Android 3.6 official feedback thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby pixelgeek » Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:03 am

I now quite often have the problem that map tiles are not loading fast enough. This sometimes leaves me with only the purple navigation line on screen which is not very useful.

At the same time it seems that there are now two different versions of map tiles: zoomed in and zoomed out? sometimes one of them is loaded and the other not, which results in the app switching between "no map" and "map" when my Auto-Zoom is changing...

Maybe it would make sense to preload all the maptiles along a route when starting the journey? Or compress the data to make the transfer quicker?

Assuming that map tiles are getting refreshed on a more frequent basis now, they probably need to be downloaded to the phone more frequently as well... So this problem might occur even more in the future...
Image
Wazing in Finland / Switzerland
AM Switzerland: Ostschweiz - St.Gallen - Appenzell
HTC Sensation / Android Revolution HD / Waze Beta Tester
pixelgeek
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby PopeJay » Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:57 am

don-quijote wrote:Hello

Today I report police twice, and both time after I get "you helped" message - map was faded to black, only bottom menu button stays active. All others working but map was black. When i press left menu button - main menu appeared and map became visible.


I am experiencing the same issue. Using Galaxy N7000

everything works just fine as long as you dong press that Report button at the lower right corner, pressing it will show the usual Report Menu but once you go back to the map itself, it will just be BLANK, pressing the menu/report button will let you see the map (dimmed) with the menu on top but will just do the exact same thing when going back to the map. the only solution is to restart the app to see the map again.

Image
Image
Image
Image
this is frustrating.
PopeJay
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 5:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby PopeJay » Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:54 am

jay185 wrote:
don-quijote wrote:Hello

Today I report police twice, and both time after I get "you helped" message - map was faded to black, only bottom menu button stays active. All others working but map was black. When i press left menu button - main menu appeared and map became visible.


I am experiencing the same issue. Using Galaxy N7000

everything works just fine as long as you dong press that Report button at the lower right corner, pressing it will show the usual Report Menu but once you go back to the map itself, it will just be BLANK, pressing the menu/report button will let you see the map (dimmed) with the menu on top but will just do the exact same thing when going back to the map. the only solution is to restart the app to see the map again.

Image
Image
Image
Image
this is frustrating.


I removed the waze app and tried the latest beta before the one in play store. I got the exact same result. Pressing the report button will dim the map like usual but returning to the map will then blank the map. :( I hope the devs can say something about this.

Sent from Mobile Device
PopeJay
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 5:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby PopeJay » Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:55 am

perlin wrote:
jay185 wrote:
don-quijote wrote:Hello

Today I report police twice, and both time after I get "you helped" message - map was faded to black, only bottom menu button stays active. All others working but map was black. When i press left menu button - main menu appeared and map became visible.


I am experiencing the same issue. Using Galaxy N7000

everything works just fine as long as you dong press that Report button at the lower right corner, pressing it will show the usual Report Menu but once you go back to the map itself, it will just be BLANK, pressing the menu/report button will let you see the map (dimmed) with the menu on top but will just do the exact same thing when going back to the map. the only solution is to restart the app to see the map again.

Please reproduce this on debug mode (search for 2##2) and send logs. Thanks.


i just did. i did the 2##2, it went to debug mode, reproduced the problem and sent the logs through the waze app. is that right?
PopeJay
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 5:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby PopeJay » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:34 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
jay185 wrote:i just did. i did the 2##2, it went to debug mode, reproduced the problem and sent the logs through the waze app. is that right?

Yes! (Nice work!) Post the date/time you uploaded so Perlin can connect the logs with the issue.


Tapatalk made me do it.


i did it when i replied. should be before Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:55 am
PopeJay
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 5:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby porubcan » Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:02 pm

twist3r wrote:I've tried to install it from Play. There is written version 3.6 and the date is correct. But when I install the program, it installs the old version 3.5.0.0

in my case correct version 3.6.0.0 is in Help/About menu.
installation went just fine. settings preserved.
Image Image Image
SK Country Coordinator, SK Country Manager, Global Champ, Android Beta Tester
Waze 3.9.5.3 on HTC One, Android 5.0.2 @ white Škoda Octavia RS Combi
porubcan
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4630
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 459 times
Been thanked: 1200 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby porubcan » Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:30 pm

jdeyoung wrote:Can't remember if I've seen this before or not.
Yesterday I received the popup "Waze has found a better" route SEVERAL times with no ETA change and no change to the next direction.
Time saved was "blank".
Eventually I got a message to exit the highway and re-enter - but still with no time saved - no change in ETA to home.

not sure if it is somehow related to this: http://status.waze.com/intl-server-issues-with-eta
Image Image Image
SK Country Coordinator, SK Country Manager, Global Champ, Android Beta Tester
Waze 3.9.5.3 on HTC One, Android 5.0.2 @ white Škoda Octavia RS Combi
porubcan
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4630
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 459 times
Been thanked: 1200 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby porubcan » Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:33 pm

foxitrot wrote:On both Monday (or was it rather Tuesday?) and Wednesday mornings I've stopped on red light near a GS (the same one), the update price question popped up. I've agreed to update prices, the dialog with four N/A's popped up. I've closed it, opened the "right button menu - GS prices - select GS - update" and suddenly two of the prices were visible. I've immediately sent logs both times, unfortunately not noticed that debug mode was off (because of the release version).

Here are screenshots from yesterday: (I assume 12829594 is myself - the client infrastructure seems to be running into similar problems like the editor does? :o)

SC20130227-064557__.png

SC20130227-064611__.png

this was reported several times for beta versions but was not fixed prior official release.
Image Image Image
SK Country Coordinator, SK Country Manager, Global Champ, Android Beta Tester
Waze 3.9.5.3 on HTC One, Android 5.0.2 @ white Škoda Octavia RS Combi
porubcan
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4630
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 459 times
Been thanked: 1200 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby porubcan » Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:50 pm

perlin wrote:
DonJ2 wrote:In this new version, mute disables all sounds, including road alerts. I hope Waze will consider adding a configuration option to allow selecting between the old versus new behavior for the mute feature.

Unmute and under Sound > Level Of Guidance > select None. This way you won't hear instruction but you'll hear road alerts.

Hi Perlin, that is working well for me too, but few comments.
1. for those without TTS - Sound > Level Of Guidance settings are little misleading. options are On/Off (for me as non-native speaker it was not clear what is that for at all). Maybe better for understanding would be "Audible (Route) Instructions" instead of "Level of Guidenance"
2. If I set level of guidance "off", it will remove "General > Navigation guidance" settings - where you may select language (all alerts are still in language which was set before). But if you update to new version it will not automatically ask if I'd like to download language audio files (so alerts are in English. need to add that the quality of English nuance is poor with volume too low).

and another point, there was no thanks in popup for construction on road:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/r2pc7k0yz0fh0 ... 3.08.png?m
Image Image Image
SK Country Coordinator, SK Country Manager, Global Champ, Android Beta Tester
Waze 3.9.5.3 on HTC One, Android 5.0.2 @ white Škoda Octavia RS Combi
porubcan
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4630
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 459 times
Been thanked: 1200 times

Re: Android 3.6 official feedback thread

Postby porubcan » Wed Mar 06, 2013 7:56 pm

perlin wrote:
foxitrot wrote:I've stopped on red light near a GS (the same one), the update price question popped up. I've agreed to update prices, the dialog with four N/A's popped up.

Known issue, was reported before by other users. We will fix it.


I got another point to GS pop-up displays N/A instead of previous prices issue.

Slowly, step by step:
In situation all 4 prices were correctly reported earlier today.
Someone stops at/nearby GS and agrees to pop-up to update prices
He/she sees N/A for all grades
He/she uses Diesel and enter only Diesel's price.
Now we got only Diesel's price in system and all previouly reported prices for other grades are lost untill next user will enter values.

I've seen this probably happened on 2 GSs today (there were prices for all grades yesterday, prices haven't changed, but in Waze only one was reported)

Please consider turning pop-ups off untill fixed. We are loosing data.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by porubcan on Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:29 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image Image Image
SK Country Coordinator, SK Country Manager, Global Champ, Android Beta Tester
Waze 3.9.5.3 on HTC One, Android 5.0.2 @ white Škoda Octavia RS Combi
porubcan
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4630
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 459 times
Been thanked: 1200 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Grobian