GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby seriousarsonist » Wed Feb 24, 2016 6:09 pm

What's an SU2?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
seriousarsonist
 
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:48 pm
Location: Northern Ireland
Has thanked: 377 times
Been thanked: 149 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby rzPhone » Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:09 pm

davipt wrote:
seriousarsonist wrote:... but I'd also say linking it with FourSquare is also pretty low priority, a lot of the foursquare georeferences are hopelessly inaccurate. ...


Not quite that "hopelessly inaccurate" over here, but I'm also a SU2 at Foursquare ;)

Now more seriously, what is really missing from Waze (and a lot other apps), is accepting coordinates on the search field, and be smart with the parsing of different coordinate formats. Only Google does it right. Even worse because waze does know about the coordinates via the waze:// uri.


Waze accepts the "geocaching format" of coordinates pretty well. Just leave the " ° " away:

for
N xx° xx.xxx E yy° yy.yyy
try
N xx xx.xxx E yy yy.yyy
rzPhone
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:48 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby Migueis » Wed Feb 24, 2016 1:55 pm

Agora com a app maps incorporada no iOS já não é possível usar esta técnica :(
Migueis
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 5:42 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby BrianBinkley » Sun Jul 20, 2014 3:01 pm

I love that you found a solution for the native iOS geocaching app, but I almost exclusively only use Geosphere. One of my few complaints with Geosphere is the lack of driving navigation to a cache location. Do you foresee the ability to take what you did with the native app and do a similar integration solution for Geosphere?
BrianBinkley
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 1:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby Migueis » Sat Apr 26, 2014 5:23 pm

davipt wrote:Hello all,

As a Wazer and Geocacher, I felt the need for some kind of integration between the two, so I could pick up a cache and tell Waze to go there.

What I got so far works on iOS and with the official Geocaching client, but I'm willing to help other cases.

- open safari and open any webpage
- add the page as a bookmark, call it something ("Waze"?). At this point one can't change the location.
- open the bookmarks list, edit the bookmark, and change the location to the following text:

Code: Select all
javascript:l=document.location.href;l=l.replace(/.*?(@|%40|%2540)/,"");l=l.replace(/.*?(-?[0-9.]*,-?[0-9.]*).*/,"$1");alert(l);document.location.href='waze://?ll='+l;


Then what I do is the following:
- on the Geocaching client, pick the cache I want to drive to, and click on the "open on external map", which will open Safari and maps.google.com
- click on safari bookmarks and the waze bookmark
- an alert will show the "lat,lon", just in case, to ensure the value was parsed correctly (waze crashes if this value is incorrect btw)
- waze will open with a marker at the cache's coordinate. click on the marker and drive there. Or manually pick a road nearby in case it's a cache with no access by car ;)

Feedback is welcomed.

Amazing
Migueis
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 5:42 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby GizmoGuy411 » Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:09 pm

davipt wrote:
gerben wrote:
davipt wrote: ... {quote reduction}...
Now more seriously, what is really missing from Waze (and a lot other apps), is accepting coordinates on the search field, and be smart with the parsing of different coordinate formats. Only Google does it right. Even worse because waze does know about the coordinates via the waze:// uri.


IIRC, wazing to coordinates is possible, but Waze uses a different format than most other applications. Try switching the lat and lon, it should work!


Too hard to do with copy/paste on the iPhone, forget it :P


A slight trick I use is to copy it then paste it twice. Then I delete the first and last coordinate half, which results in the lat and lon reversed. Still a pain... I agree!
GizmoGuy411
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:14 am
Location: NW Ohio, SE Michigan, NW Indiana tri-state area
Has thanked: 667 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby davipt » Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:21 am

gerben wrote:
davipt wrote:
seriousarsonist wrote:... but I'd also say linking it with FourSquare is also pretty low priority, a lot of the foursquare georeferences are hopelessly inaccurate. ...


Not quite that "hopelessly inaccurate" over here, but I'm also a SU2 at Foursquare ;)

Now more seriously, what is really missing from Waze (and a lot other apps), is accepting coordinates on the search field, and be smart with the parsing of different coordinate formats. Only Google does it right. Even worse because waze does know about the coordinates via the waze:// uri.

IIRC, wazing to coordinates is possible, but Waze uses a different format than most other applications. Try switching the lat and lon, it should work!


To hard to do with copy/paste on the iPhone, forget it :P
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2776
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 286 times
Been thanked: 603 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby gerben » Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:41 am

davipt wrote:
seriousarsonist wrote:... but I'd also say linking it with FourSquare is also pretty low priority, a lot of the foursquare georeferences are hopelessly inaccurate. ...


Not quite that "hopelessly inaccurate" over here, but I'm also a SU2 at Foursquare ;)

Now more seriously, what is really missing from Waze (and a lot other apps), is accepting coordinates on the search field, and be smart with the parsing of different coordinate formats. Only Google does it right. Even worse because waze does know about the coordinates via the waze:// uri.

IIRC, wazing to coordinates is possible, but Waze uses a different format than most other applications. Try switching the lat and lon, it should work!
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby khaytsus » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:06 am

I used to be able to directly navigate from the Android app Locus, but now I just get a search for the cache name and not the coordinates :-\

Still not sure which app is doing it, but Google navigation works so I'm thinking it must be Waze.
khaytsus
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Lexington, KY
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 84 times

Re: GeoCaching + Waze bookmarklet

Postby davipt » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:38 pm

seriousarsonist wrote:... but I'd also say linking it with FourSquare is also pretty low priority, a lot of the foursquare georeferences are hopelessly inaccurate. ...


Not quite that "hopelessly inaccurate" over here, but I'm also a SU2 at Foursquare ;)

Now more seriously, what is really missing from Waze (and a lot other apps), is accepting coordinates on the search field, and be smart with the parsing of different coordinate formats. Only Google does it right. Even worse because waze does know about the coordinates via the waze:// uri.
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2776
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 286 times
Been thanked: 603 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher