I need help understanding how TTS works

Moderators: Unholy, orit_y

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby fuchserl » Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:03 pm

As far as I know and as I experienced when I was last year abroad in a country with another language, if my TTS language is set to German it will pronounce street names in Italian or Dutch with German pronounciation.
I don't know if there are any limitations to this functionality, if some TTS languages are restricted to certain countries or such. I am sure it will not work if the street names are in another script that the TTS language is not made for (e.g. English with arabic, kyrillic etc)
fuchserl
Map Editor - Level 6
Map Editor - Level 6
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:04 pm
Location: Salzburg, Austria
Has thanked: 203 times
Been thanked: 402 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby Al-Janoubie » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:36 pm

Thanks for your clarification, fuchserl

One thing that still confuses me:
fuchserl wrote:In the app street names are only output in the (one) set TTS language of the app, no matter in which country you are.

are you sure of the red statement? if so, why English TTS is not working in certain countries?
Al-Janoubie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 4:48 am
Location: Egypt
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby fuchserl » Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:41 am

AlObaili wrote:I can see that in no1ne's area there are multiple languages supported. How does this actually work? Can I enter more than one primary name and click the speaker icon for each to set the language?


In the WME you can only test, how street names are spoken in various languages. this is not to set anything for the app.
In the app street names are only output in the (one) set TTS language of the app, no matter in which country you are.

You can, however, create / have Waze create abbreviations with conditions for several languages, so that signs/abbreviations that are used in your country, e.g. ">" for direction/Richtung/richting/direcion/direzione or the airplane sign for airport, are output in several languages, depending on what TTS language is set in the app of the user
fuchserl
Map Editor - Level 6
Map Editor - Level 6
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:04 pm
Location: Salzburg, Austria
Has thanked: 203 times
Been thanked: 402 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby Al-Janoubie » Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:50 pm

AlObaili wrote:I can see that in no1ne's area there are multiple languages supported. How does this actually work? Can I enter more than one primary name and click the speaker icon for each to set the language?

if you noticed, all those languages are using "Latin characters"
I think multi-lang would give different pronunciation for the same Latin street name.
Al-Janoubie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 4:48 am
Location: Egypt
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby AlObaili » Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:32 pm

Al-Janoubie wrote:Dear AlObaili,
Yes, you are right. but I'm trying to make the TTS run with English (Not Arabic)
please go to: settings - Voice Directions, then tell me:
can you see a voice called "Jane" in English voices? or you have the same situation in KSA?


No, I can't see the "Jane" voice in Saudi Arabia. The dropdown list in WME speaker icon doesn't show any language, too. This does mean that TTS is not supported for any language in Saudi Arabia.

no1ne wrote:you can see tts language enabled in you driving area

in WME : https://www.waze.com/editor/ (require your waze credential to access)
create/select a segment
edit it
clic on speaker
then on drop menu
Capture d’écran 2017-08-06 à 17.24.47.png

here you can listen tts rendering

I can see that in no1ne's area there are multiple languages supported. How does this actually work? Can I enter more than one primary name and click the speaker icon for each to set the language?
AlObaili
Map Editor - Level 5
Map Editor - Level 5
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 4:04 pm
Location: Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby Al-Janoubie » Sun Aug 06, 2017 4:52 pm

I've done what no1ne suggest.. it shows empty drop-down menu instead of languages
this mean TTS is not locally supported in any language, right?
Al-Janoubie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 4:48 am
Location: Egypt
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby no1ne » Sun Aug 06, 2017 3:32 pm

you can see tts language enabled in you driving area

in WME : https://www.waze.com/editor/ (require your waze credential to access)
create/select a segment
edit it
clic on speaker
then on drop menu
Capture d’écran 2017-08-06 à 17.24.47.png
(31.11 KiB) Downloaded 1298 times

here you can listen tts rendering
no1ne
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:15 pm
Location: An Oriant, Breizh , France
Has thanked: 586 times
Been thanked: 493 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby Al-Janoubie » Sun Aug 06, 2017 3:14 pm

Dear AlObaili,
Yes, you are right. but I'm trying to make the TTS run with English (Not Arabic)
please go to: settings - Voice Directions, then tell me:
can you see a voice called "Jane" in English voices? or you have the same situation in KSA?
Al-Janoubie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 4:48 am
Location: Egypt
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby AlObaili » Sat Aug 05, 2017 5:20 am

TTS and voice commands are enabled in each country as they become ready. If TTS and voice commands are not available in Egypt, this means they are not supported yet in Egypt.

If I'm correct, Arabic is the local language in Egypt, but TTS and voice commands are not yet supported for Arabic. Currently in Arabic, you can only use your voice to search for places.

I think if the local community agrees to add TTS and voice commands in languages other than Arabic, it is possible by asking the localization team directly, but I think it is best to wait for Arabic support since street names in Egypt are in Arabic.

I'm not sure if it is possible to add support for more than one language (e.g. English + French + Arabic when available) to one country.
AlObaili
Map Editor - Level 5
Map Editor - Level 5
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 4:04 pm
Location: Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby no1ne » Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:35 pm

ok i see
In cairo street name are in "arabic" as of today the tts engine can't mix latine and non latine language
ie if you use Eng TTS and drive in a spanish speaking country the tts will work as you werre reading spanish words with Eng pronunciation
but you can't set Waze tts to eng and make it read street name in arabic, hebrew, grec, cyrillic, kanji ...
no1ne
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:15 pm
Location: An Oriant, Breizh , France
Has thanked: 586 times
Been thanked: 493 times

Next

Return to Localization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users