iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, hilaroth

Re: iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:33 pm

sketch wrote:I've been getting this a lot. I agree that it shouldn't pop up until something's been selected.

Is there still a hard limit on route length? I remember it was 200 mi years ago, increased to 1000 mi some time ago, but I used Waze for an 1100+ mile drive last month...

Subsequently, I've verified this isn't limited to contacts searches, but is more related to the very repeatable crash error I posted later.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23614
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4825 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:58 pm

Bug: alternate routes map view doesn't display stop route

1. Plan a route and a stop
2. Request alternate routes
3. View Map mode

What shows: routes from current location to destination
What should show: routes from current location to stop point to destination

alt_routes_with_stop_map.png
(92.42 KiB) Downloaded 1248 times
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23614
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4825 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Postby Dave2084 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:04 pm

Speed Camera units bug:

Speed camera warnings have the same numerical value regardless of the users choice of units. So if a speed camera is recorded as 40km/h in WME then it will trigger an audible warning at 41km/h or 41mph.

For Example, this speed camera is set in WME for 40km/h (25mph):

When set to mph in the Client:
1. Approaching at 25mph (40km/h) does not trigger an audible warning
2. Approaching at 40mph (64km/h) does not trigger an audible warning
3. Approaching at 45mph (72km/h) does trigger an audible warning

When set to km/h in the Client:
1. Approaching at 25km/h (15mph) does not trigger an audible warning
2. Approaching at 40km/h (25mph) does not trigger an audible warning
3. Approaching at 45km/h (28mph) does trigger an audible warning
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2424
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 392 times
Been thanked: 383 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:09 pm

Dave2084 wrote:When set to mph in the Client:
1. Approaching at 25mph (40km/h) does not trigger an audible warning
2. Approaching at 40mph (64km/h) does not trigger an audible warning
3. Approaching at 45mph (72km/h) does trigger an audible warning

When set to km/h in the Client:
1. Approaching at 25km/h (15mph) does not trigger an audible warning
2. Approaching at 40km/h (25mph) does not trigger an audible warning
3. Approaching at 45km/h (28mph) does trigger an audible warning


I don't think this is a bug. It's just poorly displayed and documented.

In the U.S., where we use Miles and MPH, if the speed limit is 35 MPH and I set the camera to 35 (ignoring the km/h), it will give the warning if I approach at 36 MPH or higher.

You should do likewise if all of your speeds are posted in MPH.

In countries where km/h is used, if the speed limit is 100 km/h, set it to 100, and since the users all have their clients set to km/h, it should give the warning if they're going 101 km/h.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Postby Dave2084 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:28 pm

jasonh300 wrote:I don't think this is a bug. It's just poorly displayed and documented.


The actual speed should be the same no matter what units are selected, it plain and simple maths.

I'm pretty sure that in the past Waze have told us (in the UK) that we SHOULD be using km/h in WME even though we use miles. I'll try and find the reference.
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2424
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 392 times
Been thanked: 383 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Postby Timbones » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:31 pm

jasonh300 wrote:You should do likewise if all of your speeds are posted in MPH.

This is only valid if all users in the UK use mile units - there's bound to be some that prefer metric. Just sayin' ;)
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6758
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 989 times
Been thanked: 2690 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:37 pm

Destination bar and Main menu Mute buttons are not 100% synced. It is very easy to have the main menu show muted while Destination bar does not. These should be totally sync'd so that tapping one immediately changes the state and display of the other.
Attachments
mute_buttons_not_syncd.png
(62.35 KiB) Downloaded 1249 times
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23614
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4825 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:39 pm

This could be a routing server error or something wrong with the app. Unsure, but it happened several times on Friday 11/2. Logs were uploaded at some point. Unsure if this was a beta or 3.5.

There is no way that going .4 miles will take 43 minutes. .4 miles may have been to the next turn perhaps...
Attachments
to_hood_river.png
(45.77 KiB) Downloaded 1249 times
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23614
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4825 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Postby sketch » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:45 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:This could be a routing server error or something wrong with the app. Unsure, but it happened several times on Friday 11/2. Logs were uploaded at some point. Unsure if this was a beta or 3.5.

There is no way that going .4 miles will take 43 minutes. .4 miles may have been to the next turn perhaps...

I know I got this at least a few times over the last few weeks. I don't pay super close attention to that dialog, but I think most of them were in the 3.4.99.x betas.
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6134
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1586 times
Been thanked: 2137 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.0.995 feedback thread

Postby jasonh300 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:13 am

Timbones wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:You should do likewise if all of your speeds are posted in MPH.

This is only valid if all users in the UK use mile units - there's bound to be some that prefer metric. Just sayin' ;)


If the laws set the speed limits in MPH and the signs show MPH, then they should have their unit set to MPH.

I don't disagree with you that it should do the conversion and work either way, but it doesn't.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

PreviousNext

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users