BUG? - Roads

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: BUG? - Roads

Postby zCougar » Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:59 am

briandb1222 wrote:For icon hopping, yeah. I've noticed if the segment is short I'll hop to the next street over. Also, if I'm driving in a parking lot where roads aren't mapped out too (though, you could add in parking lot roads in the cartouche...but that would take a ton of time to through and do all that...but it be cool), it would hop to the nearest road as well (the nearest one visible on the screen). Those to me seem like bugs. I have a TomTom Car Kit so I know it isn't reception issues, because that will enhance my GPS on the iPhone even when it pretty bad weather conditions.


I don't know exact parameters but I see that Waze algorithm uses fuzzy direction and connection matching. Look at roadmap_fuzzy.c for more information. In case of icon hopping you need to go to Cartouche and add tehse new roads. If you look at archive then all those segments are RED which usually shows "BAD_MERGE_TRACE_TOO_FAR" in this case. Just click "Create new road from this segment" and put it to the map (check direction and allowed turns too). This is the place where Cartouche needs to be used to fix it.

--
Cougar
Image
Waze 4.18.0.0: Nexus 4 | | Nexus 6P
CM@Estonia / WME beta tester / Android beta tester
PALUN LOE: Waze eestikeelne juhend wikis
zCougar
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Estonia
Has thanked: 233 times
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: BUG? - Roads

Postby woodvale » Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:15 am

I drive along this road almost every week, but when it came into view on the client last night, it had reverted to unconfirmed.

Also spotted this one had reverted, even though I confirmed it two weeks ago, and added the second segment only last week.
John
woodvale UK Champ, UK CM, AM City and South London, Jamaica WI
Latest Waze on Galaxy S7 Android 7.0
Waze FAQ UK Wazeopedia UK Forum
ImageImageImage
woodvale
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2752
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:54 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Has thanked: 572 times
Been thanked: 866 times

Re: BUG? - Roads

Postby waynemcdougall » Tue Sep 14, 2010 6:17 am

Hoskins Avenue is one that has reverted back to being unconfirmed.

http://world.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=5 ... FTFFFFTTTT

Note that I have recently driven up half its length and saw Pacman but did not drive the full length.

Locke Avenue and Noton Road both reverted to uncomfirmed but I have since driven over them and they have gone back to confirmed. I may have edited Noton Road (in April) but it didn't change back to unconfirmed until August.

http://world.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=5 ... FTFFFFTTTT

Sylvester Road is also in that same group and is showing unconfirmed. Can't swear that I ever drove over it though. Thought I had.
Waze User Manuals, Map Editing guide and support at http://www.waze.com/wiki
Wayne McDougall
Make Friends with me on Facebook and we'll compete against each other on the Scoreboard
http://www.facebook.com/wayne.w.mcdougall
waynemcdougall
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:59 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: BUG? - Roads

Postby waynemcdougall » Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:55 am

I'll just add that I think roads going back to unconfirmed after a while has benefits besides just points.

Roads can close. They can have speed restrictions put in place. In other words, by gently encouraging us to redrive some roads, we get better speed information, and confirmation that wasn't just a temporary bypass during road construction.

Of course it could just be a bug. ;-)
Waze User Manuals, Map Editing guide and support at http://www.waze.com/wiki
Wayne McDougall
Make Friends with me on Facebook and we'll compete against each other on the Scoreboard
http://www.facebook.com/wayne.w.mcdougall
waynemcdougall
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:59 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: BUG? - Roads

Postby waynemcdougall » Mon Sep 13, 2010 1:11 am

1. It is my opinion, from observation, that roads do reset to being Pacman, unconfirmed state roads after a period of time of not being driven upon.I'm estimating about 3 months.

I can only see this as a good thing.

2. In terms of middle road segments not being driven upon, I've seen this and invariably the cause has been:
a) that road segment isn't exactly mapped to where it shoudl be...ie the GPS and the plotted map location are incorrect, or
b) there are two roads (or segments) or overlapping segments. You're driving on the road segment below the one you can see on the map
c) it's an area of poor GPS coverage combined with a badly located or very short segment. Waze never gets notified that you are on that segment before you're on to the next

All of these things should be looked at and fixed in Cartouche. If it's a very short segment that isn't actually segemnted by intersections, I'd remove the pseudo junctions to join the road segments. This will also help you identify any road sitting on top of another road.

Happy to look at it closer with a Permalink
Waze User Manuals, Map Editing guide and support at http://www.waze.com/wiki
Wayne McDougall
Make Friends with me on Facebook and we'll compete against each other on the Scoreboard
http://www.facebook.com/wayne.w.mcdougall
waynemcdougall
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:59 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: BUG? - Roads

Postby wampcia » Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:52 am

https://www.waze.com/pl/editor/?lon=19. ... =194952864.

Thanks for delete previous fragment, but this is bugged too, please delete it.
TIA
Fuck you waze motherfuckers !
wampcia
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: BUG? - Roads

Postby wampcia » Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:00 pm

https://www.waze.com/pl/editor/?lon=19. ... =191122047

Can not delete, connect this road /s. Please delete bugged content
Fuck you waze motherfuckers !
wampcia
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: BUG? - Roads

Postby support » Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:19 pm

Hi guys,

Can you please provide us a permalink to those roads,
so we can check it.

Levon
Support team
Image
support
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: BUG? - Roads

Postby petervdveen » Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:52 am

It looks okey now.
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 10155
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 611 times
Been thanked: 1452 times

Re: BUG? - Roads

Postby mhoppes » Mon Sep 13, 2010 1:05 pm

I'll have to find the location and mark it next time I see it happen.

I agree that roads reverting to 'undriven' is a good thing, the odd part was this road was only undriven by me for a period of 2 weeks, not 3 months.
mhoppes
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:27 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher