Gas station in Canada

Image

Moderators: Unholy, amitbena

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby alexs001 » Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:47 pm

Raiden38 wrote:Awesome, but why would you limit that to 2.00?? Gas is already (sometimes) at 1.50$ in a few years it will be 2.00$ for sure! I would put the max at 3.00$ for Canada, should take a while until we get there!
I second this. I saw $2.75 per litre in Norman Wells last winter. I know it's an extreme situation, but we may as well be prepared.

Is it possible to get the fuel types in octane rating?

How should we deal with stations that offer different grades? Most Chevron and some Petro-Canada stations over 94 in addition to the more common 87, 89, and 91. It would be nice to make it easy for users who need to go out of their way to find 94.
Area Manager: Okanagan Valley, BC
Image
alexs001
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby AlpineDad » Mon Sep 23, 2013 12:40 pm

I am trying to add a couple of Mr. Gas gas stations in Gatineau Quebec but that brand is not recognized in the system. This one for example: http://www.quebecgasprices.com/Mr_Gas_Gas_Stations/Gatineau/123772/index.aspx

Cheers
AlpineDad
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:59 pm
Location: Cantley Quebec Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby blizzard007 » Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:04 pm

It would appear that recently the Gas Prices have been adjusted in Canada to allow proper 1xx.9 prices. I have updated prices at at least 10 stations over the weekend and no issues except the decimal is fixed at xxx.9. This has already been addressed in the newest thread for gas prices.

https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=86131
Level 2 Editor
GTA - Courtice to Mississauga
blizzard007
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 12:01 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby capbat » Sun Feb 16, 2014 4:57 pm

All of the above has been mentioned since August 2013. It seems to me that it takes quit a lot of time just to implement proper price limits and get rid of the .9 problem.

Why?

Bat
capbat
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:37 pm
Location: Québec
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby chunkmonkey » Sun Nov 11, 2012 1:50 am

Would be nice, I have been adding every station that I know of on the map, I don't know if that helps or not. But it would be such a great feature, and it would be huge asset to Canadian Wazer's and may help to draw in a larger user base, and without numbers the system doesn't work well. And they are going to need every plus the can get as I have a feeling adding advertising to the maps is going to scare away a lot of potential users. Wood be nice if you typed in food or something paid advertisers would pop up, but if I get bombarded with ads for Jimmy's tuna bar etc ever time I stop at light, my Waze days will be short lived.
chunkmonkey
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:37 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby doctorkb » Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:34 pm

I'm pretty sure it's been talked about in passing in other threads.

I'll contact Amit and find out what the holdup is. We shouldn't expect a response until Sun/Mon at earliest.
Waze Global Champ, Mentor, WME Toolbox Project Manager
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Edmonton, AB; Prince George, BC; Maui, HI; Georgetown, KY and various places in between
ImageImageImage
doctorkb
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3500
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Has thanked: 560 times
Been thanked: 1403 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby doctorkb » Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:51 pm

szakhar wrote:Finally, I see the ability to report gas prices. However, the functionality is still useless: it automatically completes last digit to be '9' and reports that entered price is not valid. Seems, it uses USA defaults, and assumes gas prices per gallon, while in Canada gas prices per liter and shouldn't be rounded.

In general, Waze developers and community should understand that Canada is not US. All the defaults should be different. For example, default distance (should be in meters, not miles).


I will mention this issue to Amit. I was asked to provide the range of prices and names for the fuel types we have here, as well as the unit of measure. I provided a low range of 0.800 and high of 2.000, and prices are per litre.

I suspect that the implementation is still in progress -- either that, or the gas station you found was somehow mislabelled as being US.

Also, with regards to default distances: that's something you get when you install the app, and virtually everyone in the world would be unimpressed with the miles default (IIRC, only the UK and US use miles), but at least now it's just a one-time setting and it's saved!
Waze Global Champ, Mentor, WME Toolbox Project Manager
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Edmonton, AB; Prince George, BC; Maui, HI; Georgetown, KY and various places in between
ImageImageImage
doctorkb
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3500
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Has thanked: 560 times
Been thanked: 1403 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby doctorkb » Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:13 pm

It was available two days ago... but I had the same experience -- the price range needed to be in the per-gallon range (i.e. between $3.50 and $5) to be accepted.

When did you last try reporting gas prices?
Waze Global Champ, Mentor, WME Toolbox Project Manager
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Edmonton, AB; Prince George, BC; Maui, HI; Georgetown, KY and various places in between
ImageImageImage
doctorkb
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3500
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Has thanked: 560 times
Been thanked: 1403 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby doctorkb » Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:53 pm

well, they're all three unlocked now, so feel free to amend! :)
Waze Global Champ, Mentor, WME Toolbox Project Manager
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Edmonton, AB; Prince George, BC; Maui, HI; Georgetown, KY and various places in between
ImageImageImage
doctorkb
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3500
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Has thanked: 560 times
Been thanked: 1403 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby doctorkb » Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:04 pm

james8970 wrote:I saw you guys talking about this while filling up so I figured I'd give it a try. I got an error as well when submitting prices. Two things I noticed that I didn't like. I can't edit the prices once they are entered and it automatically assumed 9/10th of a cent. Generally speaking, in the past 3 years I've rarely seen it not be 9/10th of a cent, but I still don't know if that should be assumed.


Yes, I've mentioned that to Amit, as well.

Can you not tap on the field again to change it? It worked for me on iOS the other day.

Were you able to enter a reasonable price (i.e. between $0.80 and $2.00), or did you have to be in the gallon range?
Waze Global Champ, Mentor, WME Toolbox Project Manager
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Edmonton, AB; Prince George, BC; Maui, HI; Georgetown, KY and various places in between
ImageImageImage
doctorkb
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3500
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Has thanked: 560 times
Been thanked: 1403 times

Next

Return to Canada

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users