Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, Unholy

Re: Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby autourdupc » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:26 am

foxitrot wrote:Since a fix some 1-2 beta versions ago, when a user/report popup is displayed, it is sufficient to click the map anywhere around it (or at it, except its buttons) and the popup will be closed, not necessary to look for [ X ] or the tiny (x) button anymore.

Unfortunately the same happens when a report dialog is opened (in contrast to a popup window, this is not only some informational area, which can be repeatedly opened again), but well, one can get used to it. But the Radar/Camera report dialog differs from the others - there is a pretty large informational area in the middle of it and inadvertently touching it (while trying to tap on any of surrounding buttons) causes the dialog to disappear - its GPS position is gone. The same is true for all dialogs, when touching their title bar.

The whole area of all report dialogs (except their [ X ] and [ Send ] buttons) should be excluded from closing them.


And [ X ] is too small !
Should have a true button for that !
France - French - Galaxy S3 - Android Version 4.1.2 - Stock ROM
Translator for french language - "Localization expert"
autourdupc
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:25 pm
Location: France - Lyon
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:28 am

Yesterday I've got a few identical crashes on a gas station. It had the 1st and 4th price defined, the middle two were N/A. While trying to define and report also the missing ones (all at once) and click between the fields, the client always crashed on the last one. Finally I had to define and report all four prices one-by-one.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new social Android 3.9.xx.yyy (SG-S3 KikiriKat).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6368
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1748 times
Been thanked: 798 times

Re: Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:38 am

Autourdupc wrote:And [ X ] is too small !
Should have a true button for that !

That is another story. On Android, Waze apparently attempts to mimic iOS' buttons on the upper left/right corners of dialog windows. But the attempt is just half-baked :evil: usually a button consist of at least some border, which highlights its (clickable) area (rectangular, elliptical, circular, whichever) and some description text inside. iOs' buttons are additionally e.g. gray on a black title bar area. Waze buttons ... can be just guessed :twisted: one can see only its description text. And if these buttons get also scrolled up above the dialog area :roll:

Waze, please, modify these buttons ASAP! It is sometimes really a pain to notice them (especially after reading some texts down to the dialog's bottom, to finally confirm them)!
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new social Android 3.9.xx.yyy (SG-S3 KikiriKat).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6368
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1748 times
Been thanked: 798 times

Re: Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby autourdupc » Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:53 am

foxitrot wrote:
Autourdupc wrote:And [ X ] is too small !
Should have a true button for that !

That is another story. On Android, Waze apparently attempts to mimic iOS' buttons on the upper left/right corners of dialog windows. But the attempt is just half-baked :evil: usually a button consist of at least some border, which highlights its (clickable) area (rectangular, elliptical, circular, whichever) and some description text inside. iOs' buttons are additionally e.g. gray on a black title bar area. Waze buttons ... can be just guessed :twisted: one can see only its description text. And if these buttons get also scrolled up above the dialog area :roll:

Waze, please, modify these buttons ASAP! It is sometimes really a pain to notice them (especially after reading some texts down to the dialog's bottom, to finally confirm them)!

Argh ! Android is not IOS... If I wanted an IOS system, i already bought it !
And if I own an Android system, it is because I don't want an IOS !
IOS is opposite to Android. So, Waze, please do a good job on android and what you want on IOS.
Give us good screen interface and not poor pop-up or ballon, on which we need to have a little finger, a good eyesight and a big brain storm to understand how it works !

Don't forget that we use Waze while we are driving in our vehicule... Informations should be simple to read, understand and use !
France - French - Galaxy S3 - Android Version 4.1.2 - Stock ROM
Translator for french language - "Localization expert"
autourdupc
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:25 pm
Location: France - Lyon
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby perlin » Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:44 am

foxitrot wrote:Yesterday I've got a few identical crashes on a gas station. It had the 1st and 4th price defined, the middle two were N/A. While trying to define and report also the missing ones (all at once) and click between the fields, the client always crashed on the last one. Finally I had to define and report all four prices one-by-one.

Please send permalink of the station. Maybe it's related to its location.
Image
Join Waze. We have cookies..
perlin
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:42 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:21 pm

perlin wrote:
foxitrot wrote:Yesterday I've got a few identical crashes on a gas station. It had the 1st and 4th price defined, the middle two were N/A. While trying to define and report also the missing ones (all at once) and click between the fields, the client always crashed on the last one. Finally I had to define and report all four prices one-by-one.

Please send permalink of the station. Maybe it's related to its location.

Here it is: https://world.waze.com/editor/?lon=17.1 ... rks=250060 Would be interesting.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new social Android 3.9.xx.yyy (SG-S3 KikiriKat).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6368
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1748 times
Been thanked: 798 times

Re: Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby perlin » Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:10 pm

Autourdupc wrote:Map chat do not stay on screen when not sent.
To reproduce :
1) Tap on bottom right button and select Map chat (see arrow 1)
2) Let the countdown reach 0. The unset map chat comes to map screen (see arrow 2)
3) Tap again on bottom right button (see arrow 3)
--> Map chat is deleted !
Screenshot_2013-01-27-22-55-45.png

Can't reproduce. Can you try again?
Image
Join Waze. We have cookies..
perlin
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:42 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby Olestas » Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:37 pm

Android 2.3.3. LG P500.
Crashing when searching while route is active.
Crashing just like that.
GPS disappears after second/third launch.
Logs sent (no time).
Olestas
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4287
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 1379 times
Been thanked: 1016 times

Re: Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby perlin » Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:49 pm

foxitrot wrote:
perlin wrote:
foxitrot wrote:Yesterday I've got a few identical crashes on a gas station. It had the 1st and 4th price defined, the middle two were N/A. While trying to define and report also the missing ones (all at once) and click between the fields, the client always crashed on the last one. Finally I had to define and report all four prices one-by-one.

Please send permalink of the station. Maybe it's related to its location.

Here it is: https://world.waze.com/editor/?lon=17.1 ... rks=250060 Would be interesting.

Failed to reproduce.
Image
Join Waze. We have cookies..
perlin
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:42 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: Android 3.5.3 official feedback thread

Postby autourdupc » Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:03 pm

perlin wrote:
Autourdupc wrote:Map chat do not stay on screen when not sent.
To reproduce :
1) Tap on bottom right button and select Map chat (see arrow 1)
2) Let the countdown reach 0. The unset map chat comes to map screen (see arrow 2)
3) Tap again on bottom right button (see arrow 3)
--> Map chat is deleted !
Screenshot_2013-01-27-22-55-45.png

Can't reproduce. Can you try again?

I can reproduce it each time I do it !
Watch the video...
http://www.monvendeur.com/VID_WAZE.mp4 (7 Mo)
Last edited by autourdupc on Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
France - French - Galaxy S3 - Android Version 4.1.2 - Stock ROM
Translator for french language - "Localization expert"
autourdupc
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:25 pm
Location: France - Lyon
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher