Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Moderators: Unholy, hilaroth, Unholy, hilaroth

Re: Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby deeggo » Tue Feb 12, 2013 8:35 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:To be clear, deeggo, d8389 is suggesting this as a better way to report a closed segment which is not connected to the one you are currently on.

Thanks for clarifying Alan. I wondered what feature I'd missed :lol:
Global Champ. Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One M8 | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3943
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 426 times
Been thanked: 457 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby deeggo » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:27 pm

Has anyone actually seen a road closure work and a route being presented around it? I have placed many test blocks and have not seen an effect one single time.
Global Champ. Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One M8 | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3943
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 426 times
Been thanked: 457 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby deeggo » Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:50 am

Crash while reporting gas price. I filled in the first field, so the cursor jumped to the second. I then saw I made a mistake so went back to the first price, corrected that one, went to the second price again. Upon filling in the second price, Waze crashed. Logs sent at 8:58am GMT+1.
Global Champ. Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One M8 | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3943
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 426 times
Been thanked: 457 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby Den_in_USA » Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:23 pm

Perlin: I know this is the beta client forum, however, have you heard anything lately about having the "parking lot roads" being displayed at a narrower width than a named street? Also, at certain zoom levels, those un-named streets would not be displayed at all. This has been a long debated subject in the Map Editors forum.
Software Test Designer, CareFusion
T-Mobile| Dell Streak 5| Android 2.2.2
Den_in_USA
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 4:26 am
Location: Riverside, California, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby Den_in_USA » Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:21 pm

My main problem is the constant loss of GPS signal within the Waze client. My other navigation apps do have this problem.
Software Test Designer, CareFusion
T-Mobile| Dell Streak 5| Android 2.2.2
Den_in_USA
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 4:26 am
Location: Riverside, California, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby floppyrod84 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:56 pm

Yeah I've done that just now. Drive through it? Umm...help?
Road closure is nice but I guess until things are done on the backend it's just an "avoid this road". But surely that can be done at a junction by driving another way?
I know it's in beta and I'm not trying to knock it at all, just saying. It's the start of something very promising indeed.
If for now it will only be device dependant, we need to select roads further away.
Also, it needs big enough buttons to press while driving. Currently it's too small and finicky.
Addresses in recent destinations cannot be seen, they're shifted too far down. Same in last beta.
Whatever happened to the voice recording for reports?

Other than that, amazing work as always. Looking forward to seeing what results from this road closure we've been waiting for. NOW Waze is becoming a serious threat as a general consumer GPS app ;-)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby floppyrod84 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:41 pm

Auto night mode didn't switch over after restarting Waze a while ago. First time it's happened on any beta or final release.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby floppyrod84 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:37 pm

Waze STILL does not work on GPRS. We don't have 3G in rural areas so tracks don't get uploaded and reports don't get sent.

This is a massive problem!

Cache reports to send when signal is there, or lower the server polling frequency.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby floppyrod84 » Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:17 am

Of course it's enabled...I think...
Other apps work fine on it.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Re: Android beta 3.5.3.906 feedback thread

Postby floppyrod84 » Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:19 pm

a4bolek wrote:
xteejx wrote:Waze STILL does not work on GPRS. We don't have 3G in rural areas so tracks don't get uploaded and reports don't get sent.

This is a massive problem!

Cache reports to send when signal is there, or lower the server polling frequency.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2


Before driving such areas turn off WiFi and switch your phone to 2G only. I may help to avoid lost mileage.


Why would my WiFi be turned on when I'm driving??
And I am not switching to 2G only because one app won't play ball. Waze need to fix it. It's not mileage I'm worried about, I'm a level 4 editor with a few hundred square mile AM area, and close to 200k edits ;-)
Point is, reports should be able to be sent. Other apps work on 2G, so should Waze and it is a pretty big problem, even thinking about countries that could never use Waze on the fact they simply don't have 3G networks at all.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

PreviousNext

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users