Learning?

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Learning?

Postby yrrabsille » Sat Nov 03, 2012 2:04 pm

So to update everyone on this topic, It's now been well over a year of driving with Waze back and forth to work. Several months ago it FINALLY caught on that my way was the best and fastest way to work. But as far as going home, it still doesn't have a clue. The routing algorithms for this app are utterly obsessed with getting me to the highway first, and then getting me home, even though that's the longest way I know. When I initially fire up Waze leaving work, it tells me that it'll take as much as 50 minutes. Little by little as I ignore it's instruction and go my own way, it whittles away at the ETA, fully acknowledging that my way is shorter. Yet it will do it again tomorrow. It only takes me 38 minutes to get home MY way, but day after day it ignores that route. It doesn't even come up as one of the options for alternate routes. I've gone through all my settings over and over again. What gives?
yrrabsille
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Sanbornville, NH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Learning?

Postby CBenson » Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:43 pm

yrrabsille wrote:A LOT of editing has been lost

You might want to post over here.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Learning?

Postby yrrabsille » Sun Jan 01, 2012 1:13 pm

A LOT of editing has been lost
yrrabsille
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Sanbornville, NH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Learning?

Postby gettingthere » Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:09 pm

Waze had stated that the last tile update process (apx. 1 week ago) didn't complete. So likely they aborted it since it was causing problems and some of those problems are 'live' in the Application.

As I understand it, the date on LiveMap is when the last tile building process completed. But since we know another tile update process was attempted and problems have been spotted, we can assume that some tiles have been updated since Dec 11.

Hopefully they can get the process to complete this weekend to fix up this mess.
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6088
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Learning?

Postby jasonh300 » Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:01 pm

I retract my earlier statement. The client maps have indeed been updated.

I'm not seeing any problems with it. I'm seeing a change I made on 12/18, although that's one of the few areas that is still out of sync in the editors.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 985 times

Re: Learning?

Postby CBenson » Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:04 pm

I don't really think there is any discrepancy between the statements that "no previous edits are lost" and "the screwed up map is 'live.'" I too have seen sync problems with the live map on my client. However, In my case the screwed live map is for streets that haven't been edited (to my knowledge) in months. I expect the live map to return with these streets and once the new tiles are generated that the map will reflect the map edits that have been saved. (Athough, I'm not betting my house on this expectation.)
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Learning?

Postby yrrabsille » Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:21 am

I cannot even begin to tell you how frustrated I am with this "learning" issue and now frustrated with cartouche as well. To update you guys on the original problem I posted about on this thread, there has been ZERO progress. I hoped that the map update would help since I spent a LOT of time updating the map to help this issue out only to find out that half of my updates never saved. Mainly it's on Salmon Falls Rd in Rochester, NH where I changed it from a street to a primary street. Go look at the stupid thing now, only portions of it saved and what's left it won't let me fix. I can change it, but moments later it changes back. So I went and looked at other roads I've fixed and sure enough, they're screwed up too. Check out Dover Point Rd. in Dover, NH.
How much more of my hours of work was wasted all over New England?
yrrabsille
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Sanbornville, NH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Learning?

Postby jasonh300 » Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:09 pm

dcsohl wrote: It seems to me that when you see a segment that says "48/3 mph" that traffic is moving one way at 48 mph and the other way at 3 mph... but I don't know how to tell which direction is which. So I'm going to guess based on my knowledge of the area.


It depends on which direction that segment was drawn. Just like on one-way streets, the arrow in the editor can point in either direction depending on whether the segment was drawn forwards or backwards. There's no easy way to tell.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 985 times

Re: Learning?

Postby gettingthere » Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:59 pm

RallyChris wrote:I've been told by Dror to ignore the speed numbers in old cartouche, that navigation isn't using those at all. He didn't actually state it, but I inferred that he also was trying to say that they may not be accurate, since they aren't used, they may not being updated (correctly?)


If they are not longer using this data or if it is not accurate, it should be removed ;)

Although I have seen at least one case where I was personally having routing issues, saw very low speed data such as this on the segment in question, re-did the segment, and the routing issue was resolved when the map updated.

Although I do agree (and posted above) that likely this data is not reflective of what is being used for the routing since Waze is supposedly using time of day data for routing (although lots of questions on how this actually works, how many data points are there, etc.).
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6088
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Learning?

Postby RallyChris » Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:41 pm

I've been told by Dror to ignore the speed numbers in old cartouche, that navigation isn't using those at all. He didn't actually state it, but I inferred that he also was trying to say that they may not be accurate, since they aren't used, they may not being updated (correctly?)
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 13 times

PreviousNext

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider]