Routing errors in London

[ img ]

Moderators: Unholy, Timbones

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby AndyPot2 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:03 pm

dknight212 wrote:Do those routes always fail or just at certain times of day? Cross London routes work fine (mostly) at night but bork from about 0500.


I've only tried searching a couple of times so can't really say.

I think the first time I looked was middle of the day and at least I got a route from Uxbridge (West London). Today was searching at 18:30 and had to move the starting point all the way to Dumfries before it would give me a route.
AndyPot2
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:01 pm
Location: Gerrards Cross, South Bucks.
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 319 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:37 pm

Do those routes always fail or just at certain times of day? Cross London routes work fine (mostly) at night but bork from about 0500.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk
dknight212
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby AndyPot2 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:02 pm

It's not just London. Last week I tried to plan a route on my iphone from Beaconsfield (which is M40 J1) to Girvan in South Ayrshire and couldn't one, however it would plan a route to Glasgow which is a fair bit further north but reasonably simple; M40, M25, M1, M6, M74. If you are going to Girvan you have to come off the M74 and go down a few wiggly bits :roll: .

I then tried on Live map and found the nearest I could get was a route from Uxbridge to Girvan. I ended up scrapping the idea and went by plane instead (I did remember to turn Waze turned off) but Waze worked a treat getting from the airport. No hanging around waiting for it to work out that it was 300 miles away from where it was last used unlike my old TomTom which could take up to 10 minutes.

I've just tried planning the route again in Live map and kept moving my start point further north until it worked, ended up getting one from Dumfries to Girvan which is not actually very far (65 miles) and it offered me three alternatives. All the following failed, Uxbridge, Watford, Northampton, Rugby and Carlisle. I tried each one several times and also tried each one to Glasgow which always worked.

Andy.
AndyPot2
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:01 pm
Location: Gerrards Cross, South Bucks.
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 319 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:57 pm

Still no fix from Waze and if anything it seems to be worse this week.
dknight212
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby Twister-UK » Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:27 am

dknight212 wrote:Yes I'm afraid Waze are still searching for a fix.


But as they're using their own search routines, they only get results in the evenings and weekends...
Twister-UK
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 2685
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 403 times
Been thanked: 2367 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:05 am

Yes I'm afraid Waze are still searching for a fix.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk
dknight212
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby kwb78 » Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:37 am

I had this problem the other day. I travelled from Hornchurch RM11 to near Kingston SW15 in the morning, and couldn't get a route in the app or on the live map. I had used the live map the night before and it found it with no problem.

I was able to get a route initially by setting an end point part the way through the journey on New Kent Road. I tried the original destination once I had reached the A13 near Limehouse link and then it did find a route all the way.

For the return journey in the afternoon I was able to initially get a route all the way, but when I tried to add a local supermarket as a stop it failed to find any route at all. If I separated it into two journeys then it worked OK.
kwb78
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 10:09 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:14 pm

Chased this again today. Still nothing to report. Very sad face.
dknight212
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby wolfsbane2k » Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:29 pm

woodvale wrote:Isn't there a limit of 500 miles on routes? It's over 600 miles Havant to Applecross so you need to split the journey into two parts.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk



You know what, i never knew that. That would explain it!
wolfsbane2k
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Routing errors in London

Postby dknight212 » Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:13 pm

There is one major difference - London will route fine, outside the peak hours. There is something in the way the algorithm handles traffic that borks it. There used to/still is another problem across estuaries and similar geographical features which may or may not be related, but that applied all of the time so might just have been a distance issue (ie some "sense" check on "as the crow flies" versus "road" distance).
dknight212
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

PreviousNext

Return to United Kingdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users