Android 3.6 official feedback thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby berestovskyy » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:32 am

berestovskyy wrote:Hi!
Seems that app internal routing doesn't honor parking and private roads penalties.

If I use Live Map or Waze routing server -- they both plan a route around the private road. But when I have no internet connection (i.e. airplane mode), my app navigates me through this private road.

I have the same issue with Parking Lot roads. Could anyone please confirm this? If it's a bug, how to I report it?

It was here and all around the city center. Sorry, I had to restrict all the turns, so you can't try it now.

But as I wrote, I have the same issue with parking lot roads. So here is the permalink.

I'm also attaching the screenshot for your convenience.
Attachments
bug.jpg
Routing Server vs Client Based Routing
bug.jpg (64.28 KiB) Viewed 676 times
berestovskyy
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 391 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby berestovskyy » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:51 am

davipt wrote:And toll avoidance. Without network the client will gladly follow toll roads as if the setting was not enabled.

Confirm, same here with toll roads.

But in case of Private Roads it's the biggest issue I think:
1. As a rule traffic in the city centers in Europe is restricted.
2. Usually city centers have narrow streets with unstable internet connection.
2. Driving through such a road leads to a fine. In some cities you can get a fine automatically.

If it's a problem to implement penalties in the App, can I ask about a workaround:
I would definitely prefer if the App internal routing algorithm were treating Private Roads as non-drivable, i.e. completely ignore them.

Thanks!
berestovskyy
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 391 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby black_gis » Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:51 pm

When will be there new versions or beta apps? Nothing recognized for a long time??? Will be there new betas or even final versions. What is about the rumors about a new beta platform?

LG Richard.
Image
Area Manager: Salzburg City (AT), Nußdorf (Village) (AT)
Wazing with: Samsung Galaxy S3, Android 4.1.2
AT-Wiki|AT-Wiki INTL|AT-Naming and level of streets|How Waze is calculating routes|Beta Wazer
black_gis
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 6:48 pm
Location: Salzburg
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby black_gis » Mon Apr 15, 2013 6:32 pm

That's true, but aren't the answers i am looking for! :?
Image
Area Manager: Salzburg City (AT), Nußdorf (Village) (AT)
Wazing with: Samsung Galaxy S3, Android 4.1.2
AT-Wiki|AT-Wiki INTL|AT-Naming and level of streets|How Waze is calculating routes|Beta Wazer
black_gis
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 6:48 pm
Location: Salzburg
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby bsdmom » Tue May 28, 2013 1:52 am

Wow... nothing but problems with this.
- When I get an inbox message and view it, it gets caught in a loop- can't get back to map
- Quits frequently, which is awful since I don't know when it quits and lose mile points
- When I view Settings from the main screen, then use my phone's back arrow, the map goes black and the app locks. I have to restart my phone (Galaxy S3 Verizon)
bsdmom
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:29 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby Caradellino » Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:12 pm

Well, I'd like to break the routine...at least a little... ;)

...or to be more precise, I am able to report that I have not encountered any problem so far. Therefore I felt obliged to submit the first positive post in this thread :lol:

I had a clean update from the playstore, settings and favorites all preserved. Since I upgraded to 3.6 I had no crashes also. I also like the enhanced information on the current route. So all you people with crashing troubles don't loose faith...Waze obviously can work too (at least on my GALAXY S+ with Android Gingerbread).

But I have to admit, that I so far found no oportunity to try the road closure, just looked at it. From that I second the motions for more methods to report closures, I find your arguments convincing, it is, as PetervdVeen pointed out, indeed limited to "no entry" situations, and nearly impossible to use for closed ramps or rest areas on the highway.

Also no feedback on GS, we don't have the feature yet.
Greets...and keep on wazing
Caradellino, CM for:
Image
AT-Wiki | Team Austria | Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert
Australian Wiki
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1389
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 204 times
Been thanked: 483 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby carlosvasco » Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:37 pm

We have an issue here in Colombia. The gas prices are in thousands. For example regular gas price on average is $8400 COP.

In the US the prices are arround 4 or 3 USD.

When Im in a gas station I can't report prices because of format. The app expects prices in units of dollars. Not in thousands of pesos, our currency

Please fix it.

Congratulations. This app helps me a lot to avoid traffic

Greetings from Medellin - Colombia.

Im using Waze on Android. A smartphone Samsung mini 2
carlosvasco
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 1:30 am
Location: Medellín - Colombia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby CBenson » Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:46 pm

I'm going to report these here even though I was still on 3.5.99.915 this morning as I doubt the issue is corrected in the 3.6 release and the issue has remained through several beta releases.

I continue see no rhyme nor reason to alert popups.
Today I received no alert to for this accident on my route:
AccidentNAB.jpg
AccidentNAB.jpg (24.09 KiB) Viewed 5014 times

If I tap on the accident icon, the popup confirms its on my route. However, because this is not an alert popup there is no way for me to indicate that the accident is no longer there (there was no sign of an accident on the road).
AccidentPUB.jpg
AccidentPUB.jpg (28.2 KiB) Viewed 5014 times

Further down the road the same thing happened again:
AccidentNA.jpg
AccidentNA.jpg (24.75 KiB) Viewed 5014 times
AccidentPU.jpg
AccidentPU.jpg (30.22 KiB) Viewed 5014 times

On the other hand, I continue to receive alert popups for speed cameras when my speed is not exceeding the limit:
SCA.jpg
SCA.jpg (24.49 KiB) Viewed 5014 times
SCA2.jpg
SCA2.jpg (22.88 KiB) Viewed 5014 times
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 977 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby CBenson » Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:03 pm

I was wondering why I'm not seeing any roads marked as slow despite a ton of traffic pins on the map this morning. I now see Menu>Advanced>Data transfer>Download traffic info is unchecked. Is this unchecked by default?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 977 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby CBenson » Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:31 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
CBenson wrote:I was wondering why I'm not seeing any roads marked as slow despite a ton of traffic pins on the map this morning. I now see Menu>Advanced>Data transfer>Download traffic info is unchecked. Is this unchecked by default?

Shouldn't be. Did you perhaps do it to stop the "when stopped popups"?

No, hadn't adjusted my settings at all since deleting the beta and installing 3.6 from the Play Store. I was just going through the settings to change the defaults to my tastes and noticed this was unchecked. I've not before intentionally unchecked this selection.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 977 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]