Routing errors in London

Image

Moderators: Unholy, Timbones

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Fri Oct 18, 2013 11:25 am

Twister-UK wrote:With almost 2 full days of data captured, logging has now stopped and a summary of the results is as follows:


Chris - I've not heard anything from Waze HQ on this but if it's possible can you rerun? Just in case anything has changed in the last month since you did this. I understand if not given other priorities.

Thanks

David
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:20 am

shirapashu wrote:Hoping too much ;)

In order to check the problem we need to have up to date info.

But I hope after you will send us the info, we will fix the problem,

Thanks,

Shira


Shira - any update on how the devs are using these data?
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:50 pm

That will do! Thanks.
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:34 pm

shirapashu wrote:
dknight212 wrote:
Shira, are the data in the zip file above not sufficient? See the csv files in particular.


No, because of the date, we need to have up to date info.

Thanks,

Shira


Ok, does that mean you think you might have fixed it? Or is that hoping too much? :-)
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Sun Sep 08, 2013 10:18 am

shirapashu wrote:Hi,

In order to recreate the problem, if you could have another test and share the following info with us:

1. Starting and ending points.
2. Time and date.

Thanks,

Shira


Shira, are the data in the zip file above not sufficient? See the csv files in particular.
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Wed Jul 31, 2013 4:33 pm

Chris - any updates on this?
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Mon Jul 29, 2013 3:30 pm

Twister_UK wrote: And quite frankly, if Waze are concerned about one extra routing request per minute, then we've got more to worry about than the number of incomplete routes being returned.


That's what I would have thought but you never know. It will be so useful for them to see this thread.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:17 am

woodvale wrote:The information that Twister is producing is wonderful, and I have no idea how it's done :? I do hope it leads to an early resolution of the problem.

Meantime, URs continue to be raised containing postcodes or addresses, presumably failed routing searches. Do we want to keep these for further evidence, or close them?

There also appears to be a spate of "off and on" routings at M25 junctions south of London (I haven't looked elsewhere 'cos that's outside my area), with two in the last three days at J6, Godstone. Are these likely to be related? I know it shouldn't happen - in the US, it appears to be illegal - but it does. Is there a known solution to this problem?

[EDIT - grammatical correction]


I've got an idea how it's done but am still amazed at the skill of some in the UK Waze community. Does anyone have any concerns that Waze HQ won't like calling the routing server so frequently?

The postcode errors do annoy me (and I'm sure the users are annoyed too). I presume most of them are failed routes but having seen some of the replies to UR comments I'm sure some of them are also user error. I'd continue to follow up the errors with each user as you have been doing, at the very least users do get some feedback.

The on and offs seem to be getting more frequent. Not just on motorways either. I presume Waze has somehow adjusted the algorithms and they will have to tweak them some more. Perhaps we should start up another thread (with screenshots).
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:17 am

A-MAZ-ING
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:53 am

Twister_UK wrote:
Something else that crossed my mind regarding the interaction between the routing algorithm and the traffic data - since the traffic data changes quite frequently at certain times of the day, I wonder if the routing code takes a snapshot of the data before starting to generate each new route, or if it just assumes that the live data isn't going to change significantly during the calculation of the new route. If the latter, then there's always the chance that during the calculations the data has changed in such a way that the intended route breaks whatever internal thresholds/sanity checking are set for the routing code.

Given that it generally seems to be the quickest route option that starts to fall short of the intended destination before the routing code gives up completely, this would tie in with it being traffic data related - the shortest route would only be affected if the road closure data got updated during the routing calculation, whereas changes in traffic density shouldn't affect it at all (it doesn't care how long it takes to get from A to B...).


Good thinking, could test by rerunning the same route several times?
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

PreviousNext

Return to United Kingdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users