Fri Dec 21, 2012 9:27 pm

stuffhappens wrote:I started Waze while my phone had its rotation lock enabled. I then turned off the lock and Waze turned to landscape mode as expected, but the menu sliders wouldn't work. I had to exit and re-start to fix this.

Also, see screencap - Wazer info is below the navigation bar and not readable.


This happens to me, too.

I've had a few instances (on two different phones) of being able to make the blue Waze splash screen display incorrectly when changing orientations while the app is loading but I can't reproduce it with enough regularity to report it as a bug. When it happens, I get the same screwed up screen like your screenshot shows.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

Postby CrackedLCD » Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:09 am

I believe I mentioned earlier that on my new Droid DNA that Waze has tiny unreadable fonts, but it also has some display issues. In portrait mode the speedometer is partially obscured by the alerts button:

waze portrait.png
Portrait mode
waze portrait.png (100.96 KiB) Viewed 776 times


In landscape mode, the problem is worse, with the speedometer and the zoom out button both obscured to some degree by the alerts button, and the "center map here" button almost completely hidden:

waze landscape.png
Landscape mode
waze landscape.png (79.75 KiB) Viewed 776 times
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

Postby CrackedLCD » Wed Dec 12, 2012 7:59 am

Is there any way for Waze to scale up better on devices with high resolution screens? I'm in love with my new Droid DNA and its 1920x1080 5" screen, but Waze's map graphics are so small as to be almost unreadable at all but the closest zoom levels now on the 2D view. The speedometer also renders partially behind the alert button on the right side of the screen.

I do enjoy seeing a lot more of the surrounding map when zoomed out, but when I am following streets and looking for specific names, it's really hard to make out. (I'd attach a screenshot but it's a nice big clean looking image on my monitor, not the little 5" rectangle I actually see..)
Last edited by CrackedLCD on Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

Postby CrackedLCD » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:52 am

pvaladares wrote:Most of the times I try to update gas prices I get a "no gps signal available" message although waze shows my current gps position and routing is ok.


Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2


You're not alone on that. Both me and another local user have experienced this on our Galaxy S phones on Gingerbread. I just got a new Droid DNA and have only run Waze once but so far it hasn't given the error, so I dunno if it's software related or hardware related. I'd think Sony Ericsson phones should have better GPS than our crappy Samsungs, though.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Android 3.5.1.4 official feedback thread

Postby CrackedLCD » Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:27 pm

DG567 wrote:Is this a bug? I've not noticed it before.
If the next junction is onto an unnamed segment, Waze displayed the name of the next NAMED segment after that.


It's supposed to do that.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users