iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy, hilaroth

iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:58 am

I am quite happy with the adjustments to the red light camera alerts. However, as mentioned before, in an urban setting, this alert may be on the screen for 3 minutes until the light is passed. This alert needs to be able to dynamically adjust based on ETA to the camera, IMO.
Attachments
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356836249.489275.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356836249.489275.jpg (11.2 KiB) Viewed 668 times
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Dec 30, 2012 3:02 am

I have noted several times recently, getting N/A in my routes selections. What's up with this?
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356836550.956057.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356836550.956057.jpg (68.34 KiB) Viewed 666 times



iOS and Tapatalk have conspired to screw up this post.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Dec 30, 2012 3:07 am

This is likely a routing server issue, but I've noted recently that when I select an alternate route when starting for work, if I make a turn not on the route as I leave my neighborhood, Waze recalculated back to the original route it wanted me to take, not the alternate route I prefer and previously selected.


iOS and Tapatalk have conspired to screw up this post.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:41 pm

Shorty-CM wrote:Why on earth not?! Sun still goes down no matter how long I've been driving. I/we shouldn't have to exit/restart the app just for that. That's ridiculous.
perlin wrote:It won't change to night mode if you started the drive over 30 minutes before sunset.

Maybe Perlin meant after sunset? Wait, no, that doesn't make sense either as I've seen it changed on startup right away when it's after sunset....
Last edited by AlanOfTheBerg on Tue Jan 01, 2013 8:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fixed gender typo!
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby bone0369 » Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:55 am

When iPhone is in horizontal position, keyboard will not appear when cursor is active in the search window. Rotating back to vertical the keyboard appears. Was attempting to search for a business when this occurred on iPhone 5, iOS 6.0.2.
bone0369
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 3:25 am
Location: Portland, OR
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby Dave2084 » Mon Dec 24, 2012 7:57 pm

perlin wrote:Two more things that are new (forgot to mention them in the email):
- Gas stations are added to the main menu ("Gas" button)


I think this is great, we've lost Help and share (which are deeper in the menus) and have a Fuel button, however, two points here:
1. The Gas (or Fuel) logo shows a $ sign, great for those countries that use dollars but we have pounds (£).
2. The landscape screen how only shows 6 buttons whereas before it had 8.
IMG_2042.PNG
IMG_2042.PNG (86.9 KiB) Viewed 1434 times

There was no mention of if the speed camera units bug, has it been fixed in this release?

Can't wait to try it on the road. I've done 1000 miles this week but expect to do close to zero in the next week. :?
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 7.1.0 • Waze 3.7.9.922 Beta
Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester • iPhone Expert
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby Dave2084 » Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:55 am

Can I remind some of the new beta testers here as well as a comprehensive description of any bugs/issues they are experiencing with the beta to please include in their message (or better still their signature) the following:

1. The device being used for Waze beta testing.
2. If the device is Jailed or Jailbroken.
3. The version of iOS on their device.

Plus ideally the version of the Waze beta they are running.

This is important info for Waze and very useful for other beta-testers to know.

Lastly, please do not post on the beta threads unless you are running the beta.
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 7.1.0 • Waze 3.7.9.922 Beta
Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester • iPhone Expert
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby Dave2084 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:17 am

[Long Post Warning]

First time out on the road with the beta yesterday as I've not been driving anywhere since it has been released. So here goes:

1. Performance issues. This is the least stable Waze beta I have ever tested, bordering on unusable for me. At random intervals the app would lock up for a period of time from a few seconds to a minute or so and be totally non responsive to any input and the screen would not update so I missed a few turns (luckily I knew where I was going). If you waited patiently it would always come back only to lock up again a few minutes later. If the app was minimised while locked up and then opened again you'd bee greeted by a 30 second splash screen then it would crash. This happened constantly on my 45 minute/30 mile trip. At no time did the app offer me the opportunity to upload logs. This was done manually a few minutes ago at 9.53am UK time, and yes I was in debug mode).

2. Speed Camera Visual Alerts. Same old story ... these pop up and as I'm a landscape user I CANNOT SEE THE MAP. However now the warnings seem to come up much earlier (measured in miles rather than feet) so I get to see even less of the map! How about I extend one of the Waze Dev's an invite to drive around Nottingham and see if they get lost as you rarely get to see the map there for all the Speed Cameras!
IMG_2051.PNG
IMG_2051.PNG (87.01 KiB) Viewed 622 times


3. Unable to find routing server when looking for alternate routes. When this happens not only do you not get an alternate route, but it dumps your existing route so you have nothing. If alternate routes fail it should retain the existing route.

4. Report menu with no Network Connection. If you open the report menu when you have no network connection you get a warning box, the ETA/Distance box also shows "Location and Time Saved". What for ... are we supposed to be able to carry on with our report later, if so it does not work.
IMG_2053.PNG
IMG_2053.PNG (79.88 KiB) Viewed 627 times


5. Foursquare Check In. From the approaching destination bar the text has been changed and you now "post" to Foursquare. This is incorrect it should read "Check In" as it does in the report Menu. Also why are the Facebook and Foursquare logo's not in full colour? It doesn't make then recognisable.
IMG_2055.PNG
IMG_2055.PNG (44.02 KiB) Viewed 627 times


6. Has the behaviour for the Approaching Destination Bar been changed? It seems to come up much closer to the destination now which is most welcome as I get to see more of the map in the final turns for my Journey :D
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 7.1.0 • Waze 3.7.9.922 Beta
Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester • iPhone Expert
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby Dave2084 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 5:59 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I am quite happy with the adjustments to the red light camera alerts. However, as mentioned before, in an urban setting, this alert may be on the screen for 3 minutes until the light is passed. This alert needs to be able to dynamically adjust based on ETA to the camera, IMO.


I'm very unhappy. They stay on the screen blocking the map for just too long.

Waze please make them smaller or give me a way to turn these off leaving just the audible alert and the cams on the map (with attention getting radiating circles).

In their current form my preference would be to NEVER see them :?
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 7.1.0 • Waze 3.7.9.922 Beta
Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester • iPhone Expert
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby davipt » Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:46 pm

TigPT wrote:pt_PT translation


This string has been incorrect between the 24th and the 26th, on the 27th it was already fixed back but it takes some hours/days/whatever to get the client updated.
"Conduzir" did fit on the non-beta client, but on the beta there are now three buttons and it doesn't fit anymore.

Also, feel free to post Portuguese related questions on our own forum or for translations PM me or pvaladares ;)
Image
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ | Coordinator and Manager for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2415
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 405 times

PreviousNext

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users