Road Closure discussion thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby DangerDaneDK » Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:09 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
CBenson wrote:when I selected the road closed feature, it still gave me options like I was on the prior block.

I'd post this in the feedback thread. This feature is still pretty buggy.


And I had that issue as well.

But I tried it the other day driving to a clients place. Once I had marked it as blocked it showed up, at least in my client as block for the most of the evening. When I dropped the client off roughly 4-5 hours later Waze had again removed it.

I just wish Waze would allow people, ie Map Editors level x or higher to mark a road as blocked, enter in a date where the road "should" be unblocked again and then the algoriphms would mark the road as blocked and route around it, right until that date and then automatically suspend the roadblock.... Unless the editor goes in and updates the date as the situation changes.

Its either that or the map editors marking the route as being one way only....
Flemming J., Denmark
Area Manager: Triangle Area, SEJ, Denmark
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 SMF-900, Android 4.4.2, Waze: Newest

ImageImage
DangerDaneDK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby orbitc » Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:18 pm

This morning I tried to mark a road with "construction" it wouldn't work. It would put a logo but road remains white. I also get an error.
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
• ßeta Tester
• iOS ßeta: Always the latest version
• WME ßeta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Master Raider
Master Raider
 
Posts: 5679
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1984 times
Been thanked: 4677 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby CBenson » Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:25 pm

In an effort to be able to reference all the available road closure information, I think it worth it to reference here this thread regarding the use of the road closure feature.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.3.0.1
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10087
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1004 times
Been thanked: 2239 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby foxitrot » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:13 am

Could please someone post a client screenshot of a successfully blocked road (if it is visually marked at all), or point me to one?
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new social Android 4.0.xx.yyy (OP-X LOL-a-popp).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6632
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1927 times
Been thanked: 873 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby bretmcvey » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:22 am

Here's an example (two views of the same closure)...
Image
Image
Plains Region Assistant Regional Coordinator
US Waze Champ | Country Manager: USA | State Manager: Nebraska
Image
bretmcvey
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:08 am
Location: Omaha, NE
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby foxitrot » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:28 am

Thanks.
Just... is it your view of the segment after reporting its closure, or does everyone see the closure this way after it being accepted by the servers?
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new social Android 4.0.xx.yyy (OP-X LOL-a-popp).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6632
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1927 times
Been thanked: 873 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby bretmcvey » Thu Mar 14, 2013 11:56 am

This just happened to be my view of the closure. I've yet to run into an instance of someone else reporting a closure. This particular one was given a "long term" status for closure due to the road being torn out completely for construction that will last months. It stayed visible to me longer than a few hours, but by the next day was no longer visible.
Plains Region Assistant Regional Coordinator
US Waze Champ | Country Manager: USA | State Manager: Nebraska
Image
bretmcvey
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:08 am
Location: Omaha, NE
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby jwkilgore » Thu Mar 14, 2013 3:51 pm

bretmcvey wrote:This just happened to be my view of the closure. I've yet to run into an instance of someone else reporting a closure. This particular one was given a "long term" status for closure due to the road being torn out completely for construction that will last months. It stayed visible to me longer than a few hours, but by the next day was no longer visible.

Something affected for "months" should be changed in the Editor.
Image
Jason Kilgore
iPhone 5c
Area Manager: Mississippi and Tennessee
jwkilgore
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby bretmcvey » Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:04 pm

Of course, I changed it thereafter. I merely drove by to verify the closure I'd heard via news reports.

I selected though what I felt was most representative of the situation which in this case was "long term"... and that didn't last 24 hours. That's the kind of thing that I could imagine would frustrate a new user if they have to repeatedly issue a closure report for a particular stretch.

This is more of a wishful thinking feature request, but if something is going to be closed for more than a few days and that type of timing status was selected in the user report filed in the client, it would then trigger a system error marker in the editor. From there area managers could take the necessary action and investigate what needs to be done to handle the road closure.
Plains Region Assistant Regional Coordinator
US Waze Champ | Country Manager: USA | State Manager: Nebraska
Image
bretmcvey
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:08 am
Location: Omaha, NE
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Road Closure discussion thread

Postby bretmcvey » Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:05 am

Has anyone had any success at attempting to close an interstate ramp or similar acute deviation from the route being traveled?

I made an attempt last week at a mapped weigh station with an exit ramp that was closed due to construction. The ramp's close "x" icon wasn't far enough apart from the interstate (forward) section. If I'd pressed the only closure x there in the diagram, it would have resulted in me submitting the interstate and not the ramp was close down.

The client may need to factor in shallow angles and better offset the buttons in those cases.
Plains Region Assistant Regional Coordinator
US Waze Champ | Country Manager: USA | State Manager: Nebraska
Image
bretmcvey
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:08 am
Location: Omaha, NE
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 63 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: agentstavros