GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby seriousarsonist » Wed Feb 24, 2016 6:09 pm

What's an SU2?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image ImageImageImage
UK Champ and Area Manager for the North of the Island of Ireland Image Image

Comber WX: What the weather is like where I edit
seriousarsonist
 
Posts: 2110
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:48 pm
Location: Northern Ireland
Has thanked: 382 times
Been thanked: 150 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby seriousarsonist » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:34 pm

I would have to agree, linking waze with geocaching is pretty low priority, but I'd also say linking it with FourSquare is also pretty low priority, a lot of the foursquare georeferences are hopelessly inaccurate. Adding the ability to import GPX files would be a far better use of coding time as it could be used for far more than our little treasure hunting days, it is after all, just like the add a stop feature which will be implemented shortly, you're just adding a lot of stops at once...
Image ImageImageImage
UK Champ and Area Manager for the North of the Island of Ireland Image Image

Comber WX: What the weather is like where I edit
seriousarsonist
 
Posts: 2110
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:48 pm
Location: Northern Ireland
Has thanked: 382 times
Been thanked: 150 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby seriousarsonist » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:08 am

That works brilliantly! thanks very much :)

Would be nice if Waze would integrate waypoint additions from external sources, or even the geocaching api... we'll just have to keep asking...

Thanks again
Pip

(purplecoat on geocaching.com)
Image ImageImageImage
UK Champ and Area Manager for the North of the Island of Ireland Image Image

Comber WX: What the weather is like where I edit
seriousarsonist
 
Posts: 2110
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:48 pm
Location: Northern Ireland
Has thanked: 382 times
Been thanked: 150 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby rzPhone » Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:09 pm

davipt wrote:
seriousarsonist wrote:... but I'd also say linking it with FourSquare is also pretty low priority, a lot of the foursquare georeferences are hopelessly inaccurate. ...


Not quite that "hopelessly inaccurate" over here, but I'm also a SU2 at Foursquare ;)

Now more seriously, what is really missing from Waze (and a lot other apps), is accepting coordinates on the search field, and be smart with the parsing of different coordinate formats. Only Google does it right. Even worse because waze does know about the coordinates via the waze:// uri.


Waze accepts the "geocaching format" of coordinates pretty well. Just leave the " ° " away:

for
N xx° xx.xxx E yy° yy.yyy
try
N xx xx.xxx E yy yy.yyy
rzPhone
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:48 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby Migueis » Wed Feb 24, 2016 1:55 pm

Agora com a app maps incorporada no iOS já não é possível usar esta técnica :(
Image
Enthusiastic Wazer! @ Esposende
Migueis
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 5:42 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby Migueis » Sat Apr 26, 2014 5:23 pm

davipt wrote:Hello all,

As a Wazer and Geocacher, I felt the need for some kind of integration between the two, so I could pick up a cache and tell Waze to go there.

What I got so far works on iOS and with the official Geocaching client, but I'm willing to help other cases.

- open safari and open any webpage
- add the page as a bookmark, call it something ("Waze"?). At this point one can't change the location.
- open the bookmarks list, edit the bookmark, and change the location to the following text:

Code: Select all
javascript:l=document.location.href;l=l.replace(/.*?(@|%40|%2540)/,"");l=l.replace(/.*?(-?[0-9.]*,-?[0-9.]*).*/,"$1");alert(l);document.location.href='waze://?ll='+l;


Then what I do is the following:
- on the Geocaching client, pick the cache I want to drive to, and click on the "open on external map", which will open Safari and maps.google.com
- click on safari bookmarks and the waze bookmark
- an alert will show the "lat,lon", just in case, to ensure the value was parsed correctly (waze crashes if this value is incorrect btw)
- waze will open with a marker at the cache's coordinate. click on the marker and drive there. Or manually pick a road nearby in case it's a cache with no access by car ;)

Feedback is welcomed.

Amazing
Image
Enthusiastic Wazer! @ Esposende
Migueis
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 5:42 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 7 times

GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby kieranrawley » Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:31 pm

I tried to get Waze to link to geocaching 3 years ago so well done for taking the bull by the horns and getting it to work!


It's a bit better/worse (delete as required) again today
(I'll go for a run when I've got this little bit sorted..........)

Image
kieranrawley
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby khaytsus » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:06 am

I used to be able to directly navigate from the Android app Locus, but now I just get a search for the cache name and not the coordinates :-\

Still not sure which app is doing it, but Google navigation works so I'm thinking it must be Waze.
USA Country Manager
Central Kentucky Area Manager
AT&T LG G2 (AOKP 4.4.4)
Nexus 7 2013 (Cm 13.1)
Image
khaytsus
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Lexington, KY
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 84 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby hublander » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:49 pm

I have a tomtom that I can put custom POI's on it. Sadly the newer Tomtom's don't do it. I wish I could work out how to do custom POI's in waze. Or it might be a case of learning to write code so I can do it for myself.

I know a few Geocachers who like the old tomtom custom POI's so as you are driving along you can see there is a geocache there. With my Tomtom I can see what type of geocache is there. So if we could do this then do geocaches which are drivebyes and my favourite Church Micros would be easier.
Chris (Hublander)
Rank = Mostly Harmless

I am Chris you may have spoken to Chris This is different to Chris. Not to be mistaken for Chris. Now wish my mum named me Kris

ImageImageImage
AM North East London & South Essex
hublander
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 4325
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 4:04 pm
Location: Romford, Essex
Has thanked: 339 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby GizmoGuy411 » Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:09 pm

davipt wrote:
gerben wrote:
davipt wrote: ... {quote reduction}...
Now more seriously, what is really missing from Waze (and a lot other apps), is accepting coordinates on the search field, and be smart with the parsing of different coordinate formats. Only Google does it right. Even worse because waze does know about the coordinates via the waze:// uri.


IIRC, wazing to coordinates is possible, but Waze uses a different format than most other applications. Try switching the lat and lon, it should work!


Too hard to do with copy/paste on the iPhone, forget it :P


A slight trick I use is to copy it then paste it twice. Then I delete the first and last coordinate half, which results in the lat and lon reversed. Still a pain... I agree!
Image

U.S. based Emeritus Global Champ
U.S. Local Champ
U.S. Country Manager
U.S. Great Lakes RC: IL, IN, MI, OH, WI
AM: NW OH, NE IN, SE MI
Wiki Profile
Verizon: Google Pixel XL & iPad "3"
GizmoGuy411
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:14 am
Location: NW Ohio, SE Michigan, NW Indiana tri-state area
Has thanked: 710 times
Been thanked: 458 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot]