Waze running in background, stops

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Waze running in background, stops

Postby malip2 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 7:03 pm

Hi all,

thanks for waze.
I love it but also have an issue.
Sometimes while driving I have to use other apps and waze is then in the background. What happens is then that waze sometimes stops and does not tell me that it did so.
I guess it is also iOS fault. I guess iOS wants to save resources and so stops waze to have power for the other apps I use.
Is that a know issue?

Regards Markus
malip2
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze running in background, stops

Postby dBsooner » Wed Feb 14, 2018 7:10 pm

Do you have it set to allow background process? Does it completely stop, or does it just stop announcing turns?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
• AM: Eastern Oklahoma, DFW, Southern Florida
• Wiki: WME | Editing Manual | Best Practices | FAQ | Places
• AT&T | iPhone 7+ | iOS 12.0 | Waze Latest Beta
dBsooner
Map Editor - Level 5
Map Editor - Level 5
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:53 pm
Location: Tulsa / Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, US
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 156 times

Re: Waze running in background, stops

Postby ramblinwreck_81 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:33 am

malip2 wrote:Hi all,

thanks for waze.
I love it but also have an issue.
Sometimes while driving I have to use other apps and waze is then in the background. What happens is then that waze sometimes stops and does not tell me that it did so.
I guess it is also iOS fault. I guess iOS wants to save resources and so stops waze to have power for the other apps I use.
Is that a know issue?

Regards Markus

When you say "stops" do you mean the app shuts down or crashes? or it just stops updating?
Georgia State Manager, Florida and Alabama Area Manager, Area Manager in Southern Mississippi
Rank 5
[ img ][ img ]
utile, simplicitate, retentione
Join the Southeast Region Discord Channel
ramblinwreck_81
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 1:05 pm
Location: I dunno. Thankfully, I have Waze.
Has thanked: 122 times
Been thanked: 168 times

Re: Waze running in background, stops

Postby malip2 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:31 am

dBsooner wrote:Do you have it set to allow background process?

Yes

Does it completely stop, or does it just stop announcing turns?

Complete and asks me if I want to go on with the last route



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
malip2
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze running in background, stops

Postby malip2 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:33 am

ramblinwreck_81 wrote:
malip2 wrote:Hi all,

thanks for waze.
I love it but also have an issue.
Sometimes while driving I have to use other apps and waze is then in the background. What happens is then that waze sometimes stops and does not tell me that it did so.
I guess it is also iOS fault. I guess iOS wants to save resources and so stops waze to have power for the other apps I use.
Is that a know issue?

Regards Markus

When you say "stops" do you mean the app shuts down or crashes?

shuts down or goes into iOS standby to save power I guess.

or it just stops updating?
malip2
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze running in background, stops

Postby malip2 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:34 am

With google maps it is a bit better to der that it still runs when there is this flashing sign on top
malip2
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze running in background, stops

Postby dBsooner » Fri Feb 16, 2018 3:13 am

Try uninstalling and reinstalling.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
• AM: Eastern Oklahoma, DFW, Southern Florida
• Wiki: WME | Editing Manual | Best Practices | FAQ | Places
• AT&T | iPhone 7+ | iOS 12.0 | Waze Latest Beta
dBsooner
Map Editor - Level 5
Map Editor - Level 5
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:53 pm
Location: Tulsa / Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, US
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 156 times

Re: Waze running in background, stops

Postby malip2 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:08 am

dBsooner wrote:Try uninstalling and reinstalling.


Did so then wrote a WhatsApp then one with Siri. Came back then to waze and it asks me if I want to proceed with last route.
Can we now do real troubleshooting?Regards Markus

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
malip2
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze running in background, stops

Postby dBsooner » Wed Feb 21, 2018 4:12 am

malip2 wrote:
dBsooner wrote:Try uninstalling and reinstalling.


Did so then wrote a WhatsApp then one with Siri. Came back then to waze and it asks me if I want to proceed with last route.
Can we now do real troubleshooting?Regards Markus

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


First, I (and everyone on these forums) are volunteers and do not work for Waze. We are here out of the good of our hearts to help.

Now, do you have location set to “always” or “only while using”?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
• AM: Eastern Oklahoma, DFW, Southern Florida
• Wiki: WME | Editing Manual | Best Practices | FAQ | Places
• AT&T | iPhone 7+ | iOS 12.0 | Waze Latest Beta
dBsooner
Map Editor - Level 5
Map Editor - Level 5
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:53 pm
Location: Tulsa / Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, US
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 156 times

Re: Waze running in background, stops

Postby malip2 » Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:12 am

dBsooner wrote:
malip2 wrote:
dBsooner wrote:Try uninstalling and reinstalling.


Did so then wrote a WhatsApp then one with Siri. Came back then to waze and it asks me if I want to proceed with last route.
Can we now do real troubleshooting?Regards Markus

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


First, I (and everyone on these forums) are volunteers and do not work for Waze. We are here out of the good of our hearts to help.

Now, do you have location set to “always” or “only while using”?

:-) thx

Always


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
malip2
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher