Road Closure discussion thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby deeggo » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:08 pm

It's working somewhere between "very bad" and "working not at all" on INTL.
Global Champ. Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One M8 | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4027
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 468 times
Been thanked: 515 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby kentsmith9 » Fri Feb 28, 2014 6:45 am

In the SF Bay area I have only seen it active on the road once for a one day temporary closure. Unfortunately it was closed on a part of the road that was open. :roll:
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5051
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1277 times
Been thanked: 1496 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby khaytsus » Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:39 pm

Just to note, I had a UR today that someone tried to report a major accident that closed down an interstate and the only options they had for reporting was a ramp. They could not select the interstate to report as closed.
USA Country Manager
Central Kentucky Area Manager
AT&T LG G2 (AOKP 4.4.4)
Nexus 7 2012 (AOKP 4.4.4)
Samsung Galaxy Note (i717 AT&T; AOKP 4.4.4)
Image
khaytsus
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Lexington, KY
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 84 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby Daknife » Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:55 am

Would not Major Accident, have been a better option? That is what I would have advised the user in response to the UR.
Particularly with how weak the Road Closure option is, needing multiple reports of the same closure by different people for it to take effect. Whereas a Major accident report, flags the problem area for the routing systems immediately.
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 227 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby CBenson » Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:16 pm

daknife wrote:Whereas a Major accident report, flags the problem area for the routing systems immediately.

Do we really have any indication that a major accident report has any effect on the routing at all?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.3.0.2
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10229
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 2310 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby DerBenz » Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:41 pm

I have reported a road closed every day for almost 2 weeks before I started ignoring the route. It is still closed for construction (very long term) and it will still occasionally route me through that street. I would edit the segment on the map, but I no longer have edit rights (because I ignored a PM???)
DerBenz
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby Daknife » Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:03 am

Post a permalink to the unlock forum asking someone to close it. Not as efficient as doing it yourself, but you can still get it closed and then reopened when needed.
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 227 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby foxitrot » Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:53 am

fvwazing wrote:But as soon as a Wazer leaves the proposed route a dialog could pop up (at the same moment the recalculation kicks in) asking if the deviation is a) caused by a closure b) caused by buildup of traffic ahead c) because of a maperror ...

I actually do remember having seen such dialog popping up, some year ago, when I've left the proposed route (because of traffic ahead). Around the time the closures were being introduced? Maybe Waze was thinking of it, then they abandoned the concept?
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new social Android 4.0.xx.yyy (OP-X LOL-a-popp).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6684
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1988 times
Been thanked: 892 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby CBenson » Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:29 pm

I've seen little improvement in the road closure feature. The arrows remain too small and overlap when there are small gore angles. You can't effectively close a road because you can only indicate a closure for a few segment that you can normally route through from the segment you are on. You can't indicate the road is closed in the middle of the segment you are on.

As we are now nearing app version 3.8 with little apparent improvement, it seems to me that it makes little sense to continue to report closure interface issues in the client release threads or through the beta testing channels. Bugzilla continues to show that there are no bugs with the road closure feature. I fear the developers may think this is the case.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.3.0.2
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10229
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 2310 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby Caradellino » Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:49 am

Well, as there are no Bugs, maybe another approach might help. Today I had liked to use that feature, but my report was only usable for myself, all other CM reported a no show.

So I'm going to report this in the way of a normaly working function that might have gone sour, maybe we get some movement into the story... ;)
Greets...and keep on wazing
Caradellino, CM for:
Image
AT-Wiki | Team Austria | Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert
Australian Wiki
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2413
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 444 times
Been thanked: 1151 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher