Dartmouth Railroad

Moderators: hmarian, doctorkb, Kayos_On_The_Road, manoeuvre, Canada Champs

Dartmouth Railroad

Postby Jarve1024 » Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:50 am

I hear about traffic stopped on Akerley Blvd due to malfunctioning signal lights often enough.

Is someone able to map the Dartmouth rail bed?
[ img ]

Honestly, I'll be done editing when Waze knows the fastest way between all my destinations
Jarve1024
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:25 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dartmouth Railroad

Postby hmarian » Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:24 pm

Waze should take this into account once enough Waze users are driving the area with the App opened.
Can you send a Permalink to the area and I can see if I can help?
If not I will pay the attention of some Atlantic editors.

Device: Samsung Galaxy S8
Waze Version: 4.57.0.0
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Greater Toronto Area, Buffalo (NY)
Android/WME Beta Tester
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Editing Manual | Editing Best Practice | @Waze_Canada
hmarian
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4247
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:08 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Has thanked: 284 times
Been thanked: 1806 times

Re: Dartmouth Railroad

Postby ColinsGoat » Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:59 pm

Jarve1024 wrote:Is someone able to map the Dartmouth rail bed?


Did someone just volunteer? :D I'm not sure how this will help, though?

BTW, I notice you tagged a bunch of Dartmouth roads as "dirt roads". That is technically correct, as they are unpaved, but I think in this instance I think they should be classified as regular streets for the benefit of the routing algorithm. Anyone else have an opinion?
[ img ]
Area Manager: Atlantic provinces
Area Manager: a rectangular chunk of Saskatchewan bounded approximately by Melfort and Tobin Lake
ColinsGoat
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Greensboro, NC
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dartmouth Railroad

Postby Jarve1024 » Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:06 pm

I really do consider 4x4 trails and maintained dirt roads separate things. And it's strange that Waze doesn't.

I wouldn't consider a 4x4 road drivable for routing algorithm. But a dirt road is drivable. A dirt road would be something to avoid more frequently ( especially in the winter), so a penalty could be valid.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
[ img ]

Honestly, I'll be done editing when Waze knows the fastest way between all my destinations
Jarve1024
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:25 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dartmouth Railroad

Postby Jarve1024 » Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:08 pm

As for the track, my editing range ends just outside Burnside so I could only add a floating section. And I haven't had Waze active in Eastern Passage, nor do I know where the track becomes unused to properly end it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
[ img ]

Honestly, I'll be done editing when Waze knows the fastest way between all my destinations
Jarve1024
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:25 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dartmouth Railroad

Postby Jarve1024 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:20 am

First chance I've had to get onto my desktop today, here's more links then you need.

Akerley/Railroad level crossing
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... ueFilter=0

There's another level crossing on Wright
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... ueFilter=0

It goes under Victoria (Victoria should be elevation 1, I guess) (Or railroad -1)
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... ueFilter=0

There's a rail bridge over Windmill
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... ueFilter=0

Back under the MacKay bridge toll area (Need an L5 editor to set elevation to 1) (Or railroad -1)
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... ueFilter=0

Level crossing at Princess Margaret and Nootka (I sat here for 10 minutes a few months ago)
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... ueFilter=0

Level at Armament then under the MacDonald Bridge (which has elevation 1 already)
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... ueFilter=0

My editing range (for now)
East/South
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... ueFilter=0

North/West
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... ueFilter=0

EDIT: I see that instead of setting Hwy 111 to level 1 Windmill was set to -1. That would also work for the railroad. (To nit pick -1 make me think dirt was removed/tunneled to place the road, which isn't accurate)
[ img ]

Honestly, I'll be done editing when Waze knows the fastest way between all my destinations
Jarve1024
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:25 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dartmouth Railroad

Postby Jarve1024 » Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:19 am

I've started but the 6 times I tried adding a junction between the rail line and a road Waze refused to save (There goes 20 minutes of unsaved mapping).

The encourages junctions :(
The routing server will properly account for delays at railroad crossings through a segment without a junction. However, with a junction, the historical data for the rail crossing will be more accurate
[ img ]

Honestly, I'll be done editing when Waze knows the fastest way between all my destinations
Jarve1024
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:25 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dartmouth Railroad

Postby ColinsGoat » Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:46 am

Jarve1024 wrote:I really do consider 4x4 trails and maintained dirt roads separate things. And it's strange that Waze doesn't.


You're quite correct. My understanding is that the distinction will be made available... someday...
[ img ]
Area Manager: Atlantic provinces
Area Manager: a rectangular chunk of Saskatchewan bounded approximately by Melfort and Tobin Lake
ColinsGoat
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Greensboro, NC
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dartmouth Railroad

Postby ColinsGoat » Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:51 am

Jarve1024 wrote:First chance I've had to get onto my desktop today, here's more links then you need.
Yikes! You've been busy :)

Jarve1024 wrote: EDIT: I see that instead of setting Hwy 111 to level 1 Windmill was set to -1. That would also work for the railroad. (To nit pick -1 make me think dirt was removed/tunneled to place the road, which isn't accurate)


Yeh, I've come across a number of elevations in HRM that really should be cleaned up. Perhaps we can work on that with @restless_in_nb
[ img ]
Area Manager: Atlantic provinces
Area Manager: a rectangular chunk of Saskatchewan bounded approximately by Melfort and Tobin Lake
ColinsGoat
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Greensboro, NC
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dartmouth Railroad

Postby Jarve1024 » Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:53 am

I just sent restless a PM asking him to change the toll area and Victoria. But if you can do it, it'll have the same end result.

I hate losing time to weird errors.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
[ img ]

Honestly, I'll be done editing when Waze knows the fastest way between all my destinations
Jarve1024
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:25 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Next

Return to Nova Scotia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users