Gas station in Canada

Image

Moderators: Unholy, amitbena, SkiDooGuy, manoeuvre, Unholy, amitbena, SkiDooGuy, manoeuvre

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby photoplex » Fri Aug 30, 2013 4:18 pm

Image
ImageImage
photoplex
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:52 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby photoplex » Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:25 pm

Raiden38 wrote:In my area (Laval, Québec), Waze does not find any gas stations, even if they show on the map and i'm standing 25ft of it!!!


For a gas station to be discoverable, the "Brand" field for the Gas Station Landmark object must be completed. If it is left blank, it will not be a discoverable gas station when you try to report a gas price.

Many of the gas stations in my area were not discoverable until I edited them to add the various brands (Esso, Husky etc) to the Brand field.
ImageImage
photoplex
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:52 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby photoplex » Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:54 pm

doctorkb wrote:
photoplex wrote:For a gas station to be discoverable, the "Brand" field for the Gas Station Landmark object must be completed. If it is left blank, it will not be a discoverable gas station when you try to report a gas price.

Many of the gas stations in my area were not discoverable until I edited them to add the various brands (Esso, Husky etc) to the Brand field.


That's contrary to the published documentation (i.e. you're supposed to leave "Brand" unselected if it isn't one of the brands listed)... but not surprising that it's relevant.

It could also be that the landmark has to have been "touched" since a certain date...


The three gas stations near me didn't show up either, and I had edited them in the week or so before. I went back and added the Brand, and they showed up the next day in the app.
ImageImage
photoplex
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:52 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby Raiden38 » Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:54 pm

In my area (Laval, Québec), Waze does not find any gas stations, even if they show on the map and i'm standing 25ft of it!!!
iPhone 6, iOS 8.1, Beta Tester, From Quebec (Canada)
AM: Laval and North Shore, Trois-Rivières
Image Image
Raiden38
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:58 am
Location: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 127 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby Raiden38 » Wed Sep 04, 2013 5:31 pm

I found one gas station in the area and was able to enter a 4.000$ price. Then i modified it to 1.49 and it worked!

So I guess that to enable gas prices in Canada, Wase needs to:

1) Remove the original price validation. (It locks everything lower then 3$ I think)
2) Remove the last digit automaticly writing 9. We do have prices "1.474$". Now it always rounds to "1.479"

And probably make sure that all gas stations appear even if the brand is not written :)

Thanks!
iPhone 6, iOS 8.1, Beta Tester, From Quebec (Canada)
AM: Laval and North Shore, Trois-Rivières
Image Image
Raiden38
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:58 am
Location: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 127 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby Raiden38 » Thu Sep 05, 2013 3:11 pm

Sorry for all those news

I was sucessfully able to enter good gas prices yesterday in a few different stations! I even saw that someone else has enter prices!! Is it a good start?

The issue remaining however is still the last digit, always entering a 9...

Steven!
iPhone 6, iOS 8.1, Beta Tester, From Quebec (Canada)
AM: Laval and North Shore, Trois-Rivières
Image Image
Raiden38
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:58 am
Location: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 127 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby Raiden38 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:00 pm

Raiden38 wrote:Sorry for all those news

I was sucessfully able to enter good gas prices yesterday in a few different stations! I even saw that someone else has enter prices!! Is it a good start?

The issue remaining however is still the last digit, always entering a 9...

Steven!


It worked for about a week, but it's not working anymore!

S.
iPhone 6, iOS 8.1, Beta Tester, From Quebec (Canada)
AM: Laval and North Shore, Trois-Rivières
Image Image
Raiden38
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:58 am
Location: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 127 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby Raiden38 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:01 pm

wayner99 wrote:How hard is this to fix?

Code: Select all
If Country = "Canada" Then
   MinValidPrice = 0.80
   MaxValidPrice = 2.00
Endif


Is that really so hard? This has been going on for months.

I won't even charge you to use my code. :lol:


Awesome, but why would you limit that to 2.00?? Gas is already (sometimes) at 1.50$ in a few years it will be 2.00$ for sure! I would put the max at 3.00$ for Canada, should take a while until we get there!

Thanks!
iPhone 6, iOS 8.1, Beta Tester, From Quebec (Canada)
AM: Laval and North Shore, Trois-Rivières
Image Image
Raiden38
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:58 am
Location: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 127 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby saynt » Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:42 pm

+1 here too, can't wait for this feature!
saynt
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 5:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas station in Canada

Postby shadowdancer604 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:06 am

If you feel the need to shock the driving public in Canada do as I did and simply take the per litre price and X by 3.85 to get the US Gallon equivalent which is different from the Imperial Gallon. Most prices will fall below the $5.00 upper limit providing the per litre price is $1.297 or lower.
shadowdancer604
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:56 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Canada

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron