Routing errors in London

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy, dmcconachie

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby AndyPot2 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:02 pm

It's not just London. Last week I tried to plan a route on my iphone from Beaconsfield (which is M40 J1) to Girvan in South Ayrshire and couldn't one, however it would plan a route to Glasgow which is a fair bit further north but reasonably simple; M40, M25, M1, M6, M74. If you are going to Girvan you have to come off the M74 and go down a few wiggly bits :roll: .

I then tried on Live map and found the nearest I could get was a route from Uxbridge to Girvan. I ended up scrapping the idea and went by plane instead (I did remember to turn Waze turned off) but Waze worked a treat getting from the airport. No hanging around waiting for it to work out that it was 300 miles away from where it was last used unlike my old TomTom which could take up to 10 minutes.

I've just tried planning the route again in Live map and kept moving my start point further north until it worked, ended up getting one from Dumfries to Girvan which is not actually very far (65 miles) and it offered me three alternatives. All the following failed, Uxbridge, Watford, Northampton, Rugby and Carlisle. I tried each one several times and also tried each one to Glasgow which always worked.

Andy.
Image
AndyPot2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:01 pm
Location: Beaconsfield
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby CTCNetwork » Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:33 pm

Hi,

Good work guys. Would this have anything to do with the time that the routing is done? Is it confined to a particular time/s of day?
Does it tie up with say a busy route calculating period or maybe server/database cleanups or backups?

Des. . . ;)
I Waze in a Volvo, Don't Get In My Way! - WonkoTheSane.
Image
He shows up. People die. He vanishes.
"People should not be afraid of their Governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." "V"
Samsung Galaxy S3
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1236
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:08 am
Location: Earth
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby CTCNetwork » Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:15 pm

Hi,

When all else fails, throw some more pretty graphics at it, or another processor or two! :D

Des. . . ;)
I Waze in a Volvo, Don't Get In My Way! - WonkoTheSane.
Image
He shows up. People die. He vanishes.
"People should not be afraid of their Governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." "V"
Samsung Galaxy S3
CTCNetwork
 
Posts: 1236
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:08 am
Location: Earth
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:44 am

We are picking up quite a few routing errors in London at the moment. In particular routing from S or SW London to N or NW London seems to throw up problems. Some of these may be time dependent. Please can we collect any issues on this in this thread so we can see where the problems are arising. I had a few URs where I was tracking them but some very kind visitors to London have marked them as solved.

I have suspicions that both the A406 North Circular and A10 are involved somehow but no proof. there may be a map problem or some issue with Waze's algorithms on particular routes.

If anyone wants to do some debugging please do! I'm pulling my hair out at the moment, and it's my last one.

Example routes that seem to fail (on live map):

Sutton to Cockfosters
Tooting to Hoddesdon

This route was failing the other day but seems to be working at the moment

Chelsea to Hoddesdon
David (not Dave!) Knight • Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (CM10.1.3) • Ubuntu (latest)
UK Country AdminArea Manager for London
UK links: UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area Manager
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 452 times
Been thanked: 568 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:52 am

Ilford to Twickenham
David (not Dave!) Knight • Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (CM10.1.3) • Ubuntu (latest)
UK Country AdminArea Manager for London
UK links: UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area Manager
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 452 times
Been thanked: 568 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:55 am

Pip - thanks! Are yours complete routing failures or just odd routes?
David (not Dave!) Knight • Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (CM10.1.3) • Ubuntu (latest)
UK Country AdminArea Manager for London
UK links: UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area Manager
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 452 times
Been thanked: 568 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 4:51 pm

This is really helpful, thanks a lot.

Do you have any ideas as to whether this is a map or an algorithm based problem?
David (not Dave!) Knight • Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (CM10.1.3) • Ubuntu (latest)
UK Country AdminArea Manager for London
UK links: UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area Manager
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 452 times
Been thanked: 568 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:15 pm

Chris

This is really useful work you're doing here. Thanks so much.

David
David (not Dave!) Knight • Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (CM10.1.3) • Ubuntu (latest)
UK Country AdminArea Manager for London
UK links: UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area Manager
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 452 times
Been thanked: 568 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:18 pm

Ok testing some E-W routes:

A13 Alfred's Way (Barking) to A316 The Avenue (Richmond) = fail

coming in a bit to Mortlake I get two routes but both drop a bit short over the northside of the river. One of these uses the North Circular.

a bit more to the east side of Putney and we get two successful routes neither of which use the North Circular.

Ditto for Chelsea.

Woolwich to Chelsea ok

Woolwich to East Sheen = fail

Woolwich to Putney is a very interesting one so screen shotted. Destination is just by Wandsworth Park but although I get two routes one drops short on the north side whilst the south of the river one actually crosses the river to end up nearer the first one than the destination!

Image
David (not Dave!) Knight • Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (CM10.1.3) • Ubuntu (latest)
UK Country AdminArea Manager for London
UK links: UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area Manager
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 452 times
Been thanked: 568 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Wed Jul 24, 2013 6:34 am

Chris - I think you have these tests scripted now, is that right? Is it very difficult to tabulate these results so Waze HQ have an easy reference for their checking? No worries if not.

Ideally something like: start lat/lon/street, finish lat/lon/street, time of day, success/fail, distance A, distance B

Just shoot me if I'm asking too much!
David (not Dave!) Knight • Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (CM10.1.3) • Ubuntu (latest)
UK Country AdminArea Manager for London
UK links: UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area Manager
dknight212
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4870
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 452 times
Been thanked: 568 times

Next

Return to United Kingdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lost-in-thought