Long Distance Routing

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Long Distance Routing

Postby the1who » Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:12 pm

I have noticed this through several app cycles, beta and play store. I am not sure if this happens exclusively to Android or iOS either. But I see it is affecting others. I remember I never had this issue in previous versions, so I assume it is the client version. On long stretches of freeway, the client reports a reroute or recalculation and when it gets the new route, it keeps recalculating until you get to say the next exit ramp junction, is the best way I can describe it. The long stretches of freeway segments keep telling you to go to highlighted route. And even when you do get to it, it keeps up this behavior of a recalculation or so and then proceed to highlighted route. The GPS remained constant and I was not drifting off, as I have seen in comparison when I have drifted off course, so I get that. But I am seeing reports from others. I don't see a rhyme or reason in the WME. The problem corrects itself when you get in more urbanized areas where there are more junctions between. Am I to start adding junctions sporadically to circumvent this problem? Please tell me I and a select few aren't the only ones experiencing this? Thanks!
Global and US Champ, USA Region 3 (Plains) Coordinator, and US Country Manager
Android Beta Leader
Direct E-mail: waze.midwest@gmail.com


Nexus 5 - 6.0.1 | Waze 4.0


Waze FAQ | Best Map Editing Practice | Waze chat IRC
the1who
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Las Vegas
Has thanked: 316 times
Been thanked: 254 times

Re: Long Distance Routing

Postby skbun » Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:49 am

Posting a permalink of where this is happening (if you go to http://www.waze.com/editor, log in, and center on a place where it happens, you should see the 'Permalink' button on the bottom), maybe we can tell what's going on.

Based on your description, a best guess I have is that you're in an area where the freeways aren't centered on the roadway quite right, so sometimes it's getting the idea you're not on it. Only way to know for sure though is to see a few spots!

In the client, if you're drifting off of the road (as the editor/client understands it), it may still show you 'on the road' until it doesn't, if that makes sense. Sometimes in edge cases I've seen it act a little odd. Like, if it thinks 'You're on - you're off - you're on'. Two quick recalc operations.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Long Distance Routing

Postby the1who » Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:47 am

It is not even like that, trust me. These segments have been like this for a long time. It had since been happening recently with the app updates. I have traveled the segments many times, and it never happened until the latest revisions.
Global and US Champ, USA Region 3 (Plains) Coordinator, and US Country Manager
Android Beta Leader
Direct E-mail: waze.midwest@gmail.com


Nexus 5 - 6.0.1 | Waze 4.0


Waze FAQ | Best Map Editing Practice | Waze chat IRC
the1who
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Las Vegas
Has thanked: 316 times
Been thanked: 254 times

Re: Long Distance Routing

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:42 pm

I have experienced the same in the past, and again just this weekend on a 1000-mile round trip. Not helping was the issue with dozens (hundreds?) of missing map tiles at lower zoom levels. They have been the same tiles which have not appeared at the same zoom levels for dozens of map updates, including changes within those tiles which should have forced a rebuild of the tile, and also different client revisions, clearing of map cache, etc. It's quite repeatable which tiles don't appear.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.1.1 | Waze v4.14
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23501
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1090 times
Been thanked: 4640 times

Re: Long Distance Routing

Postby the1who » Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:00 am

I don't know if something is going on with the forums either, but I had a reply all typed up, and then when I hit submit it asked me to log-in and then I lost everything I had...ugh tonight is not the night....

So I have screenshots, simple as that. Second, I agree about the missing map tiles at different zoom levels. I have three pictures to present here. The first picture is when the recalculation started...second is an image about a minute or so later, showing me on the route, but if you look closely enough, you'll see that the directions even though they say how far and when, don't visually match, it ends within like a mile in front of me. So the next minute or two, I get another recalculation with proceed to highlighted route again. At this point, the route is beyond my screenshot at the moment. You can see that I am zooming along and all, but until it gets to that highlighted route, it stays zoomed in. But it was there.

So this continues on and on and on. I eventually stopped nav and waited until I got closer to Des Moines and vice versa to Kansas City as it did it on the way back too, same scenarios. When there were more junctions, it seemed to work better, but then again I think Alan hit it right on the head, they don't have all the map tiles working together, or something.

Thanks for that Alan, I forgot about my screenshots until you said map tiles. I hope that you can see them here, I'll keep editing this post until they show correctly.

