iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Moderators: Unholy, hilaroth, bextein

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby Dave2084 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 5:59 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I am quite happy with the adjustments to the red light camera alerts. However, as mentioned before, in an urban setting, this alert may be on the screen for 3 minutes until the light is passed. This alert needs to be able to dynamically adjust based on ETA to the camera, IMO.


I'm very unhappy. They stay on the screen blocking the map for just too long.

Waze please make them smaller or give me a way to turn these off leaving just the audible alert and the cams on the map (with attention getting radiating circles).

In their current form my preference would be to NEVER see them :?
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2413
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 391 times
Been thanked: 379 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby meow01 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 5:05 pm

Dave2084 wrote:[Long Post Warning]

At random intervals the app would lock up for a period of time from a few seconds to a minute or so and be totally non responsive to any input and the screen would not update


I drove over 400 miles and I encountered the same issues without understanding what might trigger them.

Frequencies of occurence seem random.
meow01
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 4:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby npv1459 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:36 am

Dave2084 wrote:[Long Post Warning]

1. Performance issues. This is the least stable Waze beta I have ever tested, bordering on unusable for me. At random intervals the app would lock up for a period of time from a few seconds to a minute or so and be totally non responsive to any input and the screen would not update so I missed a few turns (luckily I knew where I was going). [CUT]


Same issue yesterday during a trip only in gps mode and not in navigation(no destination set)
(I knew also where I was going ;))
App locked-up for a couple of minute and no response to any imput.
Need logs or not??
Bye
npv1459
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 8:13 am
Location: Casoria (NA)
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby Dave2084 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:17 am

[Long Post Warning]

First time out on the road with the beta yesterday as I've not been driving anywhere since it has been released. So here goes:

1. Performance issues. This is the least stable Waze beta I have ever tested, bordering on unusable for me. At random intervals the app would lock up for a period of time from a few seconds to a minute or so and be totally non responsive to any input and the screen would not update so I missed a few turns (luckily I knew where I was going). If you waited patiently it would always come back only to lock up again a few minutes later. If the app was minimised while locked up and then opened again you'd bee greeted by a 30 second splash screen then it would crash. This happened constantly on my 45 minute/30 mile trip. At no time did the app offer me the opportunity to upload logs. This was done manually a few minutes ago at 9.53am UK time, and yes I was in debug mode).

2. Speed Camera Visual Alerts. Same old story ... these pop up and as I'm a landscape user I CANNOT SEE THE MAP. However now the warnings seem to come up much earlier (measured in miles rather than feet) so I get to see even less of the map! How about I extend one of the Waze Dev's an invite to drive around Nottingham and see if they get lost as you rarely get to see the map there for all the Speed Cameras!
IMG_2051.PNG
(87.01 KiB) Downloaded 1057 times


3. Unable to find routing server when looking for alternate routes. When this happens not only do you not get an alternate route, but it dumps your existing route so you have nothing. If alternate routes fail it should retain the existing route.

4. Report menu with no Network Connection. If you open the report menu when you have no network connection you get a warning box, the ETA/Distance box also shows "Location and Time Saved". What for ... are we supposed to be able to carry on with our report later, if so it does not work.
IMG_2053.PNG
(79.88 KiB) Downloaded 1062 times


5. Foursquare Check In. From the approaching destination bar the text has been changed and you now "post" to Foursquare. This is incorrect it should read "Check In" as it does in the report Menu. Also why are the Facebook and Foursquare logo's not in full colour? It doesn't make then recognisable.
IMG_2055.PNG
(44.02 KiB) Downloaded 1062 times


6. Has the behaviour for the Approaching Destination Bar been changed? It seems to come up much closer to the destination now which is most welcome as I get to see more of the map in the final turns for my Journey :D
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2413
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 391 times
Been thanked: 379 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby Shorty-CM » Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:59 am

And muted when sound is muted. Why does the app *still* make any noise at all if it is muted?
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I am quite happy with the adjustments to the red light camera alerts. However, as mentioned before, in an urban setting, this alert may be on the screen for 3 minutes until the light is passed. This alert needs to be able to dynamically adjust based on ETA to the camera, IMO.
Shorty-CM
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 9:56 pm
Location: Parksville, BC, Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby sketch » Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:31 am

BIG problem.

Remember that old bug that made Waze unable to connect to the Waze network over cellular connections after leaving the range of the WiFi that the app connected to when first opened? Looks like it's back, and with a vengeance.

Now, if I open the beta within range of my home WiFi, every time I drive away, the app freezes up completely, and the LTE connection on my phone stops working entirely.

Nothing short of switching the phone into and out of airplane mode fixes it. If I close and reopen Waze, it crashes on the first relaunch, and if I relaunch it a second time and try to plan a route with no connectivity, the app freezes again.

It's a bit of a surprising bug, and it may have something to do with iOS, because typically iOS apps aren't given the kind of control necessary to affect these kinds of low-level OS tasks... but it's happened a few times now. I'm using an iPhone 5 with iOS 6.0.2 over the AT&T network.
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5858
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1392 times
Been thanked: 1885 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby jasonh300 » Sat Dec 29, 2012 6:03 am

Shorty-CM wrote:How long had it been running before it crashed? I've noticed it sometimes doesn't change to night mode, and usually it has been open for quite a while when it doesn't switch. It's been doing that for quite a few versions, now.


For the past couple of weeks, with Sunset falling just past 5:00, I've been in the car at sunset almost every day, and since I've been watching it, it hasn't made the change automatically. But if I shut it down and reopen, it will come back in night mode.

Today when it crashed, Waze had probably been running for about an hour. I was actually looking at the screen, stopped at a light, watching the traffic popups on the screen. It just shut off. The only reason why I was thinking it had something to do with the night mode was because I noticed the switch when I brought it back up. I was thinking that sunset was at 5:15, which would have said a lot, but I checked my almanac app and sunset was at 5:08 at my location.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7567
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 402 times
Been thanked: 978 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby Scorp42 » Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:50 am

The current app store version of Waze works with the pioneer appradio. However the screen is displayed off-center and is therefore mostly unusable. I installed the beta via testflight, hoping appradio support had been fixed.

The result:
Appradio support seems to have been completely removed now. The app starts on the iphone, then rather than showing the usual "pioneer disconnect" screen, it now shows the Waze app on both screens as if it was just a mirrored video port. If I hold the phone horizontal, the Waze app rotates to horizontal view on the iphone. It also stretches the display on the pioneer unit (which frankly, looks horrible)

If I turn the phone to landscape view, both screens display it, and it looks great on the pioneer.

In either mode ( landscape or horizontal) the pioneer touch screen is unavailable. The Waze app appears to be using a display-only mode. No touch input us accepted from the pioneer. However, the iphone accepts touch input as it always has.

Waze app: 3.5.1.993
Iphone 4 64gb art gsm
Jo's 6.0.1. Not jailbroken
Pioneer avh-p8400bh radio in advanced app mode.
(Cable appears to be ok, other apps continue to work)


Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2
Scorp42
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:21 pm
Location: Southwest Florida
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby Shorty-CM » Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:33 am

This version also behaves very poorly in relation to music playback and car stereo connections. If I forget to exit Waze and disconnect from the car stereo before starting the vehicle back up it makes the whole device act strangely. Music playback doesn't begin. Forcing it to pause/play doesn't help. The device acts like something is caught in a horrible loop and gets incredibly unresponsive, requiring me to shut down and reboot the device, *if* I can even get it to respond well enough to get it to shut down.

It's incredibly frustrating when I start the work truck back up and notice that I forgot to exit Waze, and the "Kaaaaaaaahn!" -style NOOOOOOOO! begins echoing around inside the truck, haha.

I don't know how the connection/communication differs when starting the vehicle versus simply plugging the device into the stereo that's already up and running, but I don't think I've seen this unresponsive loop behaviour in that scenario. But I think 9/10 times when I do this if Waze is running the music won't start playing. The stereo goes through the normal 'reading' phase and then brings up the current track's name but is blinking as though playback is paused, which it shouldn't be. When this happens, sometimes simply exiting Waze will automatically start playback again. Sometimes it does not, and I have to disconnect the device from the stereo and plug it back in again. 1/10 times pressing pause/play will start playback again in that scenario, but it's usually faster just to unplug and replug rather than try hitting pause/play over and over and hope it works.

As a result, my usual routine when getting out of the truck is to grab my phone and exit Waze so that when we're getting back in and taking off again it is already out of Waze and obviously disconnected from the stereo. If I connect to the stereo first, and wait for music playback to start, and *then* fire up Waze everything will be just fine for the duration. But if Waze is running before connecting, whether or not the vehicle was already running, it is just going to be a disaster of some sort.

A version or two ago seemed to have all the volume and music playback problems sorted out, so I don't know what has changed, but it is once again broken, and is worse than ever in some respects. At least the volume problems haven't returned, so that part still works properly.
Shorty-CM
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 9:56 pm
Location: Parksville, BC, Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.993 feedback thread

Postby Shorty-CM » Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:24 am

How long had it been running before it crashed? I've noticed it sometimes doesn't change to night mode, and usually it has been open for quite a while when it doesn't switch. It's been doing that for quite a few versions, now.
Shorty-CM
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 9:56 pm
Location: Parksville, BC, Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

PreviousNext

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users