Road Closure discussion thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby Daknife » Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:03 am

Post a permalink to the unlock forum asking someone to close it. Not as efficient as doing it yourself, but you can still get it closed and then reopened when needed.
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1677
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 452 times
Been thanked: 224 times

Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:35 pm

First test, a road closure reported by one user does not appear at all on the map of the other user, nor affects the routing as expected. If it works, how many reports will be necessary, I wonder...
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2617
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 504 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:56 am

xteejx wrote:Tested this a couple hours ago. A noob friend, pink not baby, reported a closure.
Didn't appear on my client but when I reported it, it closed straight away.
I'm a level 4 editor, he's a level 0 or 1, whatever that first one is now.


What do you exactly mean "it closed straight away"?
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2617
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 504 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:55 pm

foxitrot wrote:Humorously (or sadly), I'm just allowed to cut off any of the green arrows, which could lead me out of my segment :roll:


I did that myself. Locked myself at home, couldn't get a route out of the parking :mrgreen:
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2617
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 504 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:04 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:Point of clarification if I understand correctly, the issue is with a single un-named segment added BEFORE a split to force instructions (used often in Europe). It is NOT an issue with segments added at the start of EACH path from the split to force instructions (used often in the USA).


OT: link for a thread discussing this? why two different solutions? I'm curious and still undecided how to do these splits myself.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2617
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 504 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:18 pm

CBenson wrote:I would avoid angles of about 45 degrees. It is better to use departure angles of 20 to 30 degrees as discussed here: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Junc ... e#Geometry.


There seems to be a new script for that, but haven't tested it.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2617
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 504 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby deeggo » Thu Feb 27, 2014 9:00 am

It's not that simple. I often pass closed highway exits which I don't need to take anyway. I wouldn't be able to report those then. On the other hand, I'm not reporting them now either because the whole system just doesn't close anything off effectively.
Global Champ. Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One M8 | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3843
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 424 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby deeggo » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:08 pm

It's working somewhere between "very bad" and "working not at all" on INTL.
Global Champ. Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One M8 | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3843
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 424 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby deeggo » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:44 am

As if the champs discussing something will make Waze fix outstanding bugs. Very peculiar.
Global Champ. Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One M8 | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3843
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 424 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby DerBenz » Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:41 pm

I have reported a road closed every day for almost 2 weeks before I started ignoring the route. It is still closed for construction (very long term) and it will still occasionally route me through that street. I would edit the segment on the map, but I no longer have edit rights (because I ignored a PM???)
DerBenz
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], MadamEntropy