[Script] WMEOpenData v2.32 (20170325)

[ img ]

Moderators: Unholy, Timbones

Re: [Script] WMEOpenData v1.36 (20130914)

Postby CTCNetwork » Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:47 am

Hi,

N.I.? Naa.. Love to help you but I'd need to drive around a bit to familiarise myself. :)

I have noticed in Derby and Notts in particular there are areas/suburbs that have no meaning or context to those areas, Wiki info on the burbs for Nottingham is pretty clear and straight forward (finding them is another matter!) but the script mentions places that leave me lost and confused!! :D

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Location: Gone!
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: [Script] WMEOpenData v1.36 (20130914)

Postby seriousarsonist » Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:57 am

CTCNetwork wrote:
Or I'm having a bad week/day/whatever. :D

Des. . . ;)


Or you are editing in NI where nothing matches and loads of villages have 2 names (I'm not counting Gaelic names either)


NI area manager (L4)
Waze Beta - iPhone 4s iOS 6.1.3, still in gaol
seriousarsonist
 
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:48 pm
Location: Northern Ireland
Has thanked: 377 times
Been thanked: 146 times

Re: [Script] WMEOpenData v1.36 (20130914)

Postby CTCNetwork » Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:10 am

Hi,

Yes, there does seem to be a bad case of "blur" but never seen it that badly that one village is given the name of another..!
Or I'm having a bad week/day/whatever. :D

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Location: Gone!
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: [Script] WMEOpenData v1.36 (20130914)

Postby Timbones » Mon Sep 16, 2013 8:51 pm

I think Des is commenting on how /large/ the villages appear in the OS Data, and often butt up against others. Some editors take the city suggestions (from OS) a little to literally, when they should be looking more closely at where the boundaries fall 'on the ground'.

It's best to leave roads between towns/villages in rural areas without cities to minimise 'city blur'.

via mobile
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6677
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 973 times
Been thanked: 2608 times

Re: [Script] WMEOpenData v1.36 (20130914)

Postby Twister-UK » Mon Sep 16, 2013 8:11 pm

It depends on which bit of OpenData you're looking at...

The OS has stated there are no deliberate errors in the streetname data, so anything amiss there is either a genuine error during data entry (I've found a handful of typos) or data that's been modified in the real world and hasn't yet made it into the most recent half-yearly update.

The locations given in the gazetteer data have been artificially fixed to a 1km grid, which means that the locality name at the top of the drop-down list in WMEOD isn't necessarily the one that's closest to the selected segment in reality, but neither should it be too far away. As with the streetname data, there will also be genuine errors, but other than the restricted accuracy of the locations there aren't any deliberate errors.

So yes, sometimes the OS data is wrong, but I've yet to be given any reason to think it's wrong to any great extent. If you've got any examples of locations that appear to be completely wrong, please post them here - it might indicate a bug in the script or the way I've processed the raw data from the OS...
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 2164 times

Re: [Script] WMEOpenData v1.36 (20130914)

Postby CTCNetwork » Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:29 pm

Hi,

I am starting to doubt the quality, accuracy and validity of ordinance survey/open data to a high degree. And given quite a bit of OpenStreetMap is based on what you get from ordinance survey, that is no better!
I mean, when you look at the map and it defines a town/village as being called "This Village" you don't expect to see on street view a sign just outside the village with "Another Village" on it (and that sign being placed on both entrance and exit to said town/village)!

Or maybe people don't actually know where they live?

Des. . . ;)
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:19 am
Location: Gone!
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: [Script] WMEOpenData v1.36 (20130914)

Postby Twister-UK » Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:27 pm

Expanding the scope of the script ever so slightly, and following a request from Superfraggle, 1.36 now includes a link and auto-tracking function for the Canary Islands government mapping site... As part of this update, the script now also automatically hides those parts of the UI which aren't applicable to the part of the world being viewed in WME.

Firefox+Greasemonkey version: http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/137249
Chrome packaged version: http://crx.chizzum.com/WMEOpenData.crx


As with the OS mapping site, the Canaries site also requires a helper script to enable the passing of location/zoom parameters.

Firefox+Greasemonkey version: http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/177787
Chrome packaged version: http://crx.chizzum.com/CanariesMapTracker.crx
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 2164 times

Re: [Script] WMEOpenData v1.35 (20130913)

Postby Twister-UK » Fri Sep 13, 2013 6:26 pm

OS OpenData FullHeight is now at 0.9 to make it compatible with the new OS site design. No changes required to WMEOD, which remains at 1.35.

Firefox+Greasemonkey version: http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/137248
Chrome packaged version: http://crx.chizzum.com/OpenDataFullHeight.crx
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 2164 times

Re: [Script] WMEOpenData v1.35 (20130820)

Postby Twister-UK » Fri Sep 13, 2013 6:11 am

Looks more like some of the page elements have been renamed, preventing the script from finding them - I'll get an update out ASAP...
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 2164 times

Re: [Script] WMEOpenData v1.35 (20130820)

Postby iainhouse » Fri Sep 13, 2013 1:23 am

Bad news Twister - I think they've changed the OS URL again. :evil:

The script is popping up the OS OpenData site, but without the full-height fix and not zoomed to the editor location.
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 7478
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity
Has thanked: 1439 times
Been thanked: 4934 times

PreviousNext

Return to United Kingdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users