GPS Connectivity/Setting

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

GPS Connectivity/Setting

Postby RiskeyBlue » Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:17 am

"No GPS connection. Make sure you are outdoors. currently showing approximate location". This message almost always appear whenever I press "map issue". That is why whenever I use waze on the move, my mobile position is never updated realtime. I am using both Ipod and Ipad running on mobile wifi transmitter (city: Jakarta_Indonesia). Consequently, I could never navigate myself, let alone collect points along the way because my pin just 'jumps' from one location to another whenever it seems to find GPS. I also dare not report anything because i am unsure waze will report my exact correct location. Is there settings problem or is this issue typical for Indonesia?
RiskeyBlue
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:47 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: GPS Connectivity/Setting

Postby AndyPoms » Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:38 am

Both the iPod & the iPad Wi-Fi only versions do not have an actual GPS chip in them, they rely on other methods to determine your location. You will need an external GPS device for Waze to work properly.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7067
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 127 times
Been thanked: 1284 times

Re: GPS Connectivity/Setting

Postby RiskeyBlue » Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:50 am

thank you for your reply. just saw in this web also that the app is not really supported for ipod as well. thanks again.
RiskeyBlue
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:47 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: GPS Connectivity/Setting

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:09 pm

The iPod doesn't really support the app, not the app doesn't support iPod. You cannot have a GPS navigation system without GPS, so if your device doesn't have GPS, well, then... you're kinda out of luck. Except for using an external GPS unit as Andy points out.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23439
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1080 times
Been thanked: 4555 times

Re: GPS Connectivity/Setting

Postby floppyrod84 » Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:01 pm

The app works fine. Your product does not have GPS. It's that simple. Buy an iPhone ;-)

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: GPS Connectivity/Setting

Postby AndyPoms » Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:26 pm

xteejx wrote:It's that simple. Buy an iPhone ;-)

Or, you know, a good phone... Any of the Android models will do nicely...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7067
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 127 times
Been thanked: 1284 times

Re: GPS Connectivity/Setting

Postby floppyrod84 » Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:34 pm

Massive +1

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: GPS Connectivity/Setting

Postby mwburn » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:05 pm

venisiana wrote:"I am using both Ipod and Ipad running on mobile wifi transmitter


Is your iPad WiFi only?

If not, I believe you can disable the cellular data (to avoid those pop-ups) but still use "location services for GPS (I'll try it later tonight at home).
I'd be ranked higher if I drove more than 5 miles to work. :-(
But I only have to drive 5 miles to work. :-)

Image
mwburn
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:05 pm
Location: Utah, USA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: GPS Connectivity/Setting

Postby floppyrod84 » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:45 pm

It... Still... Doesn't... Have... A... Gps... Chip
It will not work. Waze needs full gps, not a mock up based on cell location.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: GPS Connectivity/Setting

Postby jeffyap1985 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:41 pm

I have problem in GPS connection for my Galaxy Note 2, it often appear to be NO GPS even i am outdoor or inside my car. it works fine on my Galaxy note last time. Please help out!
jeffyap1985
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 9:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Kentodd103