Recalculation:
Image
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/703/screenshot2012112217031.png/

Route Active but ends shortly:
Image
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/856/screenshot2012112217040.png/

Proceed to highlighted route after hitting end of highlighted route and recalculation reoccurs:
Image
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/405/screenshot2012112217054.png/
Global and US Champ, USA Region 3 (Plains) Coordinator, and US Country Manager
Android Beta Leader
Direct E-mail: waze.midwest@gmail.com


Nexus 5 - 6.0.1 | Waze 4.0


Waze FAQ | Best Map Editing Practice | Waze chat IRC
the1who
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Las Vegas
Has thanked: 316 times
Been thanked: 254 times

Re: Long Distance Routing

Postby aubie1988 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:14 am

I can confirm the same behavior on 1200 mile trip from today and yesterday. Constant messages of "proceed to highlighted road" and "recalculating route"


Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
aubie1988
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:43 am
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Long Distance Routing

Postby Gamersea » Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:43 pm

http://waze.uservoice.com/forums/59223- ... ger-routes

What do you guys think about something like this? A temporary subscription when you need to do longer routes?
Image
Gamersea
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:03 pm
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Long Distance Routing

Postby jasonh300 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:51 pm

gamersea wrote:http://waze.uservoice.com/forums/59223-client-how-can-we-improve-waze-on-your-phone-/suggestions/3439028-allow-longer-routes

What do you guys think about something like this? A temporary subscription when you need to do longer routes?


I think the problem with longer routes is that the routing server just can't handle it yet. The distance has increased a bit in the past year, and will probably continue to. But it's not like they can just flip some magic switch and allow longer routing.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
South-Central Regional Coordinator
(LA/MS/AR...contact karlcr9911 for TX/OK related issues)
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7566
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 402 times
Been thanked: 971 times

Re: Long Distance Routing

Postby cherianchris » Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:48 am

LDR does not work, as far as my experience is concerned. Chennai - Bangalore routing gives Uh - Oh message. I've to select a point inside Tamilnadu (The state in which Chennai is located), reach that point, cross the state border and than pick my destination in Bangalore and calculate my route again.

MB526 - > Tapatalk 2
Image Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 75 times

Re: Long Distance Routing

Postby the1who » Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:50 am

As far as long distance routing, and before the thread gets off on the wrong foot. I get it and understand what you mean, however that is not at all what I am referring to in my problem that I am trying to report and share. See, I am well below 200 miles left. In that, it is approx. 200 miles between Des Moines and KC anyways. So we are under the known limit. But what is unknown is the true limit in the NA server. I can right now get a route from here in KC to Surprise, AZ, 1500 miles on my phone right now, door to door, turn by turn. It isn't the most optimum route, but for this setup, it sure is one nice option if I ever planned to make that trek. I understand that in the world server there are limits of 200 miles for routing, but I distinctly remember that they raised that here in the NA server.

So I don't want this thread to get hung up on that thought process. What the true problem is, is that there seems to be a problem with the routing server and the device when they communicate with each other, something I don't know. My best assumption is that the tiles as you go along and are reporting back to Waze aren't matching completely, hence why the magenta route line ends shortly before me approaching it, and doesn't continue on the remaining 140 miles.

Also, in my observations of this since the latest versions through beta and market versions, it only seems to occur on long stretches of freeway, where there are minimal junctions/nodes and there is substantial distances between the next node/ramps. Case in point is on a similar distanced trek, but I took it across the back country highways through Missouri. Yeah, there were some errors along the way, I planned weeks before, checking routing, and updating the map along the route I was going to take. The map updated with all of the correct routing, but it wanted to take a route it thought was faster until I hit a point that it just continued on the way that it should. I get that. But I have trekked I-35 plenty with Waze and it has only been happening like the screenshots as of recent with the recent betas etc. It wasn't that way in 3.0 or 2.4 on and on.

I'm just making the observation that along the long stretch, I see this problem with the proceed to highlighted route, the thing kept recalculating every time I hit the end of the magenta line and then proceed to highlighted route. On my trek with the back country, it would take me to the next junction and try to have me go the other way until like I said, I reached a point and it said this way actually is faster and then it routed me on a continual path. I even had loss of cellular service, but because I had a route already on there and no breaks in the magenta line, I was able to navigate with it just fine. If anyone knows State Hwy 7 in Missouri, you should know what I mean between Harrisonville and Osage Beach. So again, logic has it, two scenarios, similar distances, different layouts. One with many junctions, one with very few. The one with very few is causing me problems. And by the looks of it and all the user reports along the freeways, I'm not the only one...
Global and US Champ, USA Region 3 (Plains) Coordinator, and US Country Manager
Android Beta Leader
Direct E-mail: waze.midwest@gmail.com


Nexus 5 - 6.0.1 | Waze 4.0


Waze FAQ | Best Map Editing Practice | Waze chat IRC
the1who
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Las Vegas
Has thanked: 316 times
Been thanked: 254 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NJJD268