iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Moderators: Unholy, hilaroth, bextein

Re: iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Feb 21, 2013 4:54 pm

Dave2084 wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Waze continues to do a poor job in areas with low reception. If the duration of network loss exceeds a certain number of minutes the app never recovers the network connection. You have to close the app and restart.


Have you tried toggling airplane mode on/off briefly, that usually works for me?

Yes. What I find interesting is that the app will sometimes then remove the "Searching network..." notice, but if I try to post a report, it still pops up with "no network connection." Other times, it still shows searching. Either way, after about 20-30 minutes, Waze will never reconnect in my experience. This is going on 2 years of this bad behavior.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1084 times
Been thanked: 4607 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:31 pm

The current method for determining what streetnames are shown on-screen needs some tweaking, IMO. There are now too few street names, the one or two which do appear are either such minor streets that 90% of traffic doesn't drive on them, or they are duplicated with the purple street names for the current route.

For example, permalink location, I would remove the "SW Friendly" street name. It's a dead-end very minor road. There is no purpose to it's name being shown. However, the primary streets should definitely be considered for display, especially if they are connected to the current route. Major roads are much better "landmarkers" or "guide roads" than a dead-end street.

Here's my mock up showing names which should be displayed instead:
fix_displayed_streetnames.jpg
Mock up of how/which streetnames to show
fix_displayed_streetnames.jpg (44.48 KiB) Viewed 1162 times


And here is another example of duplicated streetnames making a mess on the map. If it's already showing in purple, don't show it in black/regular name display:
remove_duplicate_names.jpg
remove_duplicate_names.jpg (25.83 KiB) Viewed 1162 times
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1084 times
Been thanked: 4607 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Postby sketch » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:10 pm

jasonh300 wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I did a search for the "safeway" grocery store yesterday to add as a stop point. Waze jumped straight to my contacts to show my a single result: "Keith Stokes" I found multiple hits for "safeway" under bing, foursquare, etc., so why did Waze jump directly to contacts?

Same thing here..."Mcdonalds" brought me to an e-mail link for my office e-mail.

I'm having the same problem with a number of searches.

The Contacts search should only search the name field of the contacts, IMO. Further, Contact results should not be prioritized over other results, especially when the search does not include the name of any contact. The best results seem to come from Foursquare, FWIW...
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
new orleans based • detroit enthusiast • usa country manager
2013 ford focus titanium hatchback 5mt • performance blue
Image Image
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5714
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1251 times
Been thanked: 1732 times

iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Postby scarlogarcia » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:20 pm

Sent "my location" from "send location" feature. That location is a no named parking lot saved to my favorites as "Work".

My SMS message doesn't really inform where I am but only a blank space.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361474233.789867.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361474233.789867.jpg (13.56 KiB) Viewed 1027 times





Sent from my mobile
scarlogarcia
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2455
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:12 am
Location: Brasília/Brazil.
Has thanked: 990 times
Been thanked: 1756 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:13 pm

scarlogarcia wrote:Sent "my location" from "send location" feature. That location is a no named parking lot saved to my favorites as "Work".

My SMS message doesn't really inform where I am but only a blank space.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361474233.789867.jpg

Sent from my mobile


Does it normally put something there other than the URL link? If so, I'm not sure what else it could put if you're on an unnamed road. Is there anything in the City field on that road?
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
South-Central Regional Coordinator
(LA/MS/AR...contact karlcr9911 for TX/OK related issues)
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7565
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 401 times
Been thanked: 969 times

iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Postby scarlogarcia » Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:17 am

There is a parking lot without name but with city field filled.

I understand your point but I was expecting something like this:
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361495750.671189.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361495750.671189.jpg (15.7 KiB) Viewed 1020 times



Sent from my mobile
scarlogarcia
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2455
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:12 am
Location: Brasília/Brazil.
Has thanked: 990 times
Been thanked: 1756 times

iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Postby scarlogarcia » Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:46 am

perlin wrote:
scarlogarcia wrote:
perlin wrote:What do you mean by "is that expected". Also, why do you have a stop point flag? Did you add a stop?


Sorry, I didn't describe.

I was making a randomly and crazy test. So, I set a "start point" (not a stop point) and a destination. What I mean for "expected"? I got my "highlighted route" not fitted to my start and destination point. Since that rout of 120 meters had its highlighted route totally outside of my points.

I never made such test before so I don't know if it is related to this beta version or not. If not, please ignore my post.

Couldn't reproduce. If you have exact steps to reproduce it, please share.

As described by Davidt here viewtopic.php?f=373&t=40677&start=30#p371065

That route must be very short, less than 700 meters I guess.


ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361496934.650947.jpg


Similar behavior was observed for long routes at the beginning of a run when I got an instruction "proceed to the highlighted route". Noticed that last behavior in all non-beta version of of Waze as far as I can remember.

Do you want me to document this last "bug" when it happens?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361497508.083699.jpg







Sent from my mobile
scarlogarcia
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2455
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:12 am
Location: Brasília/Brazil.
Has thanked: 990 times
Been thanked: 1756 times

iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Postby kieranrawley » Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:15 am

I planned a long route with a stop to meet my my dad. The nav line was spot on but the associated timings/ distances were wildly inaccurate. Stop 1 min from now and 500+ miles?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361704444.124115.jpg


On a separate note I was offered two different journey lengths with the same timing.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361704468.290086.jpg
(I'll go for a run when I've got this little bit sorted..........)

ImageImageImage
kieranrawley
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Postby kieranrawley » Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:17 am

Not sure where my photos are in the previous post.
(I'll go for a run when I've got this little bit sorted..........)

ImageImageImage
kieranrawley
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.99.8 feedback thread

Postby perlin » Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:41 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:The current method for determining what streetnames are shown on-screen needs some tweaking, IMO

I agree with you on that and I've passed your suggestions on to the relevant people.
Image
Join Waze. We have cookies..
perlin
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:42 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 74 times

PreviousNext

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users