Android beta 3.5.1.905/9 feedback thread

Moderators: Unholy, hilaroth, bextein

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:09 am

After an installation, the widged had "no clue" :) But initiating a refresh with disabled network connections has set it to an unstoppable "updating" state for hours.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2545 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:17 pm

Suik wrote:
foxitrot wrote:Today I've once got a request to follow the route for more than 900 000 km. Crash afterwards.

900k km?? That's distance from Sun to Mars :shock: :shock:

This number/sentence was placed at the top of screen. On the bottom of screen there were even larger numbers (possibly from the ETA box?) but I've not got enough time to read and understand them, as they were severly overflowing the map.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2545 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Mon Jan 07, 2013 6:39 pm

Today I've once got a request to follow the route for more than 900 000 km. Crash afterwards.

On the subsequent run, after reaching the via point (but not yet the destination!), the client told me at least 15 times that I've reached the destination, until I've stopped the navigation.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2545 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Mon Jan 07, 2013 11:37 am

@fotrik: These were exactly my points. (Besides this, I agree that ETA is an elegant shortcut.)
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2545 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Re: Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:41 am

Autourdupc wrote:
petervdveen wrote:The ETA is 7:43.f
Or do you mean the text 'ETA'?
I think it's clear enough.

Oups !
Bec. text "ETA" is not here, I tought it was the time...
I think ETA text should come back !

Would be a pure wasting of space. All possible info is being displayed there, but ETA is just one of them. Additionally the word has no meaning in non-English languages. It would either have to be translated, or you again have to learn its meaning.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2545 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Sat Jan 05, 2013 12:31 pm

While desperately trying to create a route with an arbitrary stop point on a road, I've managed to be navigated without the ETA box being displayed.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2545 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby foxitrot » Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:37 am

Autourdupc wrote:We need that Waze respects the radius setting. The "On route only" should be one more setting added with a checkbox, not a choice.

For example, I need to get reports in a radius of 5 km, only on my route.
Actually, I have to make a choice between a radius OR only on my route.

Additionally, the Radius value should be used while the client is not displaying any route. Otherwise the client would have to choose itself between "no events" (because no route is available) or "all events" (because Waze might think "no events" is not the right choice).
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2545 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905/9 feedback thread

Postby fotrik » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:39 am

paulkok_my wrote:It would be nice to have gas station's brand icon on the client instead of just the name.

Nice idea but I think it's not feasible to have icon for all brands in all countries and if shown only some of them this would be an advangate for them for nothing. Could be good opportunity for Waze to offer it as paid service. ;) But this is for discussion not in this beta thread.
ImageImage
fotrik
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:08 am
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 120 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905/9 feedback thread

Postby fotrik » Sun Jan 13, 2013 2:54 pm

bedo2991 wrote:Today I found out that it's not translated because in the lang.language file you gave them there's a "double space" between "is" and "turned":
Code: Select all
Your phone's GPS is  turned OFF=Il GPS è spento

instead of:
Code: Select all
Your phone's GPS is turned OFF=Il GPS è spento

There are some other in the translation file, check them too.

Fixed in translation system. When processed by your local translator it will appear in client soon.
ImageImage
fotrik
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:08 am
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 120 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905/9 feedback thread

Postby fotrik » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:36 pm

bedo2991 wrote:Perlin read this! Good news below! :D :D
From the very first release the sentence "Your phone GPS is turned OFF" is in english in many translation (maybe all? I've only tried Italian and French). I've asked my CM why and she said "We can't translate it because of a bug" (and I believed her).
Today I found out that it's not translated because in the lang.language file you gave them there's a "double space" between "is" and "turned":
Code: Select all
Your phone's GPS is  turned OFF=Il GPS è spento

instead of:
Code: Select all
Your phone's GPS is turned OFF=Il GPS è spento

There are some other in the translation file, check them too.

This is nothing for perlin or this thread. Please send this to translations@waze.com
ImageImage
fotrik
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:08 am
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 120 times

PreviousNext

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users