Get a sneak peek at whats next for Permanent Hazards on our April 7th Office Hours!

State Hwy 28. Renaming to MS-28 or SR-28?

Post by majorjc_MS
While editing the map today I noticed that there are people naming this Hwy differently.

MS-28 by mlbrickner(3) in July.
SR-28 by scruffy151(4) in 2013.

Hwy 28 and State Hwy 28 look like the old naming and is being replaced. I also see some sections named Simpson Hwy 28.

I was going to start in Mize, MS and begin renaming this Hwy going west with the new naming, but I don't know which one is preferred.

I skimmed over the post by scruffy151 (viewtopic.php?f=596&t=64208) on standards for state Hwy names. And according to posts in this thread it looks like we should be renaming to MS-28.

I wanted to make sure this was correct before I spent any time working on this.

Thanks,

Major Combs

PS- I'm new to this, I've been Waze-ing for a couple of months now. I live in Rankin County just west of Florence.
majorjc_MS

POSTER_ID:16948985

Send a message
Major Combs
[img]https:///9Lblq[/img]
Hinds, Rankin, Scott, Newton, Copiah, Simpson, Smith, and Jasper Counties.

Post by bart99gt
I've noticed that time to time that the city or county name has been appended to the highway names, probably put there by whomever the basemap was sourced from in that area.

As a rule, use the local name (you may have to look around on street view) as the primary when you can and if it is signed, then the highway # (US-xx, MS-xx, CR-xx) as the alternate. Mississippi DOT maps aren't that hot about listing the local names for many roads, for many counties it may have nothing but the county road number on the map.

Also, some highways may be called Hwy xx N(S/E/W) on a two lane stretch of road kind of like this:
https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... 901&zoom=3