No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby txemt » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:35 pm

So...why not just delete the node and have the roads cross without a node there? For the 0.01% of the drivers that need/want to make the "u-turn" they'll have to suffer through it and realize you can actually make the turn.
Just wazeting my time to help you waze your route smoothly.
txemt
 
Posts: 9544
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:03 pm
Location: 26.1901 80.3659
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1034 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby txemt » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:15 pm

CBenson wrote:No for this segment because typically you don't restrict the right turn so as to allow the clover U.


IMO, 99.9% of the drivers who take that cloverleaf aren't doing it to make a 180 degree turn. They're taking that part of the cloverleaf for the exit (road) that they need to take. I understand that there will be a small majority (I'm guilty of this thanks to stupid dispatchers) will take the cloverleaf to make the "u-turn."
Just wazeting my time to help you waze your route smoothly.
txemt
 
Posts: 9544
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:03 pm
Location: 26.1901 80.3659
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1034 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby txemt » Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:53 pm

CBenson wrote:
txemt wrote:Then, if THAT'S the case, why have the node there connecting those four junctions? Why not get rid of the nodes and have the two exit segments just cross each other without connecting them?

https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT

1) Typically only the off/on turn is restricted. In other words the on clover leaf ramp into the junction typically has both turns enabled to allow a clover U turn.


I get that, but by making the left "turn" restricted, aren't your pretty much creating a straight segment?
Just wazeting my time to help you waze your route smoothly.
txemt
 
Posts: 9544
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:03 pm
Location: 26.1901 80.3659
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1034 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby txemt » Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:10 pm

I have a question about that:

Since you're restricting one turn out of two possibilities, aren't you effectively creating a "straight road"? If that's the case, I'm wondering if Waze has changed something that goes along the lines of no instructions given for straight roads (like crossing a street and street names change).

Then, if THAT'S the case, why have the node there connecting those four junctions? Why not get rid of the nodes and have the two exit segments just cross each other without connecting them?

https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT
Just wazeting my time to help you waze your route smoothly.
txemt
 
Posts: 9544
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:03 pm
Location: 26.1901 80.3659
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1034 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby kentsmith9 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:05 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Can't exactly explain it, and what you're saying, Kent, differs from my experience with these types of limited access interchanges.

Yes I am confident the ramp directions were being announced (up until about the time of the new client) when all were named and they were typically all different names without any workarounds.
USA: California (Northern, SF/SJ)

ImageImageImageImageImageImage
PLEASE READ: Waze Map Editor (Start Here) | Editing Quick-start | Best Practices | Junctions
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 11104
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1485 times
Been thanked: 1691 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby kentsmith9 » Sat Mar 16, 2013 3:57 pm

CBenson wrote:
kentsmith9 wrote:I have two concerns with that proposal:

1. It was working fine for months. We should not have to update every segment on the map to adapt to changes to the back end that we don't even know were intentional. Ehud also mentioned we should not try to work around things that appear broken because they are constantly making changes that may or may not stay.

I'm obviously not familiar with the particular intersection, but it to me that way things are working now seem logical and straight-forward. So the current way thing are working doesn't really appear broken to me.

Either way it was working differently in the past and now it changed. We have to change our mapping to support the back end change. In principal that to me is a problem unless it was changed on purpose and improves some other issue, but I guess we will not know from Waze. As it is we set up freeway intersections like this due to other routing issues taking people off the freeway to follow the ramps just to get back on. Now we have to make another change to all those intersections around here when this routing fails. Currently this intersection is not giving guidance for taking the ramp off the freeway vs on the freeway. If the only option is to remove ramp names, how do we know that will not break yet something else in the future? I will have to admit this is getting pretty frustrating changing perfectly operating parts of the map, and that is what I heard Ehud say we should not be doing. :(

CBenson wrote:
kentsmith9 wrote:2. I am pretty sure that I found when you have unnamed segments, the turn by turn instructions on the client show "..." for those unnamed segments. I have personally experienced the problem and when trying to determine which route to take the turn by turn instructions left out major named turns, so I was not sure what route it was actually taking. After filling in all the segment names it worked fine.

On my client, the unnamed segments have no name in the navigation list as shown in the screen shot earlier in the thread. But the name of the next segment does show in the navigation bar and is spoken by the TTS when routing.

I will have to take a closer look at some routes that have this "..." issue again. I am pretty sure during the meetup bgodette saw this same issue when we were driving to San Francisco through areas I have not yet fixed by naming segments necessary for guidance. I will study more when I return from my travels out of the US for the next few weeks.
USA: California (Northern, SF/SJ)

ImageImageImageImageImageImage
PLEASE READ: Waze Map Editor (Start Here) | Editing Quick-start | Best Practices | Junctions
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 11104
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1485 times
Been thanked: 1691 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby kentsmith9 » Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:27 am

I have two concerns with that proposal:

1. It was working fine for months. We should not have to update every segment on the map to adapt to changes to the back end that we don't even know were intentional. Ehud also mentioned we should not try to work around things that appear broken because they are constantly making changes that may or may not stay.

2. I am pretty sure that I found when you have unnamed segments, the turn by turn instructions on the client show "..." for those unnamed segments. I have personally experienced the problem and when trying to determine which route to take the turn by turn instructions left out major named turns, so I was not sure what route it was actually taking. After filling in all the segment names it worked fine.
USA: California (Northern, SF/SJ)

ImageImageImageImageImageImage
PLEASE READ: Waze Map Editor (Start Here) | Editing Quick-start | Best Practices | Junctions
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 11104
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1485 times
Been thanked: 1691 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby kentsmith9 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:57 am

This function is still broken in Milpitas where it was functioning fine for me for months.

I am still not clear if we post these newly found problems into our problem list, a particular forum, or to Support. In this case I am not sure if we know if this is a client or back end issue. I assume back end.
USA: California (Northern, SF/SJ)

ImageImageImageImageImageImage
PLEASE READ: Waze Map Editor (Start Here) | Editing Quick-start | Best Practices | Junctions
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 11104
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1485 times
Been thanked: 1691 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby kentsmith9 » Sun Mar 10, 2013 6:13 am

Oh. You are just looking at the turn-by-turn instruction on the client from a selected point. I do that all the time to check for alternate routes, but never thought about it for this. :oops: :lol:
USA: California (Northern, SF/SJ)

ImageImageImageImageImageImage
PLEASE READ: Waze Map Editor (Start Here) | Editing Quick-start | Best Practices | Junctions
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 11104
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1485 times
Been thanked: 1691 times

Re: No client turn instruction with only enabled turn of 2+

Postby kentsmith9 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:45 am

CBenson wrote:All I can say is that my client did not show the keep right instruction yesterday.

Are you out here in CA currently, or using a GPS location alteration app?
USA: California (Northern, SF/SJ)

ImageImageImageImageImageImage
PLEASE READ: Waze Map Editor (Start Here) | Editing Quick-start | Best Practices | Junctions
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 11104
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1485 times
Been thanked: 1691 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]