Reduce unlock requests?

Forum for requesting any unlocks, closures or fixes by a higher rank editor.
Please read "Posting Guidelines" before submitting your request.

Moderators: Unholy, dmcconachie

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:17 pm

Lock levels is something that has been discussed with Waze staff. Not sure where it is in development, but it is something that we realize is needed and have pushed for.
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Reduce unlock requests?

Postby CTCNetwork » Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:45 pm

Hi,

I suspect that when L5 editors make some small changes to a road and then save it, the lock status remains.
Thus a road that may not ordinarily be L5 locked will get locked.
Would it be worth while L5 editors/CM's actually checking whether a lock is in place (and removing it) before saving?
This may reduce the requirement for unlock requests.

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby CTCNetwork » Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:44 pm

HI,

Yes, that thought had crossed my mind. But then unrelated edits (a locked road connected to some other road that needs editing) also affect it's editability.

So where does the line get drawn?

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby Dave2084 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:12 pm

The thing is, if you have multiple segments selected, even if only one is not locked WME does not show the selection as locked.

Ideally, for partial lock of a selection it should show as grey (or something similar) ... but I'm sure Waze have a gazillion things to fix first.
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 8.1.1 • Waze 3.9.3.920 Beta
Level 6 Editor • Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2146
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 286 times
Been thanked: 277 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:05 pm

I try sometimes but if a level 3 locks something I'd be wrong to unlock it entirely right?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 471 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:47 pm

I don't know. But I'd love to be able to lock at a lower level.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 471 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:45 pm

Twister_UK wrote:
Dave2084 wrote:The thing is, if you have multiple segments selected, even if only one is not locked WME does not show the selection as locked.

Ideally, for partial lock of a selection it should show as grey (or something similar) ... but I'm sure Waze have a gazillion things to fix first.


Not 100% clear on what you mean here - if I select one or more locked segments, regardless of whether I also have any unlocked segments in the selection, I get the "You cannot edit these segments..." message in the General tab, so although all the segment highlights are shown in blue, WME does still provide indication that the selection can't be edited.

If you'd like to see the actual highlights change colour to indicate a lock somewhere within that selection, it shouldn't be difficult to script something to achieve this...


But a CM can edit anywhere so they wouldn't get that message. As Dave said, if we select segments with a mix of locked and unlocked, all we see in the properties box is unlocked.
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 471 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:48 pm

Kind of. I'm sure some script could help the situation a bit. However, if we're changing something the alternative to locking at level 5 is no locking at all. I'm not sure which is worse.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 471 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:11 am

woodvale wrote:Could always set up a Lock Request forum where CMs can post requests for L3s to lock segments for them :D


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Not entirely a bad idea!
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 471 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby leocylau » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:35 pm

woodvale wrote:Could always set up a Lock Request forum where CMs can post requests for L3s to lock segments for them :D

:lol: :lol: :lol:
UK WikiWaze StatusUK Forum

'For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved.' 1 Cor. 10:33b

Newcastle upon Tyne AM, HK CM
Motorola Razr i
Image
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2802
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 409 times
Been thanked: 253 times

Next

Return to UK Editor Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users