Reduce unlock requests?

Forum for requesting any unlocks, closures or fixes by a higher rank editor.
Please read "Posting Guidelines" before submitting your request.

Moderators: Unholy, Timbones

Reduce unlock requests?

Postby woodvale » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:12 pm

Could always set up a Lock Request forum where CMs can post requests for L3s to lock segments for them :D


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
woodvale
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:54 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Has thanked: 475 times
Been thanked: 599 times

Reduce unlock requests?

Postby CTCNetwork » Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:45 pm

Hi,

I suspect that when L5 editors make some small changes to a road and then save it, the lock status remains.
Thus a road that may not ordinarily be L5 locked will get locked.
Would it be worth while L5 editors/CM's actually checking whether a lock is in place (and removing it) before saving?
This may reduce the requirement for unlock requests.

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Location: Gone!
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby leocylau » Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:18 pm

dknight212 wrote:
woodvale wrote:Could always set up a Lock Request forum where CMs can post requests for L3s to lock segments for them :D


Not entirely a bad idea!

+1 :lol:
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3481
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 673 times
Been thanked: 419 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:11 am

woodvale wrote:Could always set up a Lock Request forum where CMs can post requests for L3s to lock segments for them :D


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Not entirely a bad idea!
dknight212
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby leocylau » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:38 pm

IMO should keep the original Lock level by default. And add an check box to lock in L5.
However, as Dave said Waze have a gazillion things to fix first :mrgreen:
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3481
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 673 times
Been thanked: 419 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby leocylau » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:35 pm

woodvale wrote:Could always set up a Lock Request forum where CMs can post requests for L3s to lock segments for them :D

:lol: :lol: :lol:
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3481
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 673 times
Been thanked: 419 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:48 pm

Kind of. I'm sure some script could help the situation a bit. However, if we're changing something the alternative to locking at level 5 is no locking at all. I'm not sure which is worse.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2
dknight212
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby Twister-UK » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:29 pm

Ok, that explains it a bit better - so for CMs it'd be useful to highlight any segments high are already locked at a lower level, so they can avoid inadvertently raising the lock level when they edit those segments, right? Should also be possible to script that instead...
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 2168 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:45 pm

Twister_UK wrote:
Dave2084 wrote:The thing is, if you have multiple segments selected, even if only one is not locked WME does not show the selection as locked.

Ideally, for partial lock of a selection it should show as grey (or something similar) ... but I'm sure Waze have a gazillion things to fix first.


Not 100% clear on what you mean here - if I select one or more locked segments, regardless of whether I also have any unlocked segments in the selection, I get the "You cannot edit these segments..." message in the General tab, so although all the segment highlights are shown in blue, WME does still provide indication that the selection can't be edited.

If you'd like to see the actual highlights change colour to indicate a lock somewhere within that selection, it shouldn't be difficult to script something to achieve this...


But a CM can edit anywhere so they wouldn't get that message. As Dave said, if we select segments with a mix of locked and unlocked, all we see in the properties box is unlocked.
dknight212
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby Twister-UK » Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:39 pm

Dave2084 wrote:The thing is, if you have multiple segments selected, even if only one is not locked WME does not show the selection as locked.

Ideally, for partial lock of a selection it should show as grey (or something similar) ... but I'm sure Waze have a gazillion things to fix first.


Not 100% clear on what you mean here - if I select one or more locked segments, regardless of whether I also have any unlocked segments in the selection, I get the "You cannot edit these segments..." message in the General tab, so although all the segment highlights are shown in blue, WME does still provide indication that the selection can't be edited.

If you'd like to see the actual highlights change colour to indicate a lock somewhere within that selection, it shouldn't be difficult to script something to achieve this...
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 2168 times

Next

Return to UK Editor Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users