I need help understanding how TTS works

Moderators: Unholy, orit_y

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby fuchserl » Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:41 am

AlObaili wrote:I can see that in no1ne's area there are multiple languages supported. How does this actually work? Can I enter more than one primary name and click the speaker icon for each to set the language?


In the WME you can only test, how street names are spoken in various languages. this is not to set anything for the app.
In the app street names are only output in the (one) set TTS language of the app, no matter in which country you are.

You can, however, create / have Waze create abbreviations with conditions for several languages, so that signs/abbreviations that are used in your country, e.g. ">" for direction/Richtung/richting/direcion/direzione or the airplane sign for airport, are output in several languages, depending on what TTS language is set in the app of the user
Wolfgang

Localiser (DE), Beta-WME, Android App Beta Leader, L6, LC, AM, CM (AT, BF, CD, CF, CG, CM, DJ, ER, ET, GH, GN, GQ, KE, SD, SO, SS, TD, UG)
[ img ]
fuchserl
Map Editor - Level 6
Map Editor - Level 6
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:04 pm
Location: Salzburg, Austria
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 481 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby Al-Janoubie » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:36 pm

Thanks for your clarification, fuchserl

One thing that still confuses me:
fuchserl wrote:In the app street names are only output in the (one) set TTS language of the app, no matter in which country you are.

are you sure of the red statement? if so, why English TTS is not working in certain countries?
Everyday, when I wake up, I am torn between two desires..
to change the world, and to enjoy the world..
between the struggling of the two, my day is ended..
Al-Janoubie
Map Editor - Level 4
Map Editor - Level 4
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 4:48 am
Location: Egypt
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby fuchserl » Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:03 pm

As far as I know and as I experienced when I was last year abroad in a country with another language, if my TTS language is set to German it will pronounce street names in Italian or Dutch with German pronounciation.
I don't know if there are any limitations to this functionality, if some TTS languages are restricted to certain countries or such. I am sure it will not work if the street names are in another script that the TTS language is not made for (e.g. English with arabic, kyrillic etc)
Wolfgang

Localiser (DE), Beta-WME, Android App Beta Leader, L6, LC, AM, CM (AT, BF, CD, CF, CG, CM, DJ, ER, ET, GH, GN, GQ, KE, SD, SO, SS, TD, UG)
[ img ]
fuchserl
Map Editor - Level 6
Map Editor - Level 6
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:04 pm
Location: Salzburg, Austria
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 481 times

Re: I need help understanding how TTS works

Postby test201805 » Tue May 15, 2018 8:33 am

thank you you all
test201805
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 8:15 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Previous

Return to Localization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users