New Editor, Parking lot advice

Moderators: delilush, GizmoGuy411, roadtechie, SkiDooGuy

New Editor, Parking lot advice

Postby millenniumtree » Mon Apr 10, 2017 5:04 pm

Hey all,

I'm a new editor. I also play Cities:Skylines, and Waze map editing is sort of the same task. :)

I've been struggling with what to do. As the automatic reports of missing parking lot places come up, I've been adding them, but I may have gotten a little carried away adding parking lots all over the place.

Could someone please clarify if there are 'unnecessary' parking lots, and if I should or shouldn't add them?
Small lots with a single entrance, for example?
What about lots that can be entered from two different streets?

Also, I noticed some roads around my work that were misnamed and mis-classified as parking lot roads. I renamed and re-classified them, but now I'm reading on the Wikis that sometimes they are classified intentionally to avoid navigation issues (although that seems mainly for highway vs street classificiation)

Here's the area around my work:
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... 231&zoom=5
https://www.google.com/maps/@43.0592539,-89.2920392,17z

I realized right away that trying to add a parking lot road onto a Lvl 2+ road didn't work, so have been sticking with adding them to Lvl 1 roads and carefully verifying turn restrictions before saving.

Anyway, some guidance on what's appropriate regarding parking lots would be nice. I find this sort of task to be relaxing, especially while I'm at home sick. :P
millenniumtree

Re: New Editor, Parking lot advice

Postby WarhawkTrombone » Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:47 am

Hi milleniumtree!

Looks like you're doing a lot of good editing so far. A couple things to help you make it even better:

I see you've already read some of the Wazeopedia pages (formerly the Waze wiki). I'll give you a few links to specific pages regarding any issues, but the best place to start is here. The Wisconsin page will help a lot as well.