Road Closure discussion thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby CBenson » Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:29 pm

I've seen little improvement in the road closure feature. The arrows remain too small and overlap when there are small gore angles. You can't effectively close a road because you can only indicate a closure for a few segment that you can normally route through from the segment you are on. You can't indicate the road is closed in the middle of the segment you are on.

As we are now nearing app version 3.8 with little apparent improvement, it seems to me that it makes little sense to continue to report closure interface issues in the client release threads or through the beta testing channels. Bugzilla continues to show that there are no bugs with the road closure feature. I fear the developers may think this is the case.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby foxitrot » Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:53 am

fvwazing wrote:But as soon as a Wazer leaves the proposed route a dialog could pop up (at the same moment the recalculation kicks in) asking if the deviation is a) caused by a closure b) caused by buildup of traffic ahead c) because of a maperror ...

I actually do remember having seen such dialog popping up, some year ago, when I've left the proposed route (because of traffic ahead). Around the time the closures were being introduced? Maybe Waze was thinking of it, then they abandoned the concept?
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7082
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2384 times
Been thanked: 1086 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby Daknife » Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:03 am

Post a permalink to the unlock forum asking someone to close it. Not as efficient as doing it yourself, but you can still get it closed and then reopened when needed.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby DerBenz » Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:41 pm

I have reported a road closed every day for almost 2 weeks before I started ignoring the route. It is still closed for construction (very long term) and it will still occasionally route me through that street. I would edit the segment on the map, but I no longer have edit rights (because I ignored a PM???)
DerBenz
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby CBenson » Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:16 pm

daknife wrote:Whereas a Major accident report, flags the problem area for the routing systems immediately.

Do we really have any indication that a major accident report has any effect on the routing at all?
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby Daknife » Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:55 am

Would not Major Accident, have been a better option? That is what I would have advised the user in response to the UR.
Particularly with how weak the Road Closure option is, needing multiple reports of the same closure by different people for it to take effect. Whereas a Major accident report, flags the problem area for the routing systems immediately.
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby khaytsus » Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:39 pm

Just to note, I had a UR today that someone tried to report a major accident that closed down an interstate and the only options they had for reporting was a ramp. They could not select the interstate to report as closed.
khaytsus
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Lexington, KY
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 84 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby kentsmith9 » Fri Feb 28, 2014 6:45 am

In the SF Bay area I have only seen it active on the road once for a one day temporary closure. Unfortunately it was closed on a part of the road that was open. :roll:
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5272
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1376 times
Been thanked: 1591 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby deeggo » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:08 pm

It's working somewhere between "very bad" and "working not at all" on INTL.
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4136
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 564 times
Been thanked: 587 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby bz2012 » Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:05 pm

Does anyone think that the current 'closure' reporting system is 'working well'?

If something doesn't work, ANYTHING different has a better chance of working than what is known not to work.

Of course, some small tweaks may well fix the problems. That is why I mentioned those I observed.

Perhaps we are just suggesting ideas that have been considered and discarded already, but someone just may come up with 'the solution'.
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1474
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1178 times
Been thanked: 274 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher