Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, hilaroth

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby deeggo » Sun Feb 10, 2013 3:34 pm

The are you near a gas station? popup has no button to actually start reporting gas prices in landscape.
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 563 times
Been thanked: 587 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby Superfraggle » Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:11 am

Further to my previous report on the automated petrol station pop-up. I can confirm this only occurs when navigation is on as the window appears below the instruction so there is not enough screen estate to show it. It's fine when not navigating.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
Superfraggle
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:21 pm
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Sat Feb 09, 2013 11:22 pm

Sorry, I do not give up :)

In Android beta 3.5.99.904 feedback thread, foxitrot wrote:I'd like to elaborate once more on the "About..." box:

Additionally, deeggo wrote:It has been answered many times, it's Japanese. If you don't have Japanese font on your device it turns to this.


I admit there might be some Japanese in the bottom half, between "Search Data: Web.... by Yahoo! JAPAN, Map Data:" and "world.waze.com":

But the upper half, between "Copyright 1997, 1998-203 John-Mark Gurney." and "Search Data:" contains a scrambled (i.e. incorrect code page) text in the installation's preferred language (Slovak), which should have been "Všetky práva vyhradené.", but is "VÅ¡etky práva vyhradené." instead.
What about other language versions?

So, inserting correctly converted texts (code-page-wise) might fix both halves of the dialog box. Maybe the Japanese half will indeed stay broken. But ATM the dialog is surely not being handled as correctly as it already could be.


I've now highlighted in red, what is definitely no Japanese and should be correctly readable on this Android beta:
iOS 3.5.3.0 client's About box wrote:Release 3.5.3.0
(c)Waze inc.


Text to Speech: (c) Copyright 2011 Nuance Communications, Inc.
ASR: CMU Pocketsphinx, MIT’s MITLM, and Politepix’s OpenEar libraries.
Copyright 1997, 1998-2003 John-Mark Gurney. Všetky práva vyhradené.
Search Data: Webサービス by Yahoo! JAPAN
Map Data: この地図の作成に当たっては、国土地理院長の承認を得て、同院発行の数値地図25000(空間デー タ基盤)を使用した。(承認番号 平24情使、 第214号)
world.waze.com

Now, if I can correctly read and edit even this Japanese on my Android web browser and Tapatalk app, then I assume I should not need to install any additional Japanese fonts, in order to allow Waze to render the About box correctly :| especially not this sentence in my local language.

So: please quit telling us about Japanese fonts and try to fix the client ;-)
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7078
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2382 times
Been thanked: 1084 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby guri211 » Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:56 pm

SGS2, Android 2.3.6:
- A lot of crashes today;
- Street names on route disappeared after driving for a few minutes (screenshots attached);
- Speedometer was not showing the speed.

[ img ]
[ img ]
guri211
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1725
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 6:13 pm
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Has thanked: 790 times
Been thanked: 472 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby thefatveganchef » Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:27 pm

Hi Perlin, when replying to a private message there is no send button. This has been tested on both my devices in landscape and vertical mode. when I click on done the message goes away but it does not actually send the message.

Screenshot_2013-02-04-14-08-54.png
No send button
(85.01 KiB) Downloaded 695 times


Also the issue still exists where sometimes it will not tell you where you are on your way to. This has happened in both my devices, in vertical, landscape, day and night. This happens for both work and home.
Screenshot_2013-02-08-00-10-23.png
where am I going?
(182.38 KiB) Downloaded 695 times

Logs were sent for that screenshot at ~12:10 central 2/8 on crazycomputingdotnettest. I sent a few more logs when I could at aprox 2:00pm central or ~12:am central or ~1am central for crazycomputingdotnet and crazycomputingdotnettest.

Also on this beta version GPS has been really flaky on the mt4gs. I have done multiple reboots on it with no joy.
I also uploaded a bunch of logs today at aprox 2:55pm central.

My sig is outdated, I am running latest beta on both devices.
thefatveganchef
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby Polipetto58 » Sat Feb 09, 2013 6:39 pm

Traffic reports not working. No pop-up shown even if it's plenty of events here around.
Changing Event Radius setting has no effect.

But popups from my groups and advertisements still works instead.
Polipetto58
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:39 am
Location: Milano - Italy
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby a4bolek » Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:39 pm

xteejx wrote:Waze STILL does not work on GPRS. We don't have 3G in rural areas so tracks don't get uploaded and reports don't get sent.

This is a massive problem!

Cache reports to send when signal is there, or lower the server polling frequency.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2


Before driving such areas turn off WiFi and switch your phone to 2G only. I may help to avoid lost mileage.
a4bolek
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:19 am
Location: Dallas, Texas
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby a4bolek » Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:30 pm

foxitrot wrote:
xteejx wrote:Waze STILL does not work on GPRS. We don't have 3G in rural areas so tracks don't get uploaded and reports don't get sent.

Waze should not be aware of any term like GPRS or 3G or UMTS or H*SPA or EDGE or...
This should be your phone's duty to maintain a network connection. Check whether GPRS is enabled.


Correct. But Waze does not handle degrading network conditions well. I drive areas with poor coverage to no coverage at times. While other apps like Google My Tracks or Glympse handle situation without a glitch Waze displays "No connection" and hundreds of driving miles get lost.
a4bolek
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:19 am
Location: Dallas, Texas
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:17 pm

antigerme wrote:
foxitrot wrote:Once I've seen a traffic jam in front of me and have diverted from my planned route. An unknown yet nice, but untranslated popup appeared:

One more observation: while I was in roaming without a network, ... the upper line's "Searching network..." is not translated as well.

Help with translation
https://www.transifex.com/projects/p/wa ... -projects/

I know. but both of them are translated there:
"Searching network . . . = Vyhľadávam sieť…"
"If there's a road closure or a map problem, report it here. = Ak je cesta uzavretá alebo ste našli problém v mape, oznámte to tu."
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7078
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2382 times
Been thanked: 1084 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:05 pm

argus-cronos wrote:Own reports appear as anonymous. Android 4.1.2 AOKP GT-P7500

Seen as well. Made two screenshots of my few minutes old report a few seconds one after another - first by anonymous, second by myself.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7078
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2382 times
Been thanked: 1084 times

PreviousNext

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users