Road Closure discussion thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby Daknife » Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:55 am

Would not Major Accident, have been a better option? That is what I would have advised the user in response to the UR.
Particularly with how weak the Road Closure option is, needing multiple reports of the same closure by different people for it to take effect. Whereas a Major accident report, flags the problem area for the routing systems immediately.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby Daknife » Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:03 am

Post a permalink to the unlock forum asking someone to close it. Not as efficient as doing it yourself, but you can still get it closed and then reopened when needed.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby DangerDaneDK » Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:09 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
CBenson wrote:when I selected the road closed feature, it still gave me options like I was on the prior block.

I'd post this in the feedback thread. This feature is still pretty buggy.


And I had that issue as well.

But I tried it the other day driving to a clients place. Once I had marked it as blocked it showed up, at least in my client as block for the most of the evening. When I dropped the client off roughly 4-5 hours later Waze had again removed it.

I just wish Waze would allow people, ie Map Editors level x or higher to mark a road as blocked, enter in a date where the road "should" be unblocked again and then the algoriphms would mark the road as blocked and route around it, right until that date and then automatically suspend the roadblock.... Unless the editor goes in and updates the date as the situation changes.

Its either that or the map editors marking the route as being one way only....
DangerDaneDK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:35 pm

First test, a road closure reported by one user does not appear at all on the map of the other user, nor affects the routing as expected. If it works, how many reports will be necessary, I wonder...
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:56 am

xteejx wrote:Tested this a couple hours ago. A noob friend, pink not baby, reported a closure.
Didn't appear on my client but when I reported it, it closed straight away.
I'm a level 4 editor, he's a level 0 or 1, whatever that first one is now.


What do you exactly mean "it closed straight away"?
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:55 pm

foxitrot wrote:Humorously (or sadly), I'm just allowed to cut off any of the green arrows, which could lead me out of my segment :roll:


I did that myself. Locked myself at home, couldn't get a route out of the parking :mrgreen:
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:04 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:Point of clarification if I understand correctly, the issue is with a single un-named segment added BEFORE a split to force instructions (used often in Europe). It is NOT an issue with segments added at the start of EACH path from the split to force instructions (used often in the USA).


OT: link for a thread discussing this? why two different solutions? I'm curious and still undecided how to do these splits myself.
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby davipt » Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:18 pm

CBenson wrote:I would avoid angles of about 45 degrees. It is better to use departure angles of 20 to 30 degrees as discussed here: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Junc ... e#Geometry.


There seems to be a new script for that, but haven't tested it.
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby deeggo » Thu Feb 27, 2014 9:00 am

It's not that simple. I often pass closed highway exits which I don't need to take anyway. I wouldn't be able to report those then. On the other hand, I'm not reporting them now either because the whole system just doesn't close anything off effectively.
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4197
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 620 times
Been thanked: 624 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby deeggo » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:08 pm

It's working somewhere between "very bad" and "working not at all" on INTL.
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4197
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 620 times
Been thanked: 624 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sperlock