No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:30 am

I've verified that the hack with three segments doesn't work either.

Parent segment: https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-121.9 ... s=71577185

Livemap route with nav addon shows no "stay right" at the triple junction: http://www.waze.com/livemap/?zoom=15&lo ... g=57805359
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19441
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 645 times
Been thanked: 2236 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Mar 07, 2013 2:29 am

CBenson wrote:But in that example, the name doesn't change. The entering segment has to have a different name from the exiting segment to get a turn instruction.

Good (potential) call. In many of these interchanges, we've always advocated no name segments except for the last important segment and the name and directions propagate back. I've unnamed the segments to see if that makes a difference. Will check Saturday.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19441
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 645 times
Been thanked: 2236 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:12 pm

CBenson wrote:My client is now giving a "Keep right to Montague Expy" instruction at that junction

Seems too early for my last update to have taken effect...
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19441
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 645 times
Been thanked: 2236 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:05 pm

kentsmith9 wrote:This function is still broken in Milpitas where it was functioning fine for me for months.

If these two segments are changed to No Name, it will work. And because segments farther down the route have the proper naming, drivers will be appropriately directed left/right based on their route.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19441
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 645 times
Been thanked: 2236 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:48 pm

kentsmith9 wrote:Either way it was working differently in the past and now it changed. We have to change our mapping to support the back end change.

I am not 100% convinced of this as the standard mapping procedure I've always employed the no-name segments in order to produce proper instructions at the appropriate places. And I have not seen it work when the interim segments were named. That being said, if it truly did work before with all segments being named, I can't explain why it doesn't now. Additionally, if the segments are all the same type and all three (parent+two child) segments have different names, my understanding is that it should always announce the two children. In fact, I hear it announce both names even when one of the names is the same as the parent. But perhaps ramps have been an exception? Dunno. Can't exactly explain it, and what you're saying, Kent, differs from my experience with these types of limited access interchanges.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19441
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 645 times
Been thanked: 2236 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby CBenson » Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:43 pm

Jhfrontz brought up this issue here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=38469
I thought it had always been like this, but I don't drive through a configuration like this often. The hacks to force an instruction are kind of ugly.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 977 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby CBenson » Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:49 pm

txemt wrote:Then, if THAT'S the case, why have the node there connecting those four junctions? Why not get rid of the nodes and have the two exit segments just cross each other without connecting them?

https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT

1) Typically only the off/on turn is restricted. In other words the on clover leaf ramp into the junction typically has both turns enabled to allow a clover U turn.
2) Most people seem to want the turn instruction there.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 977 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby CBenson » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:02 pm

Yes for this segment.
No for this segment because typically you don't restrict the right turn so as to allow the clover U.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 977 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby CBenson » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:21 pm

Agreed. I'm just pointing out you won't be routed that way without the junction.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 977 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby CBenson » Thu Mar 07, 2013 2:22 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I've verified that the hack with three segments doesn't work either.

Parent segment: https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-121.9 ... s=71577185

But in that example, the name doesn't change. The entering segment has to have a different name from the exiting segment to get a turn instruction.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 977 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users