NO SIGNAL - is this Cellular or Satellite signal ?

Moderators: Unholy, Timbones

NO SIGNAL - is this Cellular or Satellite signal ?

Postby holzereck » Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:49 pm

Hi all,

I’m new to Smart phones & even newer to apps - especially Sat-Nav ones.
At the moment, I am trying yours & it seems quite good.
I have a new Moto G – Android.

I’m sorry if my plea’s are basic or answered elsewhere.
I’m in West Cornwall – UK.

1/ Do we only get a drawn map – or can we see satellite photo’s ?

2/ I was driving along the A30 yesterday, & kept getting the message “NO CONNECTION – RETRY”.

I know I had 02 cellular connection, so wondered if this message meant no satellite visible ?

If it is, it seems very odd along the A30 – especially as my phones in-built sat-nav keeps connections all over this area.

Am I looking at things wrongly ?

Any ideas please ?

cheers
Motorola G :: Android 4.4 KitKat :: Mercedes
holzereck

Re: NO SIGNAL - is this Cellular or Satellite signal ?

Postby seriousarsonist » Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:54 pm

Hi and welcome to waze!

At this time you only get a drawn map, satellite imagery is just a bit too big to download to phones.

The no signal is for cellular data connection. This is a known issue and you'll find threads about it all over the forums.

So no you aren't looking at timings wrongly

Happy Wazing!

NI AM L5
ImageImage
UK Champ and Area Manager for the North of the Island of Ireland Image Image

Comber WX: What the weather is like where I edit
seriousarsonist

Postby holzereck » Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:42 am

Hi,
Thanks for your kind reply and welcome,

SIGNAL:

I have been looking through the forum, but can find no definitive answer to this.
Obviously, if the signal drops out, with a known cause, shouldn't it be rectifiable ?

If people need to rely on the system, then they need to rely on it - otherwise, what's the point ?

Its like having a kettle - that doesn't heat water,,, or a TV that doesn't show pictures,,,

MAPS: