Reduce unlock requests?

Forum for requesting any unlocks, closures or fixes by a higher rank editor.
Please read "Posting Guidelines" before submitting your request.

Moderators: Unholy, Timbones

Reduce unlock requests?

Postby woodvale » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:12 pm

Could always set up a Lock Request forum where CMs can post requests for L3s to lock segments for them :D


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
John
woodvale UK Champ, UK CM, AM City and South London, Jamaica WI
Latest Waze on Galaxy S7 Android 7.0
Waze FAQ UK Wazeopedia UK Forum
ImageImageImage
woodvale
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2799
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:54 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Has thanked: 587 times
Been thanked: 888 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby Twister-UK » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:29 pm

Ok, that explains it a bit better - so for CMs it'd be useful to highlight any segments high are already locked at a lower level, so they can avoid inadvertently raising the lock level when they edit those segments, right? Should also be possible to script that instead...
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
L5 AM SE England & Shetland Islands / WME Beta Tester / Script Writer
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork and Chrome Web Store


ImageImageImage
Twister-UK
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 3086
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 470 times
Been thanked: 2889 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby Twister-UK » Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:39 pm

Dave2084 wrote:The thing is, if you have multiple segments selected, even if only one is not locked WME does not show the selection as locked.

Ideally, for partial lock of a selection it should show as grey (or something similar) ... but I'm sure Waze have a gazillion things to fix first.


Not 100% clear on what you mean here - if I select one or more locked segments, regardless of whether I also have any unlocked segments in the selection, I get the "You cannot edit these segments..." message in the General tab, so although all the segment highlights are shown in blue, WME does still provide indication that the selection can't be edited.

If you'd like to see the actual highlights change colour to indicate a lock somewhere within that selection, it shouldn't be difficult to script something to achieve this...
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
L5 AM SE England & Shetland Islands / WME Beta Tester / Script Writer
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork and Chrome Web Store


ImageImageImage
Twister-UK
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 3086
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 470 times
Been thanked: 2889 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby thefatveganchef » Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:17 pm

Lock levels is something that has been discussed with Waze staff. Not sure where it is in development, but it is something that we realize is needed and have pushed for.
thefatveganchef
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby leocylau » Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:18 pm

dknight212 wrote:
woodvale wrote:Could always set up a Lock Request forum where CMs can post requests for L3s to lock segments for them :D


Not entirely a bad idea!

+1 :lol:
UK WikiWaze StatusUK Forum

'For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved.' 1 Cor. 10:33b

Newcastle upon Tyne AM, HK CM
Motorola Razr i
Image
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3958
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 790 times
Been thanked: 546 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby leocylau » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:38 pm

IMO should keep the original Lock level by default. And add an check box to lock in L5.
However, as Dave said Waze have a gazillion things to fix first :mrgreen:
UK WikiWaze StatusUK Forum

'For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved.' 1 Cor. 10:33b

Newcastle upon Tyne AM, HK CM
Motorola Razr i
Image
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3958
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 790 times
Been thanked: 546 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby leocylau » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:35 pm

woodvale wrote:Could always set up a Lock Request forum where CMs can post requests for L3s to lock segments for them :D

:lol: :lol: :lol:
UK WikiWaze StatusUK Forum

'For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved.' 1 Cor. 10:33b

Newcastle upon Tyne AM, HK CM
Motorola Razr i
Image
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3958
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 790 times
Been thanked: 546 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:11 am

woodvale wrote:Could always set up a Lock Request forum where CMs can post requests for L3s to lock segments for them :D


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Not entirely a bad idea!
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:48 pm

Kind of. I'm sure some script could help the situation a bit. However, if we're changing something the alternative to locking at level 5 is no locking at all. I'm not sure which is worse.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Reduce unlock requests?

Postby dknight212 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:45 pm

Twister_UK wrote:
Dave2084 wrote:The thing is, if you have multiple segments selected, even if only one is not locked WME does not show the selection as locked.

Ideally, for partial lock of a selection it should show as grey (or something similar) ... but I'm sure Waze have a gazillion things to fix first.


Not 100% clear on what you mean here - if I select one or more locked segments, regardless of whether I also have any unlocked segments in the selection, I get the "You cannot edit these segments..." message in the General tab, so although all the segment highlights are shown in blue, WME does still provide indication that the selection can't be edited.

If you'd like to see the actual highlights change colour to indicate a lock somewhere within that selection, it shouldn't be difficult to script something to achieve this...


But a CM can edit anywhere so they wouldn't get that message. As Dave said, if we select segments with a mix of locked and unlocked, all we see in the properties box is unlocked.
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Next

Return to UK Editor Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users