Support please respond: language bug?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Support please respond: language bug?

Postby BrutusNL » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:45 pm

Today I wanted to have a look at te groups I joined. I pressed the little triangle on the right and than selected Groups. Look what happened:
Image
I don't know the language but it looks eastern European. Both language and prompts in the client are set to English. Is this a bug or could this have to do with some weird glitch in determining where in the world I am? GPS and network were both working properly.
BrutusNL
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Support please respond: language bug?

Postby addrian20 » Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:18 pm

HTC Legend with 2.1 custom ROM. The locale and everything is set in English.
It's working fine now anyway.
Area Manager for Constanta, Romania
addrian20
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:28 pm
Location: Constanta, Romania
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Support please respond: language bug?

Postby addrian20 » Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:00 am

I have the same problem and using the latest Android client from the market. It worked fine 3 days ago when I joined some groups. Now it's Polish or Slovak.
Area Manager for Constanta, Romania
addrian20
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:28 pm
Location: Constanta, Romania
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Previous

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users