iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Moderators: Unholy, hilaroth

iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:35 am

Another not helpful popup notification.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357191338.530886.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357191338.530886.jpg (18.5 KiB) Viewed 1903 times



iOS and Tapatalk have conspired to screw up this post.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Postby top_gun_de » Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:47 am

sketch wrote:
camrun91 wrote:
top_gun_de wrote:The wifi bug does still exist. The car was parked in wifi range, and two corners later, I saw "searching for network", and a statement that a network connection was required to calculate the optimal route. Exiting and restarting the app worked, I had to tap the destination again, though.

Iphone 5, 6.0.2, no jailbreak.

Best regards,

Detlev


Gesendet von meinem iPad mit Tapatalk HD

I am got this same thing this morning. only it wouldn't let me post that there was an officer sitting in a driveway. ( this may be an Iphone 5 issue not a waze issue. as I am also randomly loosing LTE connection on At&t's network and when that happens I cant get any data connection and have to power cycle phone.

I'm having the same problem. Cycling airplane mode also corrects it.

It's an iPhone 5 problem, and maybe only with AT&T, but leaving a WiFi connection with Waze running triggers it, every time. Maybe it's not Waze's fault specifically—maybe any app constantly pulling data would trigger it—but it's worth looking into.


I don't even live in the US of A, my LTE is stable in my vicinity and the problem did occur. I have never seen this with the last release, and restarting Waze fixed it without airplane mode. It might be iphone 5-related due to it being the only device with LTE, though. I'm not a programmer and do not know whether the connections differentiate from a coder's view.

Best regards,

Detlev


Gesendet von meinem iPad mit Tapatalk HD
Image
AM Region Hannover, CM Deutschland (Germany), Coordinator Germany, Global Champ

Wiki Deutschland | Straßen und Orte benennen D | Karte bearbeiten | Editorbedienung
top_gun_de
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7324
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:16 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Has thanked: 2621 times
Been thanked: 4119 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Postby Scorp42 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:50 am

#1) I love the new option to only show popular along my route. Cant wait for it to get implemented.

#2) Love that reports and hazards are displaying in 'tenths of miles' format innstead of feet.

#3) The entire app is sluggish, with occasional freezes when interacting with it.

#4) twice now, I've started the app to a pure white screen with no map data. Just my car Icon and the menu and report buttons.

#5) After deleting and re-installing the app, it will NOT let my log to facebook until I loving with my Waze account. In previous versions, I was able to auth via facebook without authenticating to Waze.

#6) pioneer appradio mode still seems like it was forgotten (see the .993 beta thread for details.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2
iPhone 4 (AT&T GSM)
iOS 6.0.1 - nonjailbroken
Waze - 3.5.1.998
Scorp42
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:21 pm
Location: Southwest Florida
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Postby Dave2084 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:19 am

palmerit wrote:#5) After deleting and re-installing the app, it will NOT let my log to facebook until I loving with my Waze account. In previous versions, I was able to auth via facebook without authenticating to Waze.


I had this issue, the only way I could get the Facebook logon to work properly (so I had friends) was to sign out of Facebook single sign on in iPhone settings and then sign in again.
iPhone 6S Plus (Jailed) • iOS 9.2.1 • Waze 4.2
Level 6 Editor • Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2385
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 372 times
Been thanked: 365 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Postby seriousarsonist » Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:25 am

[quote="AlanOfTheBerg"]Another not helpful popup notification.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357191338.530886.jpg


I've had a few of these pop up, managed to track down the slow road or whatever on the map to find that they are being reported on roads that aren't named, this would be correct and entirely unhelpful, maybe having the client suppress them would be an idea?

Pip
Image Image Image
UK Champ and Area Manager for the North of the Island of Ireland Image Image

Comber WX: What the weather is like where I edit
seriousarsonist
 
Posts: 985
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:48 pm
Location: Northern Ireland
Has thanked: 312 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Postby perlin » Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:14 pm

davipt wrote:Myself I get an error while updating petrol prices stating that I'm still a baby wazer (I'm #1 and CM on my country), but we're not supposed to have petrol prices here anyway >:), albeit it was working perfectly right before I updated to the beta. coincidence?

Do you remember the date & time it happened (when you saw this error message)?
Image
Join Waze. We have cookies..
perlin
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:42 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Postby robin1979 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:28 pm

perlin wrote:
davipt wrote:Myself I get an error while updating petrol prices stating that I'm still a baby wazer (I'm #1 and CM on my country), but we're not supposed to have petrol prices here anyway >:), albeit it was working perfectly right before I updated to the beta. coincidence?

Do you remember the date & time it happened (when you saw this error message)?


perlin, it's a known issue, not even beta specific. Have a look here: viewtopic.php?f=294&t=35321 (Summary: gas station functionality is broken).
MapSquadEurope
Area Manager - Europe
robin1979
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:49 am
Location: EUROPE
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 35 times

iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:19 pm

The app should simply suppress the onscreen info when invalid data is received. Also, the back- end should never supply this invalid info:

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357233580.523722.jpg



iOS and Tapatalk have conspired to screw up this post.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Postby davipt » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:05 pm

robin1979 wrote:
perlin wrote:
davipt wrote:Myself I get an error while updating petrol prices stating that I'm still a baby wazer (I'm #1 and CM on my country), but we're not supposed to have petrol prices here anyway >:), albeit it was working perfectly right before I updated to the beta. coincidence?

Do you remember the date & time it happened (when you saw this error message)?


perlin, it's a known issue, not even beta specific. Have a look here: https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=294&t=35321 (Summary: gas station functionality is broken).


Oops. Double oops because I can't read that topic :P
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2731
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 553 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.996 feedback thread

Postby camrun91 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:58 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Another not helpful popup notification.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357191338.530886.jpg



iOS and Tapatalk have conspired to screw up this post.


I have been getting these too wasnt sure if it was a bug or if it was intentional some of mine have more info but the map no longer moves when stopped and they pop up. I can't decide if I like it better when it pops up and moves the map or if I like it better not moving.
Area Manager Oklahoma city, OK
http://cameronandmadalyn.com
camrun91
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:19 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Previous

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users