Traffic routing algorithm

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby WranglerSport14 » Thu May 15, 2014 3:40 pm

I think there is a law that requires everyone in the greater DC area to sit in traffic. It is illegal to re-route around it....
WranglerSport14
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:53 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby tgp1994 » Thu May 01, 2014 10:41 pm

I would sort of like to know this, too. I've been "training" Waze two different routes that I take to work. One is faster, according to Waze, by time, but is subject to getting backed up. Multiple times there have been traffic jams where Waze decides it wants to plow through it instead of taking the clear route.
Waze is a wonderful app, but your safety and the safety of the drivers around you comes first!
tgp1994
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby Superfraggle » Fri May 02, 2014 4:37 pm

You shouldn't have to do it. It may be worth raising a support ticket with waze to see if there were any known issues.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
ImageImage
Superfraggle
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:21 pm
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 113 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby Superfraggle » Fri May 02, 2014 12:47 am

Well as far as I know, waze will only know about traffic/slow roads.

If either, a) its always slow at the time, and wazers have travelled through it, or b) There are active wazers on the road at the time.

With regards to re-routing, as I understand it, the app will effectively check your route periodically to see if there are any issues. What I am not sure of, is if this is prompted by traffic on your route or if it just requests the same route every 5 minutes and provides any updates if the routing servers provide a different one, some of this information is kept "classified" shall we say to ensure wazes product secrets. But hopefully one of the champs may know.

Now as you said in the first case there were users reporting stuff, but was there any in the "traffic" if so we know that wasn't the issue, I've seen this before and if I request the route manually it does change, so it may be a client issue. Of course other issues can be if you have no network, the client will not be able to check/update your route. If there are issues with the routing server.

Otherwise its possible despite users on the road, there may have been none in the traffic so waze just didn't know. Some people when they see the traffic will take their own route - As you did, however in this case waze will no longer know the road is slow. To work effectively, waze always requires at least one person to "take one for the team"

Perhaps one of the champs can comment though as they know far more...
ImageImage
Superfraggle
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:21 pm
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 113 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby ScottZane » Wed May 14, 2014 1:03 am

I'm not sure what the rhyme or reason is either, but I've generally found that Waze will automatically re-route me if it finds another route that is 5+ minutes quicker. When it does so automatically, it has been a wonderful feature.

As CBenson suggested, I will regularly ask Waze for alternate routes - especially during afternoon commutes. It's really not that big a deal. It only takes a few screen touches to make it happen anyway.
Image
ScottZane
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:01 am
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby rkb321 » Fri May 16, 2014 11:55 am

I was unaware that I could ask Waze for an alternate route, maybe that'll do it. I'll look for that on the app and figure it out. Thanks!
rkb321
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby rkb321 » Fri May 09, 2014 3:26 pm

There doesn't seem to be a mechanism to open a trouble ticket (as is the case with a lot of companies, these days :? ), so I guess at some point, I'll have to decide whether or not it makes sense to use Waze anymore. Since they seem to be getting their revenue through on-screen ads, maybe someone of importance is listening and prepared engage in this discussion ... although I doubt it ...

Color me, disappointed :roll:
rkb321
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby rkb321 » Fri May 02, 2014 3:22 pm

In my trip between DC & Richmond, there were lots (and lots, and lots) of Wazers reporting the traffic that we were all in. I assumed Waze would re-route me, so I didn't bother hopping over to Rte 1. It was frustrating to see that, by all accounts, Waze probably should have moved me over to Rte 1 hours earlier, but didn't. Next time, I'll pay more attention to alternate routes manually ... of course, that's how I use Google Maps, so maybe I'll just drop Waze for that if I'm gonna have to manually adjust my route anyway.
rkb321
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Traffic routing algorithm

Postby rkb321 » Thu May 01, 2014 8:42 pm

In the past, Waze has very deftly routed me around bad traffic, but it doesn't always do it. I read a few posts that talked about the inaccuracy of routing users around traffic jams and several of them seemed to assume that maybe the jam just wasn't bad enough to capture Waze's attention. But I was in traffic from south of Washington DC to Richmond a few weeks ago that is normally a 90-100 minute drive that took me 5+ hours. Clearly, that jam should have been identified (there were tons of Wazers on the road with me and reporting that day) and I should have been re-routed. At one point, I finally hopped over to Rte 1 and it was clear sailing the rest of the way. So my question is: what algorithm is used to determine whether or not I should be re-routed to another road and what setting do I need to use, to get that activated.
rkb321
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby nzahn1 » Fri May 09, 2014 3:41 pm

You can open a support ticket by continuing to ask questions and clicking links until the support page gives you an option to send a message. Just keep clicking!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ImageImageImageImage
Rank 6 | US Local Champ | Maryland SM | WME Beta | iOS Beta
WME Profile E-Mail MD Twitter MDForum MDWiki Welcome!
nzahn1
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1334
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA (SM)
Has thanked: 702 times
Been thanked: 747 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]