Routing error - Wendover, Bucks.

Image

Moderators: Unholy, Timbones

Routing error - Wendover, Bucks.

Postby AndyPot2 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:51 pm

This one has got me stumped and there are now three UR's here. I first looked at it a few weeks ago, couldn't see a fault, all turn restrictions looked ok so thought I would leave it for the local AM or someone a bit smarter than me :lol:.

User is driving towards SW and wants to turn left onto Chalkshire Road but Waze directs them past the road, round the roundabout then back to turn right into Chalkshire Road. OK so it looks like left turns are (or were) disabled. However it's now a few weeks later and it's still happening.

To further confuse matters if you try this in Live Maps with your starting point less than a 1/4 mile from the left turn it works properly, however move your starting point further away and you will get directed around the roundabout with the proper route as an alternative, time wise they are both listed as 1 minute but the primary route is listed as 0.45 mile with the secondary (proper) route 0.37 miles. This is the case now and when I first looked at it a few weeks ago so I'm fairly sure no turn restrictions have been changed.

What's going on?
AndyPot2
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:01 pm
Location: Gerrards Cross
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 84 times

Re: Routing error - Wendover, Bucks.

Postby ditchi56 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:05 pm

The A38 topic may be the same sort of problem?
ditchi56
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2463
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 12:35 pm
Has thanked: 367 times
Been thanked: 912 times

Routing error - A4320 Bristol this time

Postby ditchi56 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:44 pm

Here's another one from the A4320 in Bristol. It dates from 30th April so the problem's been around for a while.

Would it be worth changing the title of this thread to make it a general example-collecting thread?
ditchi56
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2463
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 12:35 pm
Has thanked: 367 times
Been thanked: 912 times

Re: Routing error - Wendover, Bucks.

Postby ditchi56 » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:40 am

And another one, which I must admit I'd forgotten about despite starting the thread. :oops:
ditchi56
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2463
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 12:35 pm
Has thanked: 367 times
Been thanked: 912 times

Re: Routing error - Wendover, Bucks.

Postby Timbones » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:57 pm

We've started seeing these occurring recently, and it's where Waze thinks that it is quicker to do that rather than the expected.

We should collect some examples and ask HQ to investigate them.
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route Tester
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5560
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 594 times
Been thanked: 1792 times

Re: Routing error - Wendover, Bucks.

Postby wolfsbane2k » Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:18 am

I have pinged HQ Support about these now, as originally posted in the above post.
Anyone want the support call number?
Mondeo Driver, lurking somewhere on the M27 but no longer editing.
wolfsbane2k
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 42 times


Return to United Kingdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: evonic