Road Closure discussion thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:35 pm

First test, a road closure reported by one user does not appear at all on the map of the other user, nor affects the routing as expected. If it works, how many reports will be necessary, I wonder...
Image
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ | Coordinator and Manager for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:56 am

xteejx wrote:Tested this a couple hours ago. A noob friend, pink not baby, reported a closure.
Didn't appear on my client but when I reported it, it closed straight away.
I'm a level 4 editor, he's a level 0 or 1, whatever that first one is now.


What do you exactly mean "it closed straight away"?
Image
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ | Coordinator and Manager for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:55 pm

foxitrot wrote:Humorously (or sadly), I'm just allowed to cut off any of the green arrows, which could lead me out of my segment :roll:


I did that myself. Locked myself at home, couldn't get a route out of the parking :mrgreen:
Image
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ | Coordinator and Manager for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:04 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:Point of clarification if I understand correctly, the issue is with a single un-named segment added BEFORE a split to force instructions (used often in Europe). It is NOT an issue with segments added at the start of EACH path from the split to force instructions (used often in the USA).


OT: link for a thread discussing this? why two different solutions? I'm curious and still undecided how to do these splits myself.
Image
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ | Coordinator and Manager for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:18 pm

CBenson wrote:I would avoid angles of about 45 degrees. It is better to use departure angles of 20 to 30 degrees as discussed here: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Junc ... e#Geometry.


There seems to be a new script for that, but haven't tested it.
Image
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ | Coordinator and Manager for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby deeggo » Thu Feb 27, 2014 9:00 am

It's not that simple. I often pass closed highway exits which I don't need to take anyway. I wouldn't be able to report those then. On the other hand, I'm not reporting them now either because the whole system just doesn't close anything off effectively.
Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One X | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3564
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 311 times
Been thanked: 352 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby deeggo » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:08 pm

It's working somewhere between "very bad" and "working not at all" on INTL.
Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One X | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3564
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 311 times
Been thanked: 352 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby deeggo » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:44 am

As if the champs discussing something will make Waze fix outstanding bugs. Very peculiar.
Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One X | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3564
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 311 times
Been thanked: 352 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby finbarr69 » Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:31 am

Re: Road Closure discussion thread
Postby CBenson » Mon Sep 16, 2013 2:54 pm

So today, M Street SE in Washington is closed due to the shootings at the Navy Yard. I could not close the ramp from I-695 to M Street as I passed it. I could manage to hit the little arrow, but that didn't enable the "Next" button.
MClosure.png


Hello, Did anybody answer this question? I am having the same issue.
I am unable to add a road closure. I can open the road closure screen but after selecting the direction of closure I cannot continue. The 'Next' button is greyed out. Help
finbarr69
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 5:34 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Road Closure discussion thread

Postby foxitrot » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:53 pm

It was already suggested, that picking an arbitrary point on a street segment nearby would be a good UI to define a road closure. I can imagine that Waze devs might hesitate to allow an arbitrary segment being 'closured'. But the fact that I'm not even able to 'block' the middle of e.g. a long freeway segment I'm currently on, facing a serious accident (or fvwazing's fire+smoke example) possibly blocking both directions, is beyond my understanding.

Humorously (or sadly), I'm just allowed to cut off any of the green arrows, which could lead me out of my segment :roll:
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new crashing Android 3.7.xx.yyy (SG-A2 JealousBin).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5282
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 834 times
Been thanked: 468 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], patrixce