Road Closure discussion thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, Unholy

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby jwkilgore » Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:44 pm

The only change with my suggestion would be that there would simply be more roads available to click on. No advanced gaming skills required.

Actually, you are helping to make my point. While sitting in slow traffic one segment before the exit ramp, you can spend all the time you want to report the road 3 segments ahead is closed. Give a detailed description. Carefully make sure you select the correct road segment(s). Type a novel into the comments box.

The problem comes when you have to wait until you are right at the turn before you can report the closure (and possibly an accident) while trying to accelerate along with traffic.

Same exact complaint when sitting in a traffic backup behind a wreck (not a closure, just a slowdown), or in construction, or whatever. Do you report the wreck in the wrong place with lots of info, or do you wait until you are passing the wreck to report it correctly but with no information?
Image
Jason Kilgore
iPhone 5c
Area Manager: Mississippi and Tennessee
jwkilgore
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby jwkilgore » Thu Mar 14, 2013 3:51 pm

bretmcvey wrote:This just happened to be my view of the closure. I've yet to run into an instance of someone else reporting a closure. This particular one was given a "long term" status for closure due to the road being torn out completely for construction that will last months. It stayed visible to me longer than a few hours, but by the next day was no longer visible.

Something affected for "months" should be changed in the Editor.
Image
Jason Kilgore
iPhone 5c
Area Manager: Mississippi and Tennessee
jwkilgore
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby jwkilgore » Thu Mar 21, 2013 4:52 pm

bretmcvey wrote:Has anyone had any success at attempting to close an interstate ramp or similar acute deviation from the route being traveled?

I made an attempt last week at a mapped weigh station with an exit ramp that was closed due to construction. The ramp's close "x" icon wasn't far enough apart from the interstate (forward) section. If I'd pressed the only closure x there in the diagram, it would have resulted in me submitting the interstate and not the ramp was close down.

The client may need to factor in shallow angles and better offset the buttons in those cases.
This sounds like a place where you can help. Go to www.waze.com/editor and change the ramp angle yourself :D

Zoom way in and make the ramp angle about 45 degrees for just a few feet then turn back to the real-life shallow angle. The road will look the same when zoomed out, but it will handle directions better and things like the road closure arrows will stand out better.
Image
Jason Kilgore
iPhone 5c
Area Manager: Mississippi and Tennessee
jwkilgore
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby jwkilgore » Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:00 pm

lakeyboy wrote:I honestly think that Waze has set it's bar too high for accepting road closures. I'm a level 3 editor and I tried to report a closure on a local road which no wazer has probably ever driven down, and the icon appears for a closure after filling out the form, but then goes away quickly and doesn't close the road for others. I can understand for frequently used roads it takes a few wazers but if one experienced user can't close one unimportant road, something is wrong.
This is one of my standard complaints. Reports from people who take the time to prove that they want to improve the system instead of just gain points should have extra weight. I'm trusted to open a browser and completely delete a road, but for some reason I'm not trusted to report a temporary road closure because of construction.

I'm a level 4 map editor with over a hundred thousand map edits, tens of thousands of driving miles, and hundreds of reports. But according to Wazes's computers and automated algorithms, I'm just as worthlessly untrustworthy someone who installed Waze 101 miles ago. Something is wrong with this picture.
Image
Jason Kilgore
iPhone 5c
Area Manager: Mississippi and Tennessee
jwkilgore
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby jwkilgore » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:52 am

CBenson wrote:
jwkilgore wrote:Zoom way in and make the ramp angle about 45 degrees for just a few feet then turn back to the real-life shallow angle. The road will look the same when zoomed out, but it will handle directions better and things like the road closure arrows will stand out better.

I would avoid angles of about 45 degrees. It is better to use departure angles of 20 to 30 degrees as discussed here: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Junc ... e#Geometry.

45 degrees is the cut off between giving a keep/exit or a turn instruction. So unless you are really good at distinguishing 44 degree angles from 46 degree angles, when you make an angle of "about 45 degrees" you don't really know if you are creating an exit instruction or a turn instruction.
CBenson is correct; I was thinking increase the angle but make sure you're less than 45 degrees, but that's not what I typed :oops:

I also agree with the later statement that the client-based road-closure procedure should be independent of how precisely the map lines are drawn.
Image
Jason Kilgore
iPhone 5c
Area Manager: Mississippi and Tennessee
jwkilgore
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby kentsmith9 » Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:40 pm

I added the instructions from the Support Quick Help to the Wiki http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/How_ ... rt#Closure. If we know any of those instructions to be inaccurate please let me know. I have not had much chance to use the closure option myself, and I just found out that more than one person may need to report the same segment before others will see it on their map.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4400
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 961 times
Been thanked: 1107 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby kentsmith9 » Fri Feb 28, 2014 6:45 am

In the SF Bay area I have only seen it active on the road once for a one day temporary closure. Unfortunately it was closed on a part of the road that was open. :roll:
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4400
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 961 times
Been thanked: 1107 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby khaytsus » Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:39 pm

Just to note, I had a UR today that someone tried to report a major accident that closed down an interstate and the only options they had for reporting was a ramp. They could not select the interstate to report as closed.
USA Country Manager
Central Kentucky Area Manager
AT&T LG G2 (AOKP 4.4.4)
Nexus 7 2012 (AOKP 4.4.4)
Samsung Galaxy Note (i717 AT&T; AOKP 4.4.4)
Image
khaytsus
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 856
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Lexington, KY
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby lakeyboy » Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:24 am

I honestly think that Waze has set it's bar too high for accepting road closures. I'm a level 3 editor and I tried to report a closure on a local road which no wazer has probably ever driven down, and the icon appears for a closure after filling out the form, but then goes away quickly and doesn't close the road for others. I can understand for frequently used roads it takes a few wazers but if one experienced user can't close one unimportant road, something is wrong.
ImageImage
Proud Melburnian and Australian Country Manager. World ranking: 360
Map edits: 265,000+ | Distance travelled: 42,400km+ | Reports made: 1550+
Waze Australia Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WazeAustralia
lakeyboy
Australia Waze Champs
Australia Waze Champs
 
Posts: 416
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 121 times
Been thanked: 182 times

Road Closure discussion thread

Postby maantje76 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:38 am

3 L5's couldn't block a piece of freeway in our test this evening. A parking lot did work. Routing to it resulted in the following route :-o

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362702999.427389.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362702999.427389.jpg (96.34 KiB) Viewed 1018 times


I'm affraid we can expect more problems of this kind...
Image
maantje76
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4314
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:16 pm
Location: BeNeLux
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 308 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]