Traffic routing algorithm

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Traffic routing algorithm

Postby rkb321 » Thu May 01, 2014 8:42 pm

In the past, Waze has very deftly routed me around bad traffic, but it doesn't always do it. I read a few posts that talked about the inaccuracy of routing users around traffic jams and several of them seemed to assume that maybe the jam just wasn't bad enough to capture Waze's attention. But I was in traffic from south of Washington DC to Richmond a few weeks ago that is normally a 90-100 minute drive that took me 5+ hours. Clearly, that jam should have been identified (there were tons of Wazers on the road with me and reporting that day) and I should have been re-routed. At one point, I finally hopped over to Rte 1 and it was clear sailing the rest of the way. So my question is: what algorithm is used to determine whether or not I should be re-routed to another road and what setting do I need to use, to get that activated.
rkb321
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby CBenson » Fri May 16, 2014 12:04 pm

The routes button in the initial destination box or the routes button in the main menu when you have a route selected provide alternative routes.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby rkb321 » Fri May 16, 2014 11:55 am

I was unaware that I could ask Waze for an alternate route, maybe that'll do it. I'll look for that on the app and figure it out. Thanks!
rkb321
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby CBenson » Thu May 15, 2014 4:10 pm

Waze is pretty good at keeping me from sitting in DC traffic. I don't cross the Potomac, so there are plenty of alternative routes to get me downtown. Today it took an hour to get from the beltway to essentially the convention center. But waze rerouted me at least three times and never had me sitting in stopped traffic.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby WranglerSport14 » Thu May 15, 2014 3:40 pm

I think there is a law that requires everyone in the greater DC area to sit in traffic. It is illegal to re-route around it....
WranglerSport14
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:53 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby ScottZane » Wed May 14, 2014 1:03 am

I'm not sure what the rhyme or reason is either, but I've generally found that Waze will automatically re-route me if it finds another route that is 5+ minutes quicker. When it does so automatically, it has been a wonderful feature.

As CBenson suggested, I will regularly ask Waze for alternate routes - especially during afternoon commutes. It's really not that big a deal. It only takes a few screen touches to make it happen anyway.
ScottZane
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:01 am
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby CBenson » Fri May 09, 2014 5:46 pm

Its been awhile since I've been in bad traffic and waze has not rerouted me. When I'm being routed through heavy traffic and I think there may be a better route, I will ask waze manually for alternative routes. If the request times out, then I figure that waze is not updating with the best routes.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby nzahn1 » Fri May 09, 2014 3:41 pm

You can open a support ticket by continuing to ask questions and clicking links until the support page gives you an option to send a message. Just keep clicking!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
nzahn1
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA (SM)
Has thanked: 622 times
Been thanked: 558 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby rkb321 » Fri May 09, 2014 3:26 pm

There doesn't seem to be a mechanism to open a trouble ticket (as is the case with a lot of companies, these days :? ), so I guess at some point, I'll have to decide whether or not it makes sense to use Waze anymore. Since they seem to be getting their revenue through on-screen ads, maybe someone of importance is listening and prepared engage in this discussion ... although I doubt it ...

Color me, disappointed :roll:
rkb321
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby Superfraggle » Fri May 02, 2014 4:37 pm

You shouldn't have to do it. It may be worth raising a support ticket with waze to see if there were any known issues.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Superfraggle
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:21 pm
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]