Burlington Skyway restrictions

Moderators: MapSir, hmarian, doctorkb, manoeuvre, Canada Champs

Re: Burlington Skyway restrictions

Postby manoeuvre » Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:58 pm

ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Canadian Country Manager | Greater Toronto Area Manager | @Waze_Canada
manoeuvre
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 911 times
Been thanked: 2132 times

Re: Burlington Skyway restrictions

Postby manoeuvre » Sat Aug 02, 2014 3:29 am

I agree with hmarian, at this point anyone making travel plans to Toronto will already know about the Skyway Closure. I'm pretty certain every single electronic highway sign going toward that closure is letting drivers know where it is closed and how to detour.

I don't think we should make WME changes at this time.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Canadian Country Manager | Greater Toronto Area Manager | @Waze_Canada
manoeuvre
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 911 times
Been thanked: 2132 times

Re: Burlington Skyway restrictions

Postby manoeuvre » Fri Aug 01, 2014 11:34 pm

The tile update schedule is just not reliable enough to close such a high-valued freeway. Lets say the road is open on Monday, we could have a delay of up to a week before the tiles update.

I'd prefer if we had back-end access like what they do with Waze Mega Events or feedthewaze. So we can add/remove road closures in real-time. Possibly with the option of where if multiple wazers drive through the entire segment the closure is lifted.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Canadian Country Manager | Greater Toronto Area Manager | @Waze_Canada
manoeuvre
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 911 times
Been thanked: 2132 times

Re: Burlington Skyway restrictions

Postby manoeuvre » Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:13 am

It's such a fluid situation in my opinion, we don't know how long the bridge will be closed.

If so many wazers are really affected by this closure, it's more important than ever they use that 'Closure' feature. I personally have used the closure feature on the skybridge; but because it's a level 5 segment with high level of activity, it's going to take a lot more users using the 'Closure' feature for it to appear on the Live Maps & other wazers' clients.

https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=41598

https://i.imgur.com/ItZowuf.png
https://i.imgur.com/PAiFS6f.png
https://i.imgur.com/8feWeOV.png

https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 81#p837081

@hmarian has also suggested that closing freeways may affect routing for long-distance wazers.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Canadian Country Manager | Greater Toronto Area Manager | @Waze_Canada
manoeuvre
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 911 times
Been thanked: 2132 times

Re: Burlington Skyway restrictions

Postby invented » Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:21 am

hmarian wrote:MTO and OPP don't know when the bridge is going to be opened.
At this point Monday is the best guess, but this may get pushed again, who knows?
It's not opening Monday. Have you seen the overhead pictures?
I looked at the segments on the Toronto Bound QEW several times today and the backed up traffic was showing very well on Livemap and affected routing in the area, which tells me that either Wazers reported closures from the App or once a few of them got sucked in traffic it sent the information to Waze and the routing server started suggest alternate routes around the bridge.
The exit to Eastport Dr is right adjacent to the affected span. That's where the traffic is heading. Waze would be telling users to go across the closed span because of all the traffic that is now on Eastport Dr, when the app closures expire.
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Burlington Skyway restrictions

Postby invented » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:46 pm

doctorkb wrote:
invented wrote:I just tried to route over that way and it's telling me to go on the (closed) skyway segment, obviously now because no traffic is being reported on it compared to the crammed Eastport Dr. Closures reported in the app are not permanent functions; they expire. One can start a route from points east of this closure, and when it's not currently set, it will give them a wildly inaccurate ETA. I say put on restrictions or disconnect the segment until we have a firm date of re-opening.


Unless it's VERY serious and VERY long term, please don't disconnect. That's the old way of doing things.

Certainly put a restriction on, however.

We'll be updating this process to be similar to the US's (basically a back-end access to close roads that looks similar on the client to when they're closed by client reports -- they'll have the construction barricade icon, etc.) in the next few weeks -- we can specify durations . Stay tuned! :)

The twin structures carry about a 150,000+ AADT and one of them is shut down. It is quite serious, but the duration of the closure is so far unknown (at least the weekend, maybe for a few weeks to come).
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Burlington Skyway restrictions

Postby invented » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:29 pm

I just tried to route over that way and it's telling me to go on the (closed) skyway segment, obviously now because no traffic is being reported on it compared to the crammed Eastport Dr. Closures reported in the app are not permanent functions; they expire. And the road closure feature is not commonly used, one because it's hidden one swipe over on the report menu, two because it's completely useless on long-term projects, and three because it's very difficult to use when moving. One can start a route from points east of this closure, and when it's not currently set, it will give them a wildly inaccurate ETA. I say put on restrictions or disconnect the segment until we have a firm date of re-opening.
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Burlington Skyway restrictions

Postby invented » Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:03 am

Might be wise to add a travel restriction on the Toronto-bound segments of the Burlington Skyway for at least the next few days to see how bad the damage is. They've closed it off Toronto-bound at Burlington St so you'd want to go back to that location. Make sure whatever changes you make affect traffic trying to go Toronto-bound from Burlington St as you wouldn't be able to do that either.
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Burlington Skyway restrictions

Postby hmarian » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:18 pm

Today is Monday, no?

HM.

Device: Samsung Galaxy S8 (7.0)
Waze Version: 4.35.0.6
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Greater Toronto Area, Buffalo (NY), Binyamina (Israel)
Android/WME Beta Tester
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Editing Manual | Editing Best Practice | @Waze_Canada
hmarian
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4108
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:08 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Has thanked: 264 times
Been thanked: 1772 times

Re: Burlington Skyway restrictions

Postby hmarian » Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:57 pm

It's not opening Monday. Have you seen the overhead pictures?


I also questioned that estimate, but we can only based our decisions on official information we get from the news.

The exit to Eastport Dr is right adjacent to the affected span. That's where the traffic is heading. Waze would be telling users to go across the closed span because of all the traffic that is now on Eastport Dr, when the app closures expire.


Once the user will be detoured off the highway, Waze will take care of putting him back on his best route to where he is going.

HM.

Device: Samsung Galaxy S8 (7.0)
Waze Version: 4.35.0.6
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Greater Toronto Area, Buffalo (NY), Binyamina (Israel)
Android/WME Beta Tester
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Editing Manual | Editing Best Practice | @Waze_Canada
hmarian
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4108
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:08 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Has thanked: 264 times
Been thanked: 1772 times

Next

Return to Ontario

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users