Won't route unless very close to destination

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Won't route unless very close to destination

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:11 pm

gettingthere wrote:
petervdveen wrote:Krankyd told me this morning they've had some server issues this weekend
...

Unfortunately, not much of a surprise. When are server issues over the weekend going to be the exception vs. the rule?

As of today!

Until Friday!

;-)
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 302 times

Re: Won't route unless very close to destination

Postby ChadMC » Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:09 pm

FYI, this has been working fine the past few days.
ChadMC
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:19 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Won't route unless very close to destination

Postby ChadMC » Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:10 pm

There isn't a problem with the map. I have been using Waze with this route for a long time now. I can also see the route working properly from the Live Map.

From: Charlotte Pike, Nashville-Davidson TN
To: Hillcrest Pl, Nashville-Davidson TN

However, in the past 2-3 days, Waze gives me the "Can't communicate with routing server" message, unless I am about 2 miles or less away from the destination. This has been happening with some other routes too, not just the one above. I can usually get it to route to my Home directly after getting the above error message. So I know it isn't really a problem communicating with the routing server. Any ideas? Is there a routing server problem lately?

I am using an iPhone 4 with iOS 5 beta 7. I've heard the same type of problem reported from a friend that uses an Android.

Thanks,
Chad
ChadMC
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:19 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Won't route unless very close to destination

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:15 pm

Those are curious issues and not necessarily easy to figure out. It could be that the map in the area 1) has some disconnected segments and then routes you properly when past them, and 2) could be offset. There are sometimes large neighborhood areas which are shifted from their proper location. They initially look OK on the client, but looking in the map editor can reveal GPS tracks not following the roads and/or the roads not aligned with aerials. (Always use both GPS and aerials as aerials can also be improperly shifted.)
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23618
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4825 times

Re: Won't route unless very close to destination

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:55 pm

Could be the router servers are having trouble in your area of the US and shorter routes are being handled internally by the client.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23618
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4825 times

Previous

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users