Gas updates not going through

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby Edici01 » Tue May 07, 2013 7:39 pm

I checked the 5 stations in 10 minutes this morning. It is now behaving that way. It appears each station update has it's own 10 minute limit. For example:

Station 1 update 09:00
Station 2 update 09:00
Station 3 update 09:06
Station 4 update 09:06
Station 5 update 09:09

At 09:10, you will be able to update two more stations, 09:16, two more, and 09:19, one more, etc. If I'm wrong, sorry, but I didn't start writing down actual times when I started my commute this morning. Just appears that is how the updates work now.

My back road commute to work each day is 28 miles and I pass 28 gas stations. Now I can only update/verify about 10 of them.

If Waze wants to prevent 'point farming', make the points apply ONLY when you update a new price and not when a price is confirmated. That would also prevent the 'sending update' stuck state from displaying. And I agree with AlanOfTheBerg in that Waze should have updated us in this thread or at least a new informational forum post.
Edici01
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue May 07, 2013 8:04 pm

I have also made other suggestions to Waze in terms of things like reducing points for after x reports in y time instead of 0, and also reducing or eliminating points for confirmations. I am sure this will mature a little over time and we'll get to a more optimal state.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby AtomicNomad » Tue May 07, 2013 11:25 pm

I think waze already cuts report points after multiple reports.
back in march, while hauling up i89 N, I came up on an accident with
Traffic quickly backing up; so I reported "heavey traffic."
A few minutes later waze popped up and asked if I was in a stand still, which by that time I was.
I selected "yes" and waze put out their own update while crediting me with three
Points.
I guess based on what your saying there Alan, I got three points because waze reported it?
I thought maybe I had hit a time or distance limit.
Last edited by AtomicNomad on Wed May 08, 2013 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
St. Johnsbury, Vt Area Manager
AtomicNomad
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:44 pm
Location: Vermont, USA,
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby orbitc » Tue May 07, 2013 11:37 pm

AtomicNomad wrote:I think waze already cuts report points after multiple reports.
back in march, while hauling up i89 N, I came up on an accident with
Traffic quickly backing up; so I reported "heavey traffic."
A few minutes later waze popped up and asked if I was in a stand still, which by that time I was.
I selected "yes" and waze put out their own update while crediting me with three
Points.
I guess based on what your saying there Allen, I got three points because waze reported it?
I thought maybe I had hit a time or distance limit.


I believe, you get 5 or 6 reports @ 6 points... beyond that you would NOT be able to report until some time passes.
If you do too many reports too soon, you will get this message:

    Sorry, you've exceeded the number reports that can be sent by a single user in a short time-frame. Please try again later.

in addition, -please correct me if I'm wrong- you'll get 3 points if you report the same report back to back.
Let's say you saw an accident and reported: 6 pts, little bit further, you saw another one and reported again 3 pts this time.
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
• ßeta Tester
• iOS ßeta: Always the latest version
• WME ßeta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Master Raider
Master Raider
 
Posts: 5633
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1952 times
Been thanked: 4448 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby davipt » Tue May 07, 2013 11:44 pm

Let me just get one thing straight - 5 stations in 10 minutes? and when one tries the 6th, the client gives 0 points, gives an error, or hangs on the sending spinner? Because today I got the spinner but I'm sure it was network, as the drive was surely not 10 minutes long. My point is that I hope the 6th will return an error or 0 points, never hang on the spinner, because hanging spinners are bad bad bad and it's already enough when there is no network or when the backends are slow and the spinner stays there forever and one needs to restart the client.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2731
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 553 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby orbitc » Tue May 07, 2013 11:53 pm

davipt wrote:Let me just get one thing straight - 5 stations in 10 minutes? and when one tries the 6th, the client gives 0 points, gives an error, or hangs on the sending spinner? Because today I got the spinner but I'm sure it was network, as the drive was surely not 10 minutes long. My point is that I hope the 6th will return an error or 0 points, never hang on the spinner, because hanging spinners are bad bad bad and it's already enough when there is no network or when the backends are slow and the spinner stays there forever and one needs to restart the client.


I had a similar situation on the first gas station. It said no network. I was getting gas, and when I'm done with gas I tried one last time and it worked???
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
• ßeta Tester
• iOS ßeta: Always the latest version
• WME ßeta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Master Raider
Master Raider
 
Posts: 5633
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1952 times
Been thanked: 4448 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby AtomicNomad » Wed May 08, 2013 12:24 am

you'll get 3 points if you report the same report back to back.


Which is basically what happened; Thanks for the heads up!

My point is that I hope the 6th will return an error or 0 points

Ditto that! On the other hand, sometimes I can count to 5! :lol:
Image
St. Johnsbury, Vt Area Manager
AtomicNomad
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:44 pm
Location: Vermont, USA,
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby SocalToe » Fri May 10, 2013 1:04 am

I just managed to update some prices...........

:shock:
Ed
SocalToe
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby mikesellshouses » Fri May 10, 2013 1:22 pm

The problem isn't amount of stations in 10 min. The problem is sometimes you can't update a particular gas station.
Mike
Area Manager: Pittsburgh, PA
mikesellshouses
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: Fox Chapel, PA
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Gas updates not going through

Postby apcastig » Sat May 11, 2013 6:27 am

STILL... Not working in So. California either... This 'feature' is turning into a Safety Issue.

What gives...? I have lost now over 400 Gas Price Updates = 3,200 points!!!

How do you get those points added? I did my part, Waze you owe us,right? ;^)

Very frustrating.... CHEERS!!!
apcastig
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alan666notb, Baidu [Spider], ColinHeffleySpeedy, RussPA