Gas updates not going through

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby TheDane » Sat May 04, 2013 7:50 am

Also a problem on the international server - both gas price reporting and connection issues...
TheDane
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:35 am
Location: Denmark / World server
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby AtomicNomad » Sat May 04, 2013 10:16 am

There MUST be more people with this issue....
This is a quite post; Maybe we're the only ones
Reporting gas
Image
St. Johnsbury, Vt Area Manager
AtomicNomad
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:44 pm
Location: Vermont, USA,
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby iainhouse » Sat May 04, 2013 12:35 pm

TheDane wrote:Also a problem on the international server - both gas price reporting and connection issues...


If it's happening on INTL today, that's probably a new thing. I've successfully updated prices at several stations this week - the last one was at about 18:00 UTC last night.
UK Country Administrator
AM: London (DELETED)
Waze 3.7.3 • iPhone 4S (iOS 6.1.3) • Chrome/W7x64
ImageImageImage
UK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 6969
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity
Has thanked: 1138 times
Been thanked: 3907 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sat May 04, 2013 8:46 pm

US west coast I entered gas prices over the last couple of days, but they are spread out enough I may not be able to experience the same issue.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1085 times
Been thanked: 4610 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby wiredcell » Sun May 05, 2013 12:03 am

I have the same problem too. I can do up to 4. Then it says sending update. I drive a little more and I can do another 4. It sucks when you go through a bigger city. You miss a lot.

I got bronze in Texas by just driving and gas station reporting (4300 miles). So it's important to me.

And it started when everyone else noticed it too
wiredcell
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby CrackedLCD » Sun May 05, 2013 7:35 am

I'm not seeing four, but five prices, then a five minute delay before I can do it again.

I've gone from reporting (or fixing 3rd party prices) at 20-60 stations a day to just a handful because it's so frustrating.

Do they want us to report prices, or not?
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

Moto Droid Turbo (Android 5.1) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun May 05, 2013 3:13 pm

Waze HQ has acknowledged they know about this situation. They have this thread, so if they have any feedback, they will provide it directly.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1085 times
Been thanked: 4610 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby AtomicNomad » Tue May 07, 2013 11:04 am

Just received this from waze in an email about some missing points. I also asked about the gas reporting "issue" and this was their reply
"About the gas station reporting, you can update 5 prices every 10 minutes."
Image
St. Johnsbury, Vt Area Manager
AtomicNomad
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:44 pm
Location: Vermont, USA,
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue May 07, 2013 6:55 pm

Well, I sure wish they had acknowledged it directly in this thread. That information from AtomicNomad which was received via email is what we have been advised. Similar to there being a limit on road reports, the limit for gas price updates was put in place after several cases of abuse of the feature for "points-farming". The app will have a notification about this in the future.

Waze feels that this limit is appropriate for most places, with the exception of some locations which may have 6-8 stations within a mile. However, because Waze expects that drivers are not driving and updating at the same time, it is nearly impossible to stop at 5 stations within 10 minutes. So, this is also, IMO, a feature which assumes drivers are behaving responsibly.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1085 times
Been thanked: 4610 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby orbitc » Tue May 07, 2013 7:17 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Well, I sure wish they had acknowledged it directly in this thread. That information from AtomicNomad which was received via email is what we have been advised. Similar to there being a limit on road reports, the limit for gas price updates was put in place after several cases of abuse of the feature for "points-farming". The app will have a notification about this in the future.

Waze feels that this limit is appropriate for most places, with the exception of some locations which may have 6-8 stations within a mile. However, because Waze expects that drivers are not driving and updating at the same time, it is nearly impossible to stop at 5 stations within 10 minutes. So, this is also, IMO, a feature which assumes drivers are behaving responsibly.


Related to this issue, I would think it would be better if after 5 road reports, you no longer receive points. Until, however many minutes needed to pass to receive points again. This will reduce those abuse and increase those are real.
It's easy to reach 5 reports quickly in NJ traveling on GSP within 5 minutes or miles.

Edited
Last edited by orbitc on Tue May 07, 2013 7:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
• ßeta Tester
• iOS ßeta: Always the latest version
• WME ßeta

Image
WME | USA | MapRaid!
orbitc
Master Raider
Master Raider
 
Posts: 5786
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 2075 times
Been thanked: 4762 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users