Gas stations and TTS enabled

Image

Moderators: MapSir, Unholy, kazmuth, SpeedDzel

Re: Gas stations and TTS enabled

Postby MapSir » Thu May 01, 2014 2:26 pm

As I said, it's a known bug, sometimes the menu will appear and sometimes it won't.
Restarting the app might help but we're working on a fix.

Thanks.
MapSir
MapSir
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1662
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7547 times

Re: Gas stations and TTS enabled

Postby MapSir » Thu May 01, 2014 2:03 pm

Hi,

The issue with the settings menu is a known bug which we are working on, no ETA on a fix yet.

The TTS voices take some time to appear, try restarting the app a few times, you also need good GPS cover and data connection.

Thanks a lot for the feedback, if you have any other questions please see our support page,
we uploaded many manuals and instructions that might help.

www.waze.com/support
MapSir
MapSir
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1662
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7547 times

Gas stations and TTS enabled

Postby MapSir » Thu May 01, 2014 9:10 am

Hi All,

We are very happy to announce that we enabled two important features for the drivers in the Philippines - Gas stations and TTS (text to speech) !!!

The Gas stations feature will allow drivers to update gas prices for stations nearby, providing the community of drivers the most accurate prices and let them filter stations by price from the settings menu.
To update the price at a station open the reports menu and select the Gas Prices icon.

The TTS is an audio feature that uses the street names in voice navigation.
Please see our manual for enabling the feature and play with the settings:
https://www.waze.com/en-GB/support/answer?q=23583426

We would be happy to hear your feedback!

Enjoy :)
MapSir
MapSir
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1662
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7547 times

Re: Gas stations and TTS enabled

Postby kazmuth » Thu May 08, 2014 1:49 pm

Re-posting this workaround to get TTS to work;

In case you are having problems with TTS voice Samantha not appearing, I have a workaround that worked for me (iOS):
1) uninstall waze
2) re-install waze then open it
3) DON'T ALLOW LOCATION ACCESS; also DON'T LOGIN yet, instead use Temporary user or leave username blank
4) when asked for location choose UNITED STATES
5) click Settings > Sound> 'Samantha including street names' appears, check it
6) close waze then go to your iOS settings> privacy > location services > switch on for waze
7) open waze then login your old username

For Android, just log out and log in again
Waze Philippines Country Manager/ Global Champ / Coordinator
ImageImage
Join the Philippine Waze Users Facebook group
kazmuth
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:10 am
Location: Pasig, Philippines
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 278 times

Re: Gas stations and TTS enabled

Postby kazmuth » Thu May 08, 2014 1:49 am

Join the FB group in my signature, I have a sample video there where I drove through streets with English and Filipino names.
Waze Philippines Country Manager/ Global Champ / Coordinator
ImageImage
Join the Philippine Waze Users Facebook group
kazmuth
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:10 am
Location: Pasig, Philippines
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 278 times

Re: Gas stations and TTS enabled

Postby cryptmaster » Thu May 01, 2014 2:58 pm

Thank you for clarifying the issues. It's good to know that I am not just seeing things. :lol:

Looking forward for the permanent bug fixes.

More power to you and the rest of the Waze Team!
cryptmaster
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:57 am
Location: Philippines
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas stations and TTS enabled

Postby cryptmaster » Thu May 01, 2014 12:08 pm

Thanks for activating the Gas Stations and TTS using street names feature. This is very much appreciated by the Waze users here in the Philippines. I have a couple of feedback though.

I am an Adroid user running the latest Waze version Release 3.7.8.0.

1. The Gas Stations & Prices menu on settings menu seems to sometimes disappear. Restarting the application a couple time fixes this. Any ideas why this is happening?
2. For the TTS using street names feature, the voices of Tom and Samantha are not on my list. How can this be resolved?

Thanks and looking forward for your thoughts on the items I have mentioned above.

Phone Specs:
Model Number: GT-N7100 (Note 2)
Android Version: 4.3
Kernel Version: 3.0.31-2437454
Waze Version: Release 3.7.8.0
Waze Username: cryptmaster
cryptmaster
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:57 am
Location: Philippines
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas stations and TTS enabled

Postby calvinflores » Sat Jul 12, 2014 3:23 am

MapSir wrote:
The TTS voices take some time to appear, try restarting the app a few times, you also need good GPS cover and data connection.

t


Hi Sir,

What do you mean by it "take some time to appear"? I've restarted my phone & app countless times but never showed up on my sound menu.. The soccer announcers did come up but none of those who read street names..

Please help.. Thanks!
Thanks,

Calvin P. Flores
calvinflores
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:04 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas stations and TTS enabled

Postby bgaltman » Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:08 am

Thanks also to bgaltman for sharing in detail the procedure for android kitkat.

How about for an android 4.2.2 Jellybean device, does any one knows how?

Please! Thanks in advance.


Unfortunately, the work-around does not work for the latest version of Waze (version 3.8.0.0).
Join the Waze Philippines FB Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/WazePhilippines/
Image
bgaltman
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:22 am
Location: Parañaque
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Gas stations and TTS enabled

Postby bgaltman » Wed Jun 18, 2014 2:05 pm

IMPORTANT UPDATE:

This workaround does not seem to work for Waze App version 3.8.0.0!
Join the Waze Philippines FB Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/WazePhilippines/
Image
bgaltman
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:22 am
Location: Parañaque
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 3 times

PreviousNext

Return to Philippines

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users