Country borders accuracy (Switzerland with France/Germany)

Moderators: Unholy, orit_y

Re: Country borders accuracy (Geneva, Switzerland with Franc

Postby fuchserl » Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:40 am

Hi,

I have the same problem between Germany and Austria, also only since some months. I am driving only in Austria, probably my workplace is too close to the German border (though in the WME this is still seen as Austria), so I am listed in the German scoreboard.

I heard somewhere that support can set people belonging to one country, but that is not want I want either. I would like to be counted to the correct country automatically.
Wolfgang

Localiser (DE), Beta-WME, Android App Beta Leader, GC, LC, AM, CM (AT, BF, CD, CF, CG, CM, DJ, ER, ET, GH, GN, GQ, KE, SD, SO, SS, TD, UG)
[ img ][ img ]
fuchserl
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:04 pm
Location: Salzburg, Austria
Has thanked: 312 times
Been thanked: 565 times

Re: Country borders accuracy (Switzerland with France/German

Postby Mynios » Sun Oct 18, 2015 12:27 pm

Great job at the meetup Vince!
Mynios
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6911
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Has thanked: 2281 times
Been thanked: 2464 times

Re: Country borders accuracy (Switzerland with France/German

Postby omba_de » Tue Sep 29, 2015 3:49 am

That country boarder issue is a known thing. I talked with Irad about it in London. We're on it to solve the issue!
Probleme mit i-Gerät und Waze? Bitte melden. Als iOS-expert kann ich dir vielleicht weiter helfen!
[ img ]


AT-Wiki
Wie Waze Routen Kalkuliert
omba_de
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6960
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:08 pm
Location: Austria / Germany
Has thanked: 1587 times
Been thanked: 2124 times

Country borders accuracy (Switzerland with France/Germany)

Postby omba_de » Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:08 am

I'm in touch with her. But there's still a Hebrew holiday going on this week.
So if you all won't mind, please send me some examples in the meantime. (A screenshot of the issue, and a WME-permalink)
Waze loves examples!
Probleme mit i-Gerät und Waze? Bitte melden. Als iOS-expert kann ich dir vielleicht weiter helfen!
[ img ]


AT-Wiki
Wie Waze Routen Kalkuliert
omba_de
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6960
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:08 pm
Location: Austria / Germany
Has thanked: 1587 times
Been thanked: 2124 times

Re: Country borders accuracy (Switzerland with France/German

Postby omba_de » Sun Oct 18, 2015 6:49 pm

That Präsentation was really awesome!!! I need that tool
Probleme mit i-Gerät und Waze? Bitte melden. Als iOS-expert kann ich dir vielleicht weiter helfen!
[ img ]


AT-Wiki
Wie Waze Routen Kalkuliert
omba_de
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6960
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:08 pm
Location: Austria / Germany
Has thanked: 1587 times
Been thanked: 2124 times

Re: Country borders accuracy (Switzerland with France/German

Postby pjw65 » Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:45 pm

omba_de wrote:That Präsentation was really awesome!!! I need that tool


Yes, I liked it too.

But I don't like monthly fees for a product.
I found a free open source variant under http://sozi.baierouge.fr/ You need a SVG with the presentation and can define different views and rotations like in http://sozi.baierouge.fr/pages/10-about.html
It's working under Linux :) , but also on OSX and Windows.
[ img ]
CM Switzerland
Deutsch und English speaking/writing
pjw65
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:55 pm
Location: Amden
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 210 times

Re: Country borders accuracy (Geneva, Switzerland with Franc

Postby svx-biker » Fri Sep 25, 2015 3:12 pm

Thank you guys for bringing this up. I'm also occasionaly on the german scoreboard when I drive close to the border in Switzerland.
svx-biker
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 2435
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:43 am
Location: Germany, Austria and Switzerland (DACH)
Has thanked: 448 times
Been thanked: 359 times

Country borders accuracy (Switzerland with France/Germany)

Postby vince1612 » Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:46 am

I didn't know whether to post this in the Waze App or WME sections, so this forum looked more appropriate.

Geneva is a small Swiss "Canton" (State) that is surrounded by France:
[ img ]

We sometimes had hiccups about gas prices showing up wrong either in Swiss Francs (CHF) or in Euros (€) if we drive too close to borders but only minor problems.


The reason I am writing here today is that since I joined Waze I have always been correctly placed in the Swiss scoreboard on the Waze app, except on very rare occasions when I drove into France.
However for several months now when I go to the scoreboard in the app and tap country I see the one from France and I am listed in it. Which should not happen and it has never switched back like before.

Swiss scoreboard - Screenshot from Dec 2014 ------- French scoreboard - Screenshot from August 2015
[ img ] [ img ]


For the record, I am aware of the wiki : https://wiki.waze.com/wiki/FAQ#How_does ... country.3F

Wiki wrote:The scoreboard allows you to compete for points against other wazers in your state or country. Waze automatically matches you to the state or country based on where you have earned the most points in the last week.


What I do not understand is that I have not driven outside the country's borders in the past 2 months and have not changed my usual routine... This is the area I drive the most in (I checked on the "Drives" tab in WME):

[ img ]

Until 2015, driving in this area had always gotten me on the scoreboard for Switzerland but it somehow stopped. This is also happening to other Wazers in the area, such as MrGiiWa who wrote me a PM to ask me what was wrong, and which has led me to open this thread to -hopefully- find out.

Are borders used by the app for the scoreboard drawn with a WKT file ? has it been changed recently ? If so was it the french or swiss one ? Were they drawn with less accuracy than before ?

Thanks for any help or info that can help solve this.
Last edited by vince1612 on Fri Sep 25, 2015 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8630
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 5416 times
Been thanked: 5599 times

Re: Country borders accuracy (Geneva, Switzerland with Franc

Postby vince1612 » Mon Sep 14, 2015 8:17 am

https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=861&t=157477

More users in french speaking Switzerland have reported that they are now on the France scoreboard when they were always on the Swiss one before.

Any help ?
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8630
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 5416 times
Been thanked: 5599 times

Re: Country borders accuracy (Switzerland with France/German

Postby vince1612 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:59 am

omba_de wrote:That country boarder issue is a known thing. I talked with Irad about it in London. We're on it to solve the issue!

Maybe something to add to the list that Liz made for the DACH meetup ? Shall I ?
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8630
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 5416 times
Been thanked: 5599 times

Next

Return to Localization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users