Network problems...my solution!

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Network problems...my solution!

Postby BrutusNL » Thu May 20, 2010 5:28 pm

Since I have my iPhone (2 weeks now) I am using Waze on it (actually was one of the first apps I installed). I noticed that eventhough I have all networkbars AND the iPhone says it has a 3G datanetwork, very often Waze would lose connection to the server. It would reconnect, but it happened constantly and at least every 10-15 minutes. With battery 'drainage' in mind I set my network to NO 3G and ...hocus pocus...no more network problems. Been driving for days and Waze on for hours and not ONE single time it happened. Don't know what the technical explanation is, but this seems to be the direction to look when trying to solve the network issue.
BrutusNL
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Network problems...my solution!

Postby gerben » Sun May 23, 2010 8:05 pm

Works wonderful, not a single loss during 3 days with a lot of km's!

I even installed a shortcut widget to change to 2G quickly (and back).
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Network problems...my solution!

Postby gerben » Mon May 24, 2010 11:04 pm

I had not a single app crash while driving since I started using 2G only. Before I had multiple crashes a day.

Strange thing is that other apps keep working on 3G where Waze does not. Maybe it should wait longer for a timeout?
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Network problems...my solution!

Postby QuickOK » Thu May 20, 2010 11:55 pm

Will try that this evening. Thanks for the tip.
QuickOK
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:55 pm
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Network problems...my solution!

Postby QuickOK » Sun May 23, 2010 8:15 pm

My issue is that I listen to music, update my location on Facebook and use Trapster all at the same time while running another iphone off the adhoc wireless network in my car running another mapping program, Inrix Traffic! and iCartel... But you're right, I didn't have any issues when using EDGE, but then again look what carrier network we are using... I finally went ahead and purchased a dual-band amp for my phone.
QuickOK
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:55 pm
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Network problems...my solution!

Postby robin1979 » Thu May 20, 2010 6:05 pm

In the Netherlands the network is often congested during rush hour, and if you happen to connect to a cell tower that's close to a public place such as a railway station, your traffic wont get through. It is really sad. GPRS will go through because that's a lesser used channel (even though the bandwidth on it is limited, but more than enough for Waze).

Bring on 4G, and hurry up!
MapSquadEurope
Area Manager - Europe
robin1979
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:49 am
Location: EUROPE
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 35 times


Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users