Android beta 3.5.1.905/9 feedback thread

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy, hilaroth

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905/9 feedback thread

Postby porubcan » Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:20 am

Strange. Although client was running fine for couple of days, yesterday around noon it wasn't able to get GPS lock for several minutes. Another drive was fine.

EDIT: I had phone hanged today morning just after I tried to report gas prices. more details: there were no visible problems on 50+ km trip, I reported gas prices for 6 (or more) gas stations, but at around 7:35 UTC+1 just after I pressed report prices button, screen freezed and phone hanged. had to hard reboot it. I havent faced system ganged for weeks/months, so this was really suprise. as debug was not set by default for this beta, I sent only 2 logs at 7:48 UTC+1.

Perlin, would it be possible to have DEBUG always ON for beta versions? (I now this is not first time we are asking)
Image Image
Editing & Client Expert, AM @ South-West Slovakia
Waze 3.7.6.992 on HTC One, Android 4.2.2 @ white Škoda Octavia
porubcan
 
Posts: 3201
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 227 times
Been thanked: 736 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby pvaladares » Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:35 am

Hello!

So far I already got 2 messages indicating "-1 nearby Wazers".
It should not show a negative number.

2013-01-07 19.06.58.png
2013-01-07 19.06.58.png (163.81 KiB) Viewed 279 times
Country Manager for Portugal | Champ | Expert Android and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
pvaladares
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Porto/Lisboa, Portugal
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: What to do after paving a road is a dead end

Postby pvaladares » Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:52 am

skbun wrote:If a user paves a road in the client, when they complete it, they'll see this:

Done?

Click 'Stop' and make sure to go to http://www.waze.com/livemap to name this new road and publish it.


The problem is, the livemap has nothing to do with naming and fixing up new roads. Should a user take this advice, they'll end up on the Livemap page, where we already know the visible layer is months out of date, and it's not obvious what a user is supposed to do, unless they're lucky enough to click 'update map'.

Can you please change this error/notification to point instead to http://www.waze.com/editor?

(I have heard rumors that 'pave road' is no longer the ideal way to add roads, but whether true or not, this is STILL pointing people in the wrong direction, and will only lead to frustration if anyone attempts to take this advice. Some of the editors/champs on here have complained that users just don't pave roads after they make them, and given this erroneous message, I wouldn't expect them to try.)


This can be tweaked in the translation file.
Check the translation team of your country.
Country Manager for Portugal | Champ | Expert Android and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
pvaladares
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Porto/Lisboa, Portugal
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905/9 feedback thread

Postby Samuelfac » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:20 pm

The problem with small screen vertically continues ...
horizontally buttons are cut!

https://world.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=373&t=32378&start=50#p296094

screenshot.jpg
screenshot.jpg (67.55 KiB) Viewed 362 times

screenshot (1).jpg
screenshot (1).jpg (61.94 KiB) Viewed 362 times



Samsung Galaxy Y...
Last edited by Samuelfac on Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Samuelfac
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 12:28 pm
Location: Joinville, SC, Brasil
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby Seasider » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:41 am

As stated earlier, yeah, the widget is fixed again, but formatting is off and also it's become a 4 x 2 widget when was 4 x 1 previously, which means I've lost a row of shortcuts on my home screen (needlessly it would appear, see pic)

uploadfromtaptalk1357292490052.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1357292490052.jpg (99.74 KiB) Viewed 509 times


Seasider (Galaxy SIII)
Sometimes, the light at the end of the tunnel is a train coming the other way!
Seasider

Sometimes, the light at the end of the tunnel, is just a train coming the other way!!!

Client - Samsung Galaxy S3 - Jellybean
AM - Lancs UK (most of)
Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/Seasider1972
Emyther - waze.map.update.lancs@gmail.com
Seasider
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:28 pm
Location: In the dark recesses of my own mind - and Blackpool, Lancs
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 time

What to do after paving a road is a dead end

Postby skbun » Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:38 am

If a user paves a road in the client, when they complete it, they'll see this:

Done?

Click 'Stop' and make sure to go to http://www.waze.com/livemap to name this new road and publish it.


The problem is, the livemap has nothing to do with naming and fixing up new roads. Should a user take this advice, they'll end up on the Livemap page, where we already know the visible layer is months out of date, and it's not obvious what a user is supposed to do, unless they're lucky enough to click 'update map'.

Can you please change this error/notification to point instead to http://www.waze.com/editor?

(I have heard rumors that 'pave road' is no longer the ideal way to add roads, but whether true or not, this is STILL pointing people in the wrong direction, and will only lead to frustration if anyone attempts to take this advice. Some of the editors/champs on here have complained that users just don't pave roads after they make them, and given this erroneous message, I wouldn't expect them to try.)
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby skbun » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:28 pm

I should include this one here; it came out in another thread.

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
pvaladares wrote:It would be nice if there was a button to report it 'not there' right next to the 'thanks' button.

There is, but only if the alert applies to your road and direction of travel. Otherwise, Waze must assume that you are not knowledgeable enough to actually state it isn't there. Of course, that also suggests that the "Thanks" button should also not be there....


I wonder how difficult it would be to make the behaviour of clicking on a report act like gas prices already do. After all, we already see 'You are only allowed to report gas prices at the station', and that's measured by how far away you are 'as the crow flies'. The reasoning Waze put in for that is 'You're close enough to see the gas prices, so you can report', so one could say 'Why should reports be any different?'

It'd be:
'On clicking a report, how far are you physically from it?' if:
"Close", include the 'Not there' option...or
"Not close", give the standard 'Comment' and 'Thanks' options you'll usually see when clicking on a random report not on your route.

I only mention this as a real possibility because we already know the functionality of whether something is 'close' is already built in.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905 feedback thread

Postby SocalToe » Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:16 am

May or may not be a 905 beta problem.

Since I installed 905, 'my drives' aren't showing up......


:?:
Ed
SocalToe
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Wrong initial driving direction

Postby SocalToe » Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:35 am

Wrong initial driving direction....

I noted this when 3.5 first came out (compared to 3.2)


Waze still starts me out in the wrong initial direction.


If I'm on the south side of an east-west street, setting the initial driving direction as east would be correct 90-95% of the time (this what 3.2 did)

(east side of north-south street sends you south, etc.......)

3.5 starts me out going west 95% of the time (and around the block)


On larger streets, starting west on the south side of an east-west street is often not even possible.........
Ed
SocalToe
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Android beta 3.5.1.905/9 feedback thread

Postby SocalToe » Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:35 am

Got home, but didn't turn waze off right away......

Every minute or so it kept repeating


'you have arrived at home'
....
'you have arrived at home'
....


The first time it repeated it may have been due to the phone switching over from 3G to my home wifi. After that I don't know why it would keep repeating.
Ed
SocalToe
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

PreviousNext

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users