iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby lakeyboy » Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:07 am

I noticed this error today. Traffic alerts generated by Waze (and not reported by the user) seem to be grabbing the wrong road name when Waze automatically reports. The first screen capture shows the traffic jam on Highbury Road, however it is reported as Cumming Street, which is a side street off Highbury Road. The second screen capture shows where Cumming Street is in relation to Highbury Road.

Image
Image
ImageImage
Proud Melburnian and Country Manager for Australia. 196,000+ map edits and counting! Current worldwide rank: 340
Waze Australia Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WazeAustralia
lakeyboy
Australia Waze Champs
Australia Waze Champs
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 119 times

Re: iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby lakeyboy » Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:25 am

perlin wrote:
lakeyboy wrote:I noticed this error today. Traffic alerts generated by Waze (and not reported by the user) seem to be grabbing the wrong road name when Waze automatically reports.

Can you find another examples?

Was able to find another 2 examples of this behaviour:

Image
Says "Catherine Av" when it should say "Stephensons Rd"

Image
"Says "Elstone Ct" when it should say "Keilor Rd"

Looks to me like Waze gets the name from the intersecting side street of where the traffic jam begins instead of the road actually being travelled on.
ImageImage
Proud Melburnian and Country Manager for Australia. 196,000+ map edits and counting! Current worldwide rank: 340
Waze Australia Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WazeAustralia
lakeyboy
Australia Waze Champs
Australia Waze Champs
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 119 times

iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby maantje76 » Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:55 pm

But don't hurry as testflight isn't used anymore...they are looking for a new platform...Maybe this give some additional surprises as well :-)
Image
maantje76
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:16 pm
Location: BeNeLux
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 300 times

Re: iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby mrgrumpy » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:26 am

Whilst trying to help confirm a problem for Dave2084 I disconnected from Facebook and lost all my friends.
I've reconnected and can share my routes on Facebook but no friends. Left it a couple if days in case there was a lag but no improvement.

Please can you fix this or advise me how to get them back.

Carl

Ps not jailbroken.
mrgrumpy
Experts
Experts
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:14 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby mrgrumpy » Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:05 pm

OK all fixed.
Found an older version of Waze (3.2.2) installed that, which worked perfectly, and then upgraded to 3.5.3, and all my friends are back!

Something wrong with 3.5.3 then. :roll:


mrgrumpy wrote:Whilst trying to help confirm a problem for Dave2084 I disconnected from Facebook and lost all my friends.
I've reconnected and can share my routes on Facebook but no friends. Left it a couple if days in case there was a lag but no improvement.

Please can you fix this or advise me how to get them back.

Carl

Ps not jailbroken.
mrgrumpy
Experts
Experts
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:14 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby mrgrumpy » Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:33 pm

Apart from the friends issue, its been fine for me.
If you close it straight away, when you've finished, you will get an error next time you switch it on.
But as long as you wait for the GPS arrow to disappear before ending the app, its fine.
mrgrumpy
Experts
Experts
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:14 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby mrgrumpy » Sat Jan 19, 2013 5:58 pm

I get popups, not as many as I used to.

I thought this was a feedback on what works and what doesn't, not how useful some people think the features are. :roll:
mrgrumpy
Experts
Experts
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:14 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby mrgrumpy » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:09 pm

Not a major issue, but I quite like being a Waze Monster. :oops:
I can still set it to the monster, but when I switch Waze off and back on again I'm back to my old mood, currently Silver Wazer (UK). Maybe that's the problem. I don't know, or maybe its a bug. :?

Like I said, not a biggy, but it maybe indicative of another issue, and if I don't tell you, you can't fix it. :|

Carl :ugeek:
mrgrumpy
Experts
Experts
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:14 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby mrgrumpy » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:15 pm

Ah, OK.
Did try searching, nit no joy, thanks Alan! :D

:ugeek:
mrgrumpy
Experts
Experts
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:14 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: iPhone 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby nqjoe » Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:18 pm

Hi,
Previously I reported issue with older waze version on my phone - see this thread - viewtopic.php?f=3&t=32801&start=240#p333766

I did a clean install after that and it worked perfectly - the only difference I made was instead of actively using it, I either left waze ran in background or ran it with 2D view and lower screen brightness. It never crashed since. I would just go in to activate navigation then either go back to my home screen or shut the screen off.

After the latest update, everything works as usual until today when I attempted to change from 2D view to 3D view - it crashed right away and rebooted my phone.

I don't know technical stuffs about this issue but I know that if I want waze to work for me, I have to do these steps:
1. Lower my screen brightness down (never max!)
2. Start waze
3. Change to 2D view
4. Set the course/navigation
5. Pray it won't crash

If you have same issue of your phone keeps rebooting, you may try my solution - see if it works for you too.

Happy waze-ing!
nqjoe
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:15 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users