Traffic routing algorithm

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby CBenson » Fri May 16, 2014 12:04 pm

The routes button in the initial destination box or the routes button in the main menu when you have a route selected provide alternative routes.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby CBenson » Thu May 15, 2014 4:10 pm

Waze is pretty good at keeping me from sitting in DC traffic. I don't cross the Potomac, so there are plenty of alternative routes to get me downtown. Today it took an hour to get from the beltway to essentially the convention center. But waze rerouted me at least three times and never had me sitting in stopped traffic.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Traffic routing algorithm

Postby CBenson » Fri May 09, 2014 5:46 pm

Its been awhile since I've been in bad traffic and waze has not rerouted me. When I'm being routed through heavy traffic and I think there may be a better route, I will ask waze manually for alternative routes. If the request times out, then I figure that waze is not updating with the best routes.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Previous

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot]