Android 3.6 official feedback thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby DonQuijot » Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:53 pm

Hello

Today I report police twice, and both time after I get "you helped" message - map was faded to black, only bottom menu button stays active. All others working but map was black. When i press left menu button - main menu appeared and map became visible.
DonQuijot
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 5:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby DonJ2 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 3:47 am

perlin wrote:
DonJ2 wrote:In this new version, mute disables all sounds, including road alerts. I hope Waze will consider adding a configuration option to allow selecting between the old versus new behavior for the mute feature.

Unmute and under Sound > Level Of Guidance > select None. This way you won't hear instruction but you'll hear road alerts.

That's a nice simple solution. :-)
Thanks, Perlin.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
USA Country Manager
Area Manager: Florida - Brevard, Lake, Osceola, Orange, Seminole, Volusia
Samsung Galaxy S5 - Verizon - Android 4.4.2
DonJ2
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:00 pm
Location: Central Florida, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby DonJ2 » Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:34 am

I liked how the mute feature worked in previous versions; while on mute you would still here road alerts. I used mute while navigating to destinations when I did not need audible turn by turn instructions.

In this new version, mute disables all sounds, including road alerts. I hope Waze will consider adding a configuration option to allow selecting between the old versus new behavior for the mute feature.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
USA Country Manager
Area Manager: Florida - Brevard, Lake, Osceola, Orange, Seminole, Volusia
Samsung Galaxy S5 - Verizon - Android 4.4.2
DonJ2
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:00 pm
Location: Central Florida, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby DonJ2 » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 pm

Add me to the list of users that miss the Foursquare checkin button. The new button location does not work so well if you're trying to checkin to a venue that is along your route (like hitting the McDonald's drive through for coffee while travelling to work destination), or if you've reached your destination without using navigation in the first place. Very frustrating.

Question: Does the sound mute feature of this new version mute ALL sound like the beta version did? If it does, then I have an issue with that change too. When I travel between work and home, I enable navigation to get the best route, but I don't need the turn-by-turn instructions, so I use MUTE. But now, mute will also mute alerts along the way. I really don't want to watch the screen the entire trip just to make sure I don't miss a road alert.
USA Country Manager
Area Manager: Florida - Brevard, Lake, Osceola, Orange, Seminole, Volusia
Samsung Galaxy S5 - Verizon - Android 4.4.2
DonJ2
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:00 pm
Location: Central Florida, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby dmcconachie » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:08 am

Doesn't matter how many zeros you add your vote is still only worth 1!

You can still check-in via waze. There are 2 methods already described that are hardly a hardship.
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 302 times

Re: Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby dmcconachie » Wed Feb 27, 2013 6:14 pm

Wajo357 wrote:Even though I don't use foursquare, I'm going to ask it because I know it will come eventually. Did the feature go away or is it hidden somewhere else?

Navigate to your destination then it's one of the buttons on the new arrival toolbar that pops up.
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 302 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby dmcconachie » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:40 pm

It's basically setting a temporary turn restriction by the look of it, so there's no way to close a road per se
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 302 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby Dgwood12 » Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:33 am

Hate the new popup when opening the app and it asks you if you are going to be traveling to work for example and then it opens the old popup after. I think the new one is pretty pointless.

I liked the old one before because I never navigate with waze. I hate the voice It uses and refuse to navigate with anything other than the Google navigation app because of how nice the new jelly bean text to speech is.

Anyhow, I liked in the previous version when it asked if I was traveling to work I could see the commute laid out with the line in the popup that shows a summary. Now I have to wait for the new pointless popup to go away and then view the summary and then close out navigation. Very annoying. Even if I did use the turn by turn navigation, I think the new popup is pointless.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
Dgwood12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby DG567 » Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:19 pm

twist3r wrote:Why not just use the internal routing system if the online one fails ? Eventually with a notice that is using internal routing system.

Yes, that would be better. Unfortunately, Waze doesn't do that at the moment. Hopefully it's going to be tackled, as it's a pretty big flaw. This evening, I used small country lanes. 3 times Waze deleted my route to recalculate. Then it failed, leaving me with nothing. 3 times I had to stop, turn off 3g and reroute.
DG567
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 626
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:09 am
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby DG567 » Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:18 pm

twist3r wrote:How can I manually switch to internal routing feature if I see that the routing online is not working?

Turn off Wi-Fi and 3G.
If Waze knows there is no data connection it will route internally. My impression is that timeout occurs when it thinks there should be a connection (3G is on), but it can't connect (signal is weak, or server is busy, or the phone is doing something else to use the bandwidth).
DG567
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 626
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:09 am
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 45 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